LibGuides: History: General: Articles

Click here for the full list of Rosemont's online databases.

* To access databases off campus, login with your Rosemont email and password. *

Jump To Section

Databases: Starting Points
Specialty Databases by Subject
Search Open Access Journals
About Open Access Journals

Databases: Starting Points

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Click here for support.

Specialty Databases by Subject

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival primary source materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,000 different institutions represented.
Click here for support.
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 This link opens in a new window
From Archives Unbound, an archival collection of manuscripts from the War Department and the Bureau of Indian Affairs, covering the years 1800-1824 and consisting of correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, and other public and private individuals.

Search Open Access Journals

Browse History journals at Directory of Open Access Journals

Search Directory of Open Access Journals

Open Access Resources

What is Open Access? From the Budapest Open Access Initiative.

Open Access materials are licensed for free use online by anyone, regardless of their institutional affiliation. Kistler Library has compiled materials from many of the web's top open access content providers into a single search through WorldCat Discovery. Enter your search terms in the field below, click GO, and you will be brought to a list of results. From there, simply click the Access online or View full text links provided to be directed to any given article.

Consult these links for more help using and accessing Open Access resources:

How To Find Reliable Websites Use the tips on this page to evaluate the quality of any Open Access journals or other free web resources you may use.
Directory of Open Access Journals Searchable collection of 3500 scholarly and scientific open access journals, maintained by Lund University Libraries. NOTE: Many titles in this collection are not in English. (What is Open Access?)
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks, most of which are in the public domain.
Public Library of Science Gateway to open access journals in the fields of medicine, biology and genetics.
PubMed Central (PMC) A free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journals maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Government and NGO Resources Rosemont's research guide listing many freely available online resources from U.S. Government, NGO, and Intergovernmental Organizations.