These terms may assist you as you search for material for your projects:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management by 
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by 
Key Concepts in Human Resource Management by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History by The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
The Nonprofit Human Resource Management Handbook: From Theory to Practice by
As an increasing number of individuals go to work in the nonprofit sector, nonprofit managers need support on how best to build their human resource management capacity. They need to know what systems to examine, what questions to ask, and how to ensure they are managing people in a legal manner and as effectively as possible given their particular resource constraints. Important questions include: Do we have a clear philosophy, one that aligns with our nonprofit mission and values and allows us to treat our employees as the professionals they are? How do we select, develop, and retain the best people who will produce high value, high performance work, and how do we do so with limited resources? How do we effectively manage our mix of volunteers and paid staff? What do we need to consider to ensure diverse people work together in a harmonious fashion? With all-new chapters written by the top scholars in the field of nonprofit HRM, these are but a few of the many questions that are addressed in this timely volume. These scholars delve into their particular areas of expertise, offering a comprehensive look at theories and trends; legal and ethical issues; how to build HRM from recruitment, management, labor relations, to training and appraisal; as well as topics in diversity, technology, and paid versus volunteer workforce management.
The Catalyst Effect: 12 Skills and Behaviors to Boost Your Impact and Elevate Team Performance by
Have you ever known colleagues who the minute they stepped into the conference room, on stage, or onto the playing field, elevated the performance of everyone around them? Someone whose impact within the team could be seen in nearly everything that was said and done? These individuals are catalysts - they spark excellence in the behavior and the performance of the entire team. The Catalyst Effect identifies the behaviors and skills needed to lead from wherever you are, regardless of your role or title. It describes powerful leadership and teamwork principles—12 clearly defined competencies, based on field research with professionals in business, sports, the arts, and non-profit organizations—that will elevate the performance of individuals, teams, and your entire organization. This essential guide will show you how to learn and practice these catalytic competencies and help your group and organization achieve greater success, improve team dynamics, and help teammates grow in stature while magnifying their value.
Erasing Institutional Bias: How to Create Systemic Change For Organizational Inclusion by
All humans have bias, and as a result, so do the institutions we build. Internationally sought after diversity consultant Tiffany Jana offers concrete ways for anyone to work against institutional bias no matter what their position is in an organization. Building upon the revelatory power of her book Overcoming Bias, which addressed managing individual and interpersonal bias, Erasing Institutional Bias scales up the framework to impact systemic change in organizations. Jana and coauthor Ashley Diaz Mejias bring together in-depth research on how biases become embedded into workplace cultures with practical and engaging tools that will mobilize readers toward action. They confront specific topics such as racism, sexism, hiring and advancement bias and retribution bias, meaning when organizations develop a culture of aggression, and offer solutions for identifying and controlling them. This book urges readers to ask questions such as, “Are we attempting to create systems in which all people can thrive? What kind of world and what kind of workplaces are we cultivating?” These questions, the authors say, must first be answered by ourselves, recognizing our own role in perpetuating harmful biases that come to define institutions. In a world divided, Erasing Institutional Bias is designed to raise awareness about imbalances and help us hold ourselves accountable for creating a world that works for everyone. Each of us can evaluate our own current role in perpetuating systemic bias and define our new role in breaking it down. Jana and Mejias inspire and equip us so that we can all affect organizational change, together.
HR Here and Now: The Making of the Quintessential People Champion by
The vision of this book is to engage readers in a debate on how we see HR as a function and profession here and now, how we see the practice and the practitioner. The intent is to reflect on what we are seeing, hearing and experiencing about the function in an inclusive fashion. This book offers a practitioner's take to human resources management as a profession and function keeping in mind the most current and contemporary practices, problems and perspectives in India. The book is meant for young professionals, students and practitioners in the field of HRM. The book truly reflects HRM as it is practiced today with stories of places (organizational case studies) where it is at its best. Shorn of all theory, this book raises and answers questions such as given the rapid advancement in the profession, should the term HR be redefined? Why does the quality of the function depend so much on the way it is positioned within the organisation? What shapes a CEO's attitude towards HR? What are the big demands on HR today and in times to come? How does one advance in HR? Written by practitioners with first-hand HR experience, HR Here and Now is a thought-provoking book set firmly in the Indian context.
The 9 Faces of HR: A Disruptor's Guide to Mastering Innovation and Driving Real Change by
Popular blogger and CHRO Kris Dunn presents a hard, but compelling reality: every HR professional on the planet can be classified as one of 9'Faces'based on your career level and your ability to innovate and drive change. The book opens with a behavioral assessment, so readers can quickly identify their own'HR Face'then reveals career tracks, behavioralmarkers, ROI, macro-trends driving behavior, and market demand for each face. Which face are you? Which one do you want to be? Whether you're a solo HR pro trying to make your way in the world or an HR leader trying to build a cohesive HR team, this is your no-BS playbook to empowering your HR career and elevating our profession.
Human Resources Management Issues, Challenges and Trends: 'Now and Around the Corner' by
Explores and provides an updated look at some of the challenges, trends and issues HRM professionals will need to focus on now and around the corner. Like other departments in the broader organization HRM professionals will need to increasingly demonstrate how they add value and contribute to the organization's success. While the trends, challenges and issues impacting organizations and HRM professionals will continue to change over the years, the bottom-line of organization success is the clear reality that employees are their best assets and the need for effective HRM. The book is intended to help to better understand the ongoing transformation of HRM given the issues, challenges and opportunities offered by the contributors to this book. This means the book discusses the ever evolving role of HRM professionals to include discussion of how the profession must continue to become more adaptive, resilient, quick to change direction and customer-centered in its efforts to help meet the human resource needs of contemporary organizations and their employees. The book contributes to the ongoing dialogue and insights offered by HRM experts on what HRM professionals and their organizations can do in the face of such challenges, trends and issues in their efforts to win the talent wars.
