This course examines the interactive nature of the ever changing marketplace locally, regionally, nationally and internationally is the focus of this course. Learners consider how the dynamics of these relationships provide inherent risks and opportunities, and most likely on unprecedented business opportunities for the future. The underlying current of this course is the question of how economics and political globalization affects culture and vice versa. Because there is a tendency to view globalization only within the process of economic advancement, this course intends to move beyond that singular conception and encourage learners to identify the cultural, political and social dimensions as well.
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
The Little Green Data Book 2017 by
"Defining, gathering, and disseminating international statistics is a collective effort of many people and organizations. The indicators presented in World Development Indicators are the fruit of decades of work at many levels, from the field workers who administer censuses and household surveys to the committees and working parties of the national and international statistical agencies that develop the nomenclature, classifications, and standards fundamental to the international statistical system."
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by 
Key Concepts in Public Relations by
Key Concepts in Public Relations provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use overview to the field.
Terms of Trade: Glossary Of International Economics (2nd Edition) by
"This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered.Besides an extensive glossary of terms that has been expanded about 50% from the first edition, there is a picture gallery of diagrams used to explain key concepts such as the Edgeworth Production Box and the Offer Curve Diagram in international economics. This section is followed by over 30 lists of terms that occur a lot in international economics, grouped by subject to help users find terms that they cannot recall.Prior to an enlarged bibliography is an expanded section on the origins of terms in international economics, which records what the author has been able to learn about the origins of some of the terms used in international economics. This is a must-have portable glossary in international trade and international economics!"
Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present by
"This exhaustive four-volume set is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail."
Key Concepts in Marketing by
Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.
The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book by
The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book gives you everything you need to be a better marketer. It is a dynamic collection of essential skills covering the topics that will help you make a seismic impact upon your performance - faster than you ever thought possible.
Historical Dictionary of the International Monetary Fund by
"In its more than 65 years of existence, the International Monetary Fund has evolved from a small, obscure international agency, with new and uncertain responsibilities, into a powerful institution that today has assumed center stage in the international monetary system. It is a remarkable story of how an institution has developed and adapted itself to an evolving world and a changing membership in ways that perhaps no other international agency has been forced or able to do.The third edition of the Historical Dictionary of the International Monetary Fund provides a comprehensive overview of the fund, including a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on the organizations, significant leaders, founders, and members. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the International Monetary Fund."
Historical Dictionary of the World Bank by
"When it was founded back in 1944 no one could possibly have foreseen how the World Bank – known more formally as the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) – would flourish. Today, with 188 members, it is by far the largest lender for projects in agriculture, health, infrastructure and many other fields in developing countries around the world, with a budget of billions of dollars and a staff of more than 9,000, and its advice is usually heeded by both the developing countries which borrow from it and the advanced ones which contribute. This second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the World Bank shows the substantial progress the Bank has made, this mainly through the dictionary section with concise entries on its component institutions, related organizations, its achievements in various fields, some of the major projects and member countries, and its various presidents. The introduction explains how the Bank works while the chronology traces the major events over nearly 70 years. Meanwhile, the list of acronyms reminds us just who the main players are. And the bibliography directs readers to useful internal documentation and outside studies."
Key Concepts in International Relations by
This book guides students through the complexities of over 40 central concepts and core theories, relating them at all times to contemporary issues and debates.
The Oxford Companion to International Relations by
The Oxford Companion to International Relations examines the international relations and political dynamics of countries, peoples, and organizations and allows politics to be viewed from a wider foundation and interconnected relationships.
Korean Mind: Understanding Contemporary Korean Culture by
Understanding a people and their culture through code words and language. Today, South Korea is an economic, technological and entertainment superpower. How, as a country, did they rebound from war, poverty and political unrest? And how can that success be replicated in other cultures? The answers can, in fact, be found by understanding Korean customs, values and beliefs. Author Boye Lafayette De Mente identifies the unique qualities that comprise the Korean identity and articulates their modern expressions of Korean culture and history in this book. Organized alphabetically by topic, De Mente explains the critical cultural code words that make Korea the country it is today. Anyone interested in Korean etiquette, whether for travel or work, will discover that their meanings extend far beyond superficial English translations to deeper interpretations.…This in-depth discussion covers the concepts and principles that are integral to the Korean way of life and provides all the Korean history and insight necessary for those readers eager to learn the secrets of this resilient and burgeoning, yet little-understood nation.
