A study of methods of teaching the arts in the elementary school in accordance with the Pennsylvania Academic Standards. This course integrates fine art, music, dance, and drama. Inclusionary topics are addressed. Prerequisites: limited to Education majors; EDU-0201; lab fee.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
The Arts and the Creation of Mind by 
Get America Singing... Again! by TOTAL ESTIMATED COURSE COST: $1.16 - $28.64
These search terms may help you as you do assignments for your class assignments:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by 
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies. With a multitude of new and updated chapters, The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, 3rd Edition makes the expanding knowledge base related to early childhood education readily available and accessible.
Special Education - A Reference Book for Policy and Curriculum Development by
"A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Newly updated, this edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects - how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy."
The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Dribble Drabble: Process Art Experiences for Young Children by
"Creative art should offer children the opportunities for originality, creativity, fluency, flexibility, and sensitivity. Remember, there is no right or wrong way of doing things in art. This collection of activities focuses on the process and not the finished product, to allow for growth and fun. All activities are easily adaptable for children from age two to eight.The 145 process-oriented art activities cover a wide range of media including painting, crayons, collage and sculpture, chalk, and printing. Activities are easy to prepare, to set-up, and to develop into project-approach explorations building on young children's interests and inquiries. These hands-on projects have been classroom-tested to ensure they keep learning fun and engaging.Deya Brashears Hill originally published Dribble Drabble in 1973 and it has been in publication continuously since then. She is currently the Director of the Orinda Preschool and an adjunct professor for various Bay Area colleges. Hill travels nationally to conduct workshops and seminars for early childhood professionals. Her areas of expertise are brain development, curriculum, and diversity in early childhood education. While in graduate school, she wrote scripts for Sesame Street during its formative years."
The Swing of the Pendulum by
"Current educational policies, particularly in the United States, have swung so far in the direction of overtly politicized and decontextualized testing, that we are losing opportunities to support the imaginative and expressive capacities of a generation of children and adolescents with implications for our individual and collective health. Enter arts education and the healing arts as urgently needed remedies for this imbalance, to swing the pendulum of educational practices back to a place of balance and wholeness. Informed by an arts-based sensibility, this book explores how imaginative, creative and artistic experiences can heal, and why we urgently need them at the heart of our educational discourses and practices."--Back cover.
Enabling Children's Learning Through Drawing by
"At the heart of this book is an emphasis on helping children to learn about themselves, their world and their relationships, through drawing. It also shows how teachers can use drawing as an in road into art, language, literacy, and other aspects of the curriculum; how children can improve their writing through drawing, concentrating on draftsmanship, the lines of letters, words and sentences; and how children can improve the quality of their drawing; with four basic rules that have been proven to raise standards throughout school. Based on case studies of children from six to eleven years of age, this passionately written book draws inspiration from Leonardo da Vinci's sketchbooks and from Nigerian art to show how children can learn more effectively through the medium of drawing."
Discovering the Musical Mind: A View of Creativity As Learning by
"Following her distinguished earlier career as a concert pianist and later as a music theorist, Jeanne Bamberger conducted countless case studies analysing musical development and creativity the results of which were published in important scientific journals. Discovering musical mind draws together in one source these classic studies, offering the chance to revisit and reconsider some of her conclusions. Reviewing the data in light of current theories of cognitive development, she discusses how some of the conclusions she drew stand up to scrutiny, whilst in other cases, anomalies turn out to have greater significance than expected. The book is a collection of Bamberger's papers from 1975 to 2011. It includes her first study of Beethoven's original fingerings, her beginning work with children's invented notations, close observations and analysis of children in the Laboratory for Making Things, studies of musically gifted children, and the emergent musical development of students in elementary-secondary school and university undergraduate and graduate studies. The observations and research lead to the development of an interactive, computer-based music environment that uses her pragmatic theory of musical development as the basis for a project-oriented program for teaching and learning. Unlike other collections, the book is both interdisciplinary and strongly practical. It brings together and integrates Bamberger's background in music theory, research in music perception and music education, performance, cognitive development, artificial intelligence, and procedural music composition. Her multi-faceted approach to music theory and music pedagogy is guided throughout by her commitment to an understanding and respect for an individual's natural, creative musical intelligence. This natural competence becomes the formative ground on which to help people of all ages build an ever growing understanding and engagement with the evolving structures of the world's music. Bringing together a body of research currently scattered across a range of journals, or simply no longer available, the book will make fascinating reading for those in the fields of musical developmental and educational psychology."