Human Resource Excellence: An Assessment of Strategies and Trends by
As a field, human resources has been slow to evolve, despite a great need and opportunity for change. Human Resource Excellence delivers the newest findings about what makes HR successful and how it can add value to today's organizations. Tracing changes in a global sample of firms across the US, Europe, and Asia, this landmark volume provides an international benchmark against which to measure a company's HR practice. For over twenty years, USC's Center for Effective Organizations has conducted the definitive longitudinal study of the human resource management function. Analyzing new data every three years, the Center charts changes in HR and offers guidance on how human resource professionals can drive firm performance. In this latest survey, Edward E. Lawler III and John W. Boudreau conclude that HR is most powerful when it plays a strategic role, makes use of information technology, and has tangible metrics and analytics. Their insights offer an essential understanding of HR's changing role in strategy, big data, social and knowledge networks, and the gig economy.
Human Resource Management in 15 Lessons by
Human resource is the most important asset of any organization and, unlike other resources, human resources can theoretically be developed and increased to a limitless extent. Human resources mean the energies, skills, knowledge and physical strength of the people at work. Human resources comprise the value of the productive capacity of the entire work force of any organization. To be specific and brief, human resource refers to the aggregate of knowledge, skill, experience and health of employees working in any organization. Development of human resources accounts for the development of the human side of an organization. Today, management is absolutely essential for all organizations, irrespective of their origin, nature and ownership. Every enterprise, established with a profit-seeking motive or some social, religious or other purposes, requires efficient management for its sustained progress. But management has been viewed differently by various scholars, depending upon their belief and comprehensions. Some regard it as the force that runs a business and is responsible for its success or failure. Others perceive it as a means for achievement of desired results through group efforts and by utilising both human and non-human resources. Still others deem management to be a process comprising planning, organising, staffing, directing and controlling. Also, some look at it as an instrument for designing and maintaining an environment conducive to the performance of individuals who are working together in a group towards the accomplishment of some predetermined objectives. This study provides an overview on different aspects of human resource management in 15 lessons, explained by experts in this area.
Help Them Grow or Watch Them Go: Career Conversations Organizations Need and Employees Want by
The new edition of the bestselling employee development classic includes advice on talent retention in the gig economy, and a new chapter on creating a career development culture in your organization. Study after study confirms that career development is the single most powerful tool managers have for driving retention, engagement, productivity, and results. But most managers feel like they just don't have time for more meetings. This book offers a better way: frequent, short conversations with employees about their career goals that can be integrated seamlessly into the normal course of business. Beverly Kaye and Julie Winkle Giulioni identify three broad types of conversations that will increase employees'awareness of their strengths, weaknesses, and interests; point out where their organization and their industry are headed; and help them pull all of that together to design their personalized career plans. And the new chapter includes an assessment so you can measure how well your current culture supports employee development—and how to improve it.
The Price of Pettiness: Bad Behavior in the Workplace and How to Stomp It Out by
Beyond the usual everyday annoyances and exasperations we all experience in the workplace, pettiness limits careers and opportunities on a broad scale and sometimes crosses the line into undeniably criminal behavior. Based on recent research conducted by SHRM, this groundbreaking book examines the seemingly limitless depths of workplace pettiness–as well as the remarkable heights of creativity it seems to inspire in people–and delivers proven tools for anyone to spot pettiness and deal with it directly.In addition to revealing the root cause of pettiness and what can be done to eliminate it, Dr. Alonso also offers insights into the personal and organizational costs associated with petty behavior and shows how HR can be its most fierce adversary. But perhaps best of all, he shares some of the most incredible true stories about petty behavior in the workplace you'll ever read!
Diversity Beyond Lip Service: A Coaching Guide for Challenging Bias by
'La'Wana Harris has opened this coach's eyes to the power of coaching practices to create new paths for diversity and inclusion work—whether or not you are formally trained as a coach. Please read this book and help create workplaces with honest engagement and access for all.'—Marshall Goldsmith, Thinkers 50 #1 Executive Coach and two-time #1 Leadership Thinker in the worldThe ugly truth about diversity is that some people worry they must give up their power for others to have a chance. La'Wana Harris's Inclusion Coaching method helps people realize that sharing power isn't the same as losing it. The elephant in the room with diversity work is that people with privilege must use it to allow others equal access to power. This is often why diversity efforts falter—people believe in diversity until they feel that they have to give something up. How do we talk them through this shift?La'Wana Harris introduces Inclusion Coaching, a new tool based on cutting-edge research that identifies the stages of preparation, implementation, and “self-work” necessary to help individuals, teams, and organizations build a sustainable culture of inclusion. Harris's six-stage COMMIT model—Commit to courageous action, Open your eyes and ears, Move beyond lip service, Make room for controversy and conflict, Invite new perspectives, and Tell the truth even when it hurts—provides a proven process for making people aware of their own conscious and unconscious biases and concrete steps to make inclusion an embedded reality. Harris offers managers and diversity coaches new models to empower everyone from employees to CEOs to “do” inclusion and address deep-rooted biases that are often invisible. She addresses the growing need to challenge bias and build authentic cultures where everyone can feel a sense of belonging.
Elephants Before Unicorns : Emotionally Intelligent HR Strategies to Save Your Company by
Driven entrepreneurs seem to always be in search of their 'unicorn' team—that match made in heaven that opens the door to freedom and endless possibility. Unