Rosemont College Archives and Special Collections

1. Select a topic - person, place, or event. Your research may have a general theme but it is easiest to research specific people, places, or events.  Look over our collections & searchable database at ARCS, our collection of online finding aids. If you have questions, contact the archives at library@rosemont.edu
    
2. Identify the specific items you wish to view and record the details of their arrangement. Each collection contains a brief overview of the topics contained within the collection and an inventory that lists what materials are in each box or container. Decide which boxes you wish to view and make a list of these items. The standard information needed to pull items from our holdings is: Collection Name, Series #, Box # or Item Name.
    
3. Review our Researcher Guidelines which can be found on our researcher registration form (see below). You can either print a copy or fill out a copy upon your arrive the archives.
    
4. Make an appointment to research in the archives by emailing library@rosemont.edu and stating your purpose of research and what collections/boxes/items you wish to view. The most important information needed to pull the items from our holdings is: Collection Name, Series #, Box # or Item Name. The materials will be placed on reserve for you to look at in the Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library Reading Room.  If you have any questions contact Rosemont Archives (library@rosemont.edu).
    
5. Visit the Gertrude Kistler Memorial Library on Rosemont's campus and be prepared to fill out a registration form if you have not already.  While all of us at Rosemont College Archives want you to be able to view our collections, we also need to make sure the collections are preserved for future generations to experience. Therefore we ask that you abide by the following guidelines:
    
   1. No food or beverage on the desk of the material you are using
   2. No bags near or on the desk of the material you are using.
   3. Pencil and one notebook allowed. A laptop is allowed for note taking purposed.
   4. Non-flash photography is allowed personal use. For reproductions, please see our reproduction policies and fees (see below)
   5. Material is not allowed to leave the reading room unless otherwise agreed upon.
   6. Material in boxes/folders should remain in the order found in. One box should be on a table at the time, with one folder removed at a time.

If you are new to archival research, here are some helpful guides to get you started!