LibGuides: Business: BUS 0345: Intermediate Corporate Finance

BUS 0345 Intermediate Corporate Finance

The objective of this course is to develop greater depth of financial skills and logical thought processes necessary to formulate and implement business decisions in a global environment. Upon successful completion of this course, students will have developed deeper understanding on issues related to firm valuation, capital structure and security issuances, payout policies, and decisions facing financial managers. We will analyze how financial managers make decisions within a framework that emphasizes information asymmetry and uncertainty simulating real world decisions making. Prerequisite: BUS 0305

REQUIRED TEXTS:

Discovery Search Box

Featured BUS 0345Resources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.

Yahoo Finance Stock quotes, industry and market data, and up-to-the-minute financial news.
BigCharts "BigCharts is the world's most comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research Web site, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary. These tools combine with a graphical interface and our intuitive navigation to make your research experience productive, entertaining and fun. Best of all, BigCharts is a free service supported entirely by our site sponsors." (From website)
CFO "CFO is the leading media brand in the United States catering to influential finance executives who collectively control trillions of spend annually. Through the award-winning CFO Magazine and CFO.com, it provides insights into the most pressing issues in business as well as practical advice and innovative thinking on the technological forces that are disrupting industries and transforming the chief financial officer’s role." (From website)
adr.com Information on depositary receits from J.P. Morgan.
AnnualReports.com "Our Free Service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner. Boasting the most complete and up-to-date listings of annual reports on the internet, AnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports in their actual format in one single location." (From website)
PACIFIC Exchange Rate Service | University of British Columbia A service for academic research and teaching provided by Prof. Werner Antweiler at UBC's Sauder School of Business
Burgernomics--The Big Mac Index | The Economist The big mac index was invented by The Economist in 1986 as a lighthearted guide to whether currencies are at their “correct” level.

US Bureau of Economic Analysis BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public.
US Securities & Exchange Commission "The mission of the SEC is to protect investors; maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets; and facilitate capital formation. The SEC strives to promote a market environment that is worthy of the public's trust." (From website)
EDGAR--SEC.gov EDGAR is the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system used at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Access to EDGAR’s public database is free—allowing you to research, for example, a public company’s financial information and operations by reviewing the filings the company makes with the SEC.
Federal Reserve Board The Federal Reserve monitors risks to the financial system and works to help ensure the system supports a healthy economy for U.S. households, communities, and businesses.
Federal Reserve Bank of New York Working within the Federal Reserve System, the New York Fed implements monetary policy, supervises and regulates financial institutions and helps maintain the nation's payment systems.
Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia serves the Third Federal Reserve District, which consists of eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware.
National Information Center "The National Information Center (NIC) provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the U.S." (From website)
International Monetary Fund
IMF "is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
World Trade Organization The World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

American Bankers Association "ABA proudly represents institutions of all asset sizes and charter types...From delivering the latest industry news to developing mission-critical training offerings, we support America's banks as they perform their vital role in energizing the economy and helping communities thrive." (From website)
American Finance Association "The American Finance Association (AFA) is the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics." (From website)
Association for Financial Professionals "Headquartered outside of Washington, D.C. and located regionally in Singapore, the Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) is the professional society committed to advancing the success of treasury and finance members and their organizations. AFP established and administers the Certified Treasury Professional and Certified Corporate FP&A professional credentials, which set the standards of excellence in treasury and finance. Each year, AFP hosts the largest networking conference worldwide for more than 7,000 corporate financial professionals." (From website)
American Association of Finance & Accounting "The American Association of Finance & Accounting (AAFA) is the most established professional affiliation of Finance and Accounting Search firms in North America with a history dating back to 1978. With over 40+ Metropolitan search firms spread across the United States and Canada, our members are the most well respected local search resources you will find." (From website)
Financial Planning Association "The Financial Planning Association® (FPA®) is the primary membership organization for financial planning practitioners who want to master the practice of financial planning, and who are committed to shaping the future of the profession." (From website)
Financial Planning Association of the Philadelphia Tri-State Area "FPA Philly is the premier group in the Philadelphia region bringing together over 650 professionals in the financial planning industry. Join today and meet like-minded professionals working to improve our practices and grow our businesses. Our goal is to provide premier education and industry events, as well as networking and practice management opportunities." (From website)

Business

Contact Us

Library Hours

BUS 0345 Intermediate Corporate Finance

Discovery Search Box

Featured BUS 0345Resources