Bottom of the Pyramid Marketing: Making, Shaping and Developing BOP Markets by
Scholars have only recently begun to pay attention to Bottom of the Pyramid (BOP) marketing, and interest is growing on the subject amongst both marketing academics and practitioners. Organizations including HUL, P&G, Godrej, Nestlé and Cavin Kare, amongst many others, have started to seriously market their products and services to poor consumers. However, as both academic and practitioner focus on BOP evolves, it is clear that marketing practitioners lag behind the research output in this area. Bottom of the Pyramid Marketing: Making, Shaping and Developing BOP Markets is written to provide much needed attention to this new and growing research area. It will fulfill a gap in the market by expanding the current avenues of academic research, as well as providing a key insight into the area which is sure to be the next growth engine for organizations as they begin to think about marketing to poor consumers. Aimed primarily at marketing practitioners and scholars, this book will prove useful to organizations looking for deeper insights on how they can successfully position their products and services to poor consumers, as well as how they can purchase or source products and services from poor producers.
Efficiency, Finance, and Varieties of Industrial Policy: Guiding Resources, Learning, and Technology for Sustained Growth by
"Industrial policy, once relegated to resource allocation, technological improvements, and the modernization of industries, should be treated as a serious component of sustainability and developmental economics. A rich set of complimentary institutions, shared behavioral norms, and public policies have sustained economic growth from Britain's industrial revolution onwards. This volume revisits the role of industrial policy in the success of these strategies and what it can offer developed and developing economies today. Featuring essays from experts invested in the expansion of industrial policies, topics discussed include the most effective use of industrial policies in learning economies, development finance, and promoting investment in regional and global contexts. Also included are in-depth case studies of Japan and India's experience with industrial policy in the banking and private sector. One essay revisits the theoretical and conceptual foundations of industrial policy from a structural economics perspective and another describes the models, packages, and transformation cycles that constitute a variety of approaches to implementation. The collection concludes with industrial strategies for facilitating quality growth, realizing more sustainable manufacturing development, and encouraging countries to industrialize around their natural resources."
Multinational Enterprises and Sustainable Development by
"Multinational enterprises (MNEs) are believed to contribute towards economic development of host countries through foreign direct investment (FDI), which results in poverty alleviation and human empowerment through linkages and spillovers with local stakeholders. However, earlier research demonstrates that the positive impact of FDI is often inconclusive. There is thus a gap in understanding the link between the activities of MNEs in developing countries and their impact on socio-economic development. This volume reports the results of a large international ‘MNEmerge'research project, financed by the European Commission, and provides an understanding of the impact of MNEs on United Nations Millennium Development Goals and successive Sustainable Development Goals in developing countries."
International Business in the Information and Digital Age by
"This volume is dedicated to Lorraine Eden for her lifetime contributions to IB scholarship. Her research, spanning several decades, has addressed many interdisciplinary and societal themes at the heart of the IB field. The story of her intellectual journey -- strongly influenced by the coming of age of the fourth industrial revolution -- is shared in the opening chapter of this volume. This thirteenth volume in the PIBR series covers an increasingly important area of research for International Business (IB) scholars: the role of multinational enterprises (MNEs) in the digital and information age. A limited number of MNEs now dominate the landscape of the digital age, but almost all internationally operating firms are being affected by prevailing trends. How to take stock of these trends? How to develop resilient international business models? How to regulate? The digital age presents new opportunities but also major challenges for established and emerging MNEs alike. This volume brings together papers from leading IB scholars and from academics in adjacent disciplines such as economic geography, international relations and political science, strategic management, and technology studies. Four dimensions of the information and digital age are analyzed using an IB angle: Trends and theories in the information age Entrepreneurial strategies in the information age Functional strategies in the information age Industry 4.0"
Internationalization of Firms: The Role of Institutional Distance on Location and Entry Mode by
"Parietti addresses one of the most important topic scrutinized by the scholars of International Business. Distance between two countries is a multidimensional concept, including not only a geographical dimension but also other dimensions related to the culture, the administrative, political and economic aspects as shown by Ghemawat (2001) and its “CAGE” framework, as well as by Berry et al. (2010) and their nine dimensions of cross-national distance. In the last decade, van Tulder (2010) notes that the research tends to be oriented towards the institutional and governance distance between countries. Many scholars have emphasized the role of institutions in the internationalization process of firms (Cantwell et al., 2010; Dunning and Lundan, 2008; Van Hoorn and Maseland, 2016). Institutional distance has been used primarily to explain the location and entry mode choices based on the concept of “liability of foreignness” introduced by Zaheer (1995). Nevertheless, previous studies show contradictory results due to differences in terms of conceptualization and measurement of institutional distance."
