Rosemont College Archives and Special Collections

Need to book an appointment for a class research project or your own personal research?

Please send Caitlin Angelone, caitlin.angelone@rosemont.edu a detailed email about your research needs and what you wish to find during your research.

Research hours are generally Monday through Thursday from 10:30 am to 5:00 pm. If you need assistance outside those hours feel free to ask!

Interested in embedding archives and special collections into your class? Want a tour? Do you want to give students a different classroom experience? The archives and special collections offers tours and workshops!

The archives has participated in:

History tours for history and first year seminar classes.

Linked data and metadata exercises for history and media related classes.

Scrapbooking events for sociology, first year seminar, and business classes that allows for students reflection and creativity while also allowing for their voices to be reflected in the college archives.

Rarebook displays and discussions for humanities classes.

Contact Caitlin Angelone, Collection Management Librarian o learn how you can incorporate archives and special collections into your class today!

Do you have an interest in Rosemont College's history? Are you an alumni of Rosemont? Looking to do genealogical research?

The Rosemont College archives is open by appointment to outside researchers. Please contact the library with a detailed reason of what you wish to look for! Research appointments are generally Monday through Thursday from 10:30 am to 4:00 pm. Please request an appointment at least 24 hours before you wish to arrive.

Fair Use is a copyright principle that allows "users of information" to be able to utilize intellectual property while still enabling the creator to be able to own and profit from their work.  If you are making use of an intellectual work for any of the following reasons then you are more than likely falling under the fair use principle of copyright.

These reasons include: criticism, comment, news reporting, parody, teaching, scholarship and research.

What counts as “fair use” of something depends on these four main factors:

1. The Purpose and Character of Use: How are you using the work? Have you transformed the original work by adding new expression or meaning?
2. The Nature of the Copyrighted Work: Is the original work factual or creative? Is it unpublished or published? Different factors about the original work will have an effect on fair use.
3. The Amount and Substantiality of the Portion Used: How much of the original work are you quoting, summarizing or using?  And, of the portion that you are using - how much of the “substantial” idea of the work are you using?
4. The Effect of the Use on the Original Work in the Market: Does the way you use the work deprive the copyright owner of income? Or does it undermine a new or potential market for the original work?