LibGuides: History: HIS 0231: History of Women in America 1600-1865

Guide Intro

Welcome to the HIS-0231: History of Women in America 1600-1865 Guide!

Discovery Search Box

Featured Subject Specific Resources

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:

Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Click here for support.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to women and social movements. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, reviews, and teaching tools.
Click here for support.

The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).

Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:

Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of over 5000 full-text, cross-searchable titles in the humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies. Subjects include global histories, history of art and architecture, literature, dance, film and media studies, religion, gender, and sexuality.
Click here for support.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of ebooks in a wide variety of academic disciplines. Available through EBSCOhost.
Click here for support.

Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Click here for support.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to women and social movements. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, reviews, and teaching tools.
Click here for support.
Slavery in America and the World This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Click here for support.

Looking for specific articles on a topic? Visit our Electronic Databases page and search the resources listed there.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Access free full-text articles from over 15,000 peer reviewed or quality controlled scholarly journals covering all subjects.
Click here for support.

The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.

History

Contact Us

Library Hours

Rosemont Archives

Guide Intro

Welcome to the HIS-0231: History of Women in America 1600-1865 Guide!

Discovery Search Box

Featured Subject Specific Resources