Expand, Grow, Thrive: 5 Proven Steps to Turn Good Brands Into Global Brands Through the LASSO Method by
Using powerful storytelling and unique access to the personal perspectives of top-flight marketers who have developed truly world-class business growth programs, Pete Canalichio shows us how successful marketers have extended and expanded their brands, and the challenges they have had to overcome along the way. The LASSO model (Lateral; Addictive; Storied; Scalable; Own-able) offers a simple, accessible and effective way for marketers to get their heads around the desired attributes of highly successful growth programs. With insightful advice, anecdotes and tips from leading brand licensing professionals, household names like Coca-Cola and Disney, senior marketers and inspiring individuals, Canalichio has created a measured and proven'Think Big, Get Big'framework to truly help your brand first expand, grow successfully, and ultimately thrive.
Qualitative Consumer Research by
In spite of, and because of, the attention recently paid to “big data” and the huge amount quantitative data available from online and point of sale transactions, qualitative and conceptual research is in greater demand than ever. Rather than the correlational and superficial view provided from the overflow of numerical data, qualitative and conceptual data help to make sense of what is really going on among consumers. Numerical approaches are a useful first cut at detecting changes in market patterns, but they fail to help understand the underlying and deeper meanings of these data among individual consumers, families, and consumption communities. By gathering data from observation (first hand and automated), depth interviews, projective measures, netnography, videography, qualitative marketing and consumer research help put flesh on the bones of often sterile quantitative data. This volume provides a good illustration of the sorts of insights that qualitative and conceptual analysis can provide. Using some of the latest qualitative research tools, this volume highlights insights about consumption ranging from how consumers process advertising messages, how skiers consume a ski resort, and how small retailers can combat the practice of “showrooming” by consumers comparing online prices with mobile devices to the nature of consumer “presence, rethinking the meanings of prices, and buying counterfeit luxuries with friends. These and other practices provide eye-opening insights of their own. But they also spark the imagination by demonstrating what qualitative research can do and why it is an increasingly popular set of techniques.
Marketing Management in Turkey by
Emerging market economies have long been a significant driver of global growth, and since the beginning of the new millennium they have gained greater importance than ever. Economists state that the economies of emerging countries are rapidly catching up with those of developed countries and are even predicted to overtake some of them by 2020. A deep understanding of emerging markets is crucial, then, to build tailored products and marketing programs that will capitalize on such rapid growth. In Marketing Management in Turkey, Selcen Ozturkcan and Elif Yolbulan Okan present the reader with marketing opportunities, market potential, and standardization and customization opportunities available within a fast-growing emerging economy—namely, the Turkish economy. Along the way, the book also offers important insights into issues affecting similar emerging markets by detailing the common perceptions and misconceptions around the unique opportunities they appear to offer. This book will be of keen interest to practitioners interested in investing in emerging markets, and it will also have much to offer to researchers and students interested in the future of the global economy.
Internet+ and Electronic Business in China: Innovation and Applications by
Internet + and Electronic Business in China is a comprehensive resource that provides insight and analysis into E-commerce in China and how it has revolutionized and continues to revolutionize business and society. Split into four distinct sections, the book first lays out the theoretical foundations and fundamental concepts of E-Business before moving on to look at internet+ innovation models and their applications in different industries such as agriculture, finance and commerce. The book then provides a comprehensive analysis of E-business platforms and their applications in China before finishing with four comprehensive case studies of major E-business projects, providing readers with successful examples of implementing E-Business entrepreneurship projects.
A Matter of Trust: The Practice of Ethics in Finance by
"From the marble trading floors of Wall Street to the dirt floor of a microfinance lender in rural Sumatra, finance touches everybody's lives. From small personal loans to collateralised debt obligations, it promises solutions for a better, more prosperous future. But not much in life is guaranteed, and financial outcomes may not match consumer expectations. When trust between practitioners and their clients is undermined it threatens the very fabric of our financial system. The result can be personal disappointment, but the financial crisis of 2007-08 highlighted how we can all be affected when economies are jeopardised by financial mismanagement.A Matter of Trust explores how the finance sector can stand as a true profession and provides a practical guide to make everyday business decisions in an ethically sound way."