Mere and Ease: Collage As a Critical Practice in Pedagogy by
"Collage making offers everyone from small children to trained artists the ability to express themselves through images. In this new Common Threads collection, Jorge Lucero draws on the archive of the journal Visual Arts Research to present articles focused on the place of collage in fine art and education. Guided by the twinned concepts of mereness --collage's reputation as a trifle--and easiness --the technique's accessibility to all--the authors explore how subversive, debased, and effortless the collage gesture can be. What emerges is in and of itself a collage, one that groups disparate scholarship into a whole that reveals how the technique may serve as a method of scholarship and as a wellspring of vibrant, even radical, pedagogical utility. Contributors: Michael Biggs, Ian Buchanan, Daniela Büchler, Paul Duncum, Charles R. Garoian, Kit Grauer, Anniina Suominen Guyas, Kathleen Keys, Jorge Lucero, Dan Nadaner, Ryan Patton, Janet N. Stevenson, Robert W. Sweeny, and Stuart Thompson."
Towards an Inclusive Arts Education by
"Inclusion in arts education raises fundamental questions: Who is included and who is excluded? And why does this matter? This book offers a theoretical perspective on these concerns, bringing together a range of themes and ideas that identify the absences in institutional thinking and suggest how we can work towards better theoretical and cultural understanding of inclusion in the field of arts education. The themes are drawn from recent critical and cultural theory such as critical race theory and critical disability studies, and explore the psychology of creativity and aesthetic and social practices in the arts curriculum. The authors suggest new ways of examining the arts and arts education for the benefit of all students and staff. The collection offers a new body of inclusive arts education writing that can be used by tutors, students, managers, curriculum leaders and policymakers in education and the arts."
ArtBreak: A Creative Guide to Joyful and Productive Classrooms by
"Play is the central, universally significant activity of childhood. Self-directed play in which adults have a supporting rather than directing role is critical to the development and well-being of children. Yet as children have their days and nights increasingly scripted and planned for them, opportunities for play have disappeared over the last half century, especially in schools. ArtBreak's innovation lies in its creative framework. Former school counselor, current professor of counseling, and practicing artist Katherine Ziff developed and tested the program over five years, integrating theory and practice from art therapy, counseling, and child-centered education. The result is a choice-based, guided play experience based on the developmental and restorative possibilities of art making. A detailed how-to guide, this book is the flexible and accessible toolbox that teachers, parents, and counselors need to facilitate relaxing, art-based play that allows children to freely explore, plan, and pursue their own interests with adult support. Easy to implement, ArtBreak can be added to the regular routines of classroom, home, therapy office, or other community setting at whatever scale suits space, time, and budget. No art training is required, only a willingness to embark on a play journey with children."
Hear, Listen, Play!: How to Free Your Students' Aural, Improvisation, and Performance Skills by
"Hear, Listen, Play! is a book for all music teachers who are unfamiliar with, yet curious about the worlds of ear-playing, informal learning, improvisation, and vernacular musics. For decades, or even hundreds of years, a divide has slowly been developing between the realms of notation-based musical transmission, and aural/oral methods. Yet that divide is by no means a necessary aspect of music learning, and musicians who are lucky enough to dwell on both sides of it count themselves as so much the richer for doing so. This book aims to provide a door into those other worlds for any teacher who would like to open it. Starting with a brief discussion of how popular musicians learn in the informal realm, the book then applies many aspects of their learning practices to three main areas within music education. Firstly it tackles the one-to-one specialist instrumental lesson, then ensemble work such as band and orchestra; and finally the generalist or specialist classroom. The methods within each section have been systematically tried and tested in research projects spanning more than a decade, yet the book is written in simple, non-academic language which teachers will quickly find applicable to their working lives. Vignettes from the research participants themselves provide color throughout the book, and give illustrations of how both teachers and learners have experienced the methods themselves. This book is not a prescription for one particular way of teaching or learning; it does not aim to critique, replace or change the excellent practices that are already on-going in the diverse world of music education and pedagogy. It simply offers something which is likely to be new to many teachers, and which they can, if they so wish, add in to the mix. The professional judgment and expertise of the teacher is surely the lynch-pin on which all good teaching relies; and the open nature of this book, along with its frequent calls for teachers to not only adopt, but adapt, its methods according to their own and their students'needs, is a testimony to that."
Forum Theatre for Children: Enhancing Social, Emotional and Creative Development by
"Forum Theatre can help primary as well as secondary school students to explore personal and collective challenges in their lives. Its secure scaffolding enables them to share their views and fears and develop their social, emotional and creative skills. In Forum Theatre for Children educational psychologist Nick Hammond describes each step of the process of FT – the activities, workshops and performances – so that adults who work with children can develop their own FT projects to explore issues children are concerned about. He takes readers through real-life FT models that have helped children to cope in conditions of austerity and family instability, and to explore difficult issues such as transition – be it to secondary school, a new home or even a new country. The book shows how FT can develop children's sense of solidarity, belonging, problem-solving, constructive protest and community membership, and give them a way to experiment with roles and find sustainable real-life solutions to personal and shared challenges. This book is an invaluable resource for primary and secondary school teachers, drama teachers and trainee teachers, and for psychologists, youth workers, social workers, drama students, theatre practitioners, art therapists and others interested in working with children and young people in educational and community settings."
Dance Pedagogy for a Diverse World: Culturally Relevant Teaching in Theory, Research and Practice by
"Issues of race, class, gender and religion permeate the study of contemporary dance, resulting in cultural clashes in classrooms and studios. The first of its kind, this book provides dance educators with tools to refocus teaching methods to celebrate the pluralism of the United States. The contributors discuss how to diversify ballet technique classes and dance history courses in higher education, choreographing dance about socially charged contemporary issues, and incorporating Native American dances into the curriculum, among other topics. The application of relevant pedagogy in the dance classroom enables instructors to teach methods that reflect students'culture and affirm their experiences."
Music for Special Kids: Musical Activities, Songs, Instruments and Resources by
"Music is a powerful means of engaging children with developmental disabilities such as Autism Spectrum Disorders, Down's Syndrome and Cerebral Palsy. This lively music activity book shows how music can be an effective and enjoyable way to enhance the education and development of children with special needs.Packed with inspiring tips, activities and song ideas, this practical resource will have everybody singing, clapping and playing along! It explains simple and fun ways of using songs, instruments and musical games to connect with children of all levels of ability, and includes helpful rhythm worksheets and sheet music. There is a wide range of suggestions for songs and activities that encourage communication, increase self-esteem, stimulate fine and gross motor skills and motor coordination, and promote relaxation.This book of toe-tapping music activities is a must-have for parents, teachers, caregivers, music therapists and anybody else working with children with developmental disabilities."
The Arts and Emergent Bilingual Youth: Building Culturally Responsive, Critical and Creative Education in School and Community Contexts by
"The Arts and Emergent Bilingual Youth offers a critical sociopolitical perspective on working with emerging bilingual youth at the intersection of the arts and language learning. Utilizing research from both arts and language education to explore the ways they work in tandem to contribute to emergent bilingual students'language and academic development, the book analyzes model arts projects to raise questions about “best practices” for and with marginalized bilingual young people, in terms of relevance to their languages, cultures, and communities as they envision better worlds. A central assumption is that the arts can be especially valuable for contributing to English learning by enabling learners to experience ideas, patterns, and relationship (form) in ways that lead to new knowledge (content). Each chapter features vignettes showcasing current projects with ELL populations both in and out of school and visual art pieces and poems, to prompt reflection on key issues and relevant concepts and theories in the arts and language learning. Taking a stance about language and culture in English learners' lives, this book shows the intimate connections among art, narrative, and resistance for addressing topics of social injustice."
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art Library
Bridgeman Images: Christies Collection
Bridgeman Images: Cultural Collection
Bridgeman Images: DeAgostini Library
Bridgeman Images: European Masterpiece Collection
Bridgeman Images: Fine Art & Antiques Collection
Bridgeman Images: Fine & Decorative Arts Collection
Bridgeman Images: Global Masterpiece Collection
Bridgeman Images: Ken Welsh History Collection
Bridgeman Images: Peter Newark American Pictures
Bridgeman Images: William Morris Collection
National Gallery Collection
National Portrait Gallery Image CollectionThe links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.