A more expansive understanding of "Catholic social teaching" would extend the conventional definition of the phrase in three ways: first, to consider how Church leaders and theologians addressed social realities in eras prior to the advent of modern social teaching; second, to include developments on the local level, including statements by individual bishops in their dioceses and regional groupings of bishops such as national episcopal conferences; third, to include various types of "applied Catholic social teaching." In American Catholic Social Teaching, a CD-ROM and book, Massaro and Shannon focus on the second definition listed above—efforts at the local level—and address the role of the laity and the concrete application of social teachings on the part of the laity.
Catholic social teaching : our best kept secret .
DeBerri, Edward, James E. Hug, Peter Henriot and Michael J. Schultheis. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis Books, 1988. BX1753 .H46 1988 (ELSR collection)
Charles E. Curran offers a comprehensive analysis and criticism of the development of modern Catholic social teaching from the perspective of theology, ethics, and church history. Curran studies the methodology and content of the documents of Catholic social teaching, generally understood as comprising twelve papal letters beginning with Leo XIII's 1891 encyclical Rerum novarum, two documents from Vatican II, and two pastoral letters of the U.S. bishops.
Christians in society: keys to Catholic social teaching (DVD)
[Cristianos en la sociedad: claves de la doctrina social de la iglesia] Madrid: Goya Producciones, 2007. BX1753 .C75 2007 (ELSR collection)
Credible signs of Christ alive : case studies from the Catholic Campaign for Human Development
Hogan, John P. Lanham, MD: Sheed and Ward, 2003. HN37 .C3 H582 2003 (ELSR collection)
This book not only introduces readers to the work of the Catholic Campaign for Human Development (CCHD), the domestic antipoverty and social justice program sponsored by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, but also inspires us to service. With John P. Hogan as our guide, we are invited to walk with those who serve and those who are served in confronting the daily reality of poverty as well as the root causes and structures that cause it. Written with the skill of a journalist and the passion of a social justice reformer, Credible Signs of Christ Alive highlights six exemplary CCHD-funded projects that represent successful joint efforts between the working poor--including whites, African-Americans, Latin Americans, and a variety of immigrant groups including, Africans, Asians, Hispanics, and Russians--and the non-poor. Complete with case studies, reflection questions, suggested actions, contacts, and optional further reading, this book tells the story behind the poverty statistics, mines the hope behind the headlines, and makes real the power of faith to transform the world.
Ethics of the word : voices in the Catholic Church today.
Keenan, James F., S.J. Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield Publishing, 2010. BX1795 .C67 K44 2010 (ELSR collection)
In Ethics of the Word beloved priest and author James F. Keenan, S.J., discusses the power of the Word in the Catholic Church. In the ongoing wake of the priest abuse scandals, Father Keenan argues that we need new ways to build trust and open communication in the Church on all levels from bishops to parishioners. Keenan's engaging style blends stories, Scripture, and theology to show readers the importance of both speaking and listening. The book covers topics ranging from difficult confrontations to apologies to the language of faith, hope, and love.
Globalization and Catholic social thought : present crisis, future hope
Coleman, John Aloysius. NY: Orbis Books, 2005. BX1753 .G54 2005 (ELSR collection)
Globalization has generated heated debate: to some it stands for a new era of communication, interconnection, and greater economic efficiency. For others, it implies dislocation, marginalization, and the loss of local identity. This volume assesses globalization and the capacity of Catholic social teaching to guide and reform it.
Green discipleship: Catholic theological ethics and the environment.
From federal rebates for high-efficiency appliances to bottle deposits to "Meatless Mondays," practices promoting sustainability are now incorporated into our daily lives. Due to the establishment of protection agencies and the efforts of activist groups, the wider public has become more conscious of the impact we humans make on the planet, and what we can do to preserve what we have. Religious communities, long concerned with broad issues of social responsibility and justice, have naturally become full participants in this greening movement. In Green Discipleship: Catholic Theological Ethics, scholars from the fields of theology and the social and hard sciences discuss this development, and consider how a proactive approach to the earth's welfare is, essentially, a moral obligation of Christians, and those of other faiths around the world.
Living justice: Catholic social teaching in action.
This new Classroom Edition of the top-selling Living Justice retains the broad coverage of Catholic social teaching in the first edition with expanded use of tables and figures to enhance the pedagogic value of Fr. Massaro's book. Additionally, new coverage is included to focus on the environment and globalization from a Catholic perspective. By drawing on scripture, tradition, world events, and living examples of heroism and holiness, ranging from the simple to the extraordinary, Living Justice develops students' understanding of Catholic social teaching and provides inspiration for a committed life of service.
Modern Catholic social teaching: commentaries and interpretations
Himes, Kenneth R. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 2005. BX1753 .M573 2005 (ELSR collection)
This culmination of many years of effort by twenty scholars has produced a reference work for anyone interested in understanding or studying the key documents that comprise the central corpus of Catholic social teaching. In addition to interrogations of the major documents, this volume provides an understanding of the biblical and philosophical foundations of Catholic social teaching, addresses the doctrinal issues that arise in such a context, and explores the social thought leading up to the "modern" era, generally accepted as beginning in 1891 with the publication of Pope Leo XIII's Rerum Novarum. Finally, there is a review of how Catholic social teaching has been received in the United States and an informed look at the shortcomings and questions future generations must address.
One hundred years of Catholic social thought.
Coleman, J. A. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis Books, 1993. BX1753 .O64 1991 (ELSR collection)
The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought brings together writers from around the world, writing on present-day social issues as well as historical issues and movements that have shaped our current views.
A Catholic Framework for Justice, from the National Conference of Catholic Bishops