Understanding Islamic Financial Services: Theory and Practice by
"Understanding Islamic Financial Services offers fresh insights on the Islamic financial system. The importance of this system cannot be underestimated. Experts expect that it is likely to sustain double digit growth globally over the next few years, and demand for professionals in the area has never been higher, both in the UK and around the world. While other texts on the subject look at the basic concepts, principles, contracts and financial products used in Islamic banking and finance, Understanding Islamic Financial Services goes one step further and provides a new context, identifying four levels on which the Islamic Financial system operates: product level, institution level, market level and inter-market level. It considers Islamic banking and finance as a multi-level service system, an approach which will enable students and professionals of Islamic finance to gain a more in-depth, holistic understanding of how the system functions. Understanding Islamic Financial Services covers contemporary developments in service science (e.g. service theories, service visualization tools and service co-creation concepts) and implications for the development and sustainability of Islamic financial services. Examples from practice enliven the text and allow the reader to relate the theories and principles discussed to current practice."
Cultural Intelligence: Surviving and Thriving in the Global Village by
"In today's global economy, the ability to interact effectively across cultures is a fundamental job requirement for just about everyone. But it's impossible to learn the customs and traits of every single culture. David Thomas and Kerr Inkson present a universal set of techniques and people skills that will allow you to adapt quickly to, and thrive in, any cultural environment. You'll learn to discard your own culturally based assumptions and pay careful attention, in a mindful and creative way, to cues in cross-cultural situations. The authors show how to apply cultural intelligence in a series of specific situations: making decisions; communicating, negotiating, and resolving conflicts; leading and motivating others; and designing, managing, and contributing to multicultural groups and teams. This extensively revised third edition has been updated with new stories showing cultural intelligence in action. Thomas and Inkson have broadened the focus beyond business to include organizations of all kinds—nonprofits, governments, educational institutions, and more. And they include a reliable and valid measure of cultural intelligence based on a decade of research by an international team of scholars."
Regulating Content on Social Media: Copyright, Terms of Service and Technological Features by
How are users influenced by social media platforms when they generate content, and does this influence affect users' compliance with copyright laws? These are pressing questions in today's internet age, and Regulating Content on Social Media answers them by analysing how the behaviours of social media users are regulated from a copyright perspective. Corinne Tan, an internet governance specialist, compares copyright laws on selected social media platforms, namely Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube, Twitter and Wikipedia, with other regulatory factors such as the terms of service and the technological features of each platform. This comparison enables her to explore how each platform affects the role copyright laws play in securing compliance from their users. Through a case study detailing the content generative activities undertaken by a hypothetical user named Jane Doe, as well as drawing from empirical studies, the book argues that – in spite of copyright's purported regulation of certain behaviours – users are 'nudged' by the social media platforms themselves to behave in ways that may be inconsistent with copyright laws.
Network Based High Speed Product Development by
In the first decade of the 21st century, product development in networks was predicted to be of ever-increasing importance to businesses of all sizes because of changes in markets, in technology, in networks, and in the competencies of businesses. The growth in new products'share of businesses'total turnover and earnings is increasing at an unprecedented speed. The entrepreneurial innovations and technological improvements resulted in progressively fast development of new products and services. Businesses and industries in different countries are more linked and interdependent in networks with respect to materials, business operations, and particularly product development to match the wants and needs of the global market environment to high speed product development. Businesses are therefore encountering dynamic market fragmentation, shrinking time in market, increasing product variety, demands of production to customer specifications, reduced product lifetimes, and globalization of production.Networks are vital because the competition is not business against business, but network against network. Networks are vital because an increasing part of product development is carried out in all types of networks containing physical, ICT, dynamic, and virtual networks. Speed and pressure on time in product development seems to continue to increase because customer demands for new products seem to continue to increase. However, a business seldom possesses all needed competencies, and managers see product development based on networks as an important solution to meet the strong competition of the future global markets and the strong demand for innovation and innovativeness. The evolution of market demands and focus (required) on competencies of businesses could be characterized as a development from a focus on efficiency, to a focus on quality and flexibility, to a focus on speed and innovativeness.This is why it is interesting and important to research and discuss product development and especially to understand high speed product development of individualized products in fragile market segments. Consequently, findings and learning on aspects like enablers, management tools, technological tools, product development models, product development processes and network tools to speed new product development are presented in this book.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
Selected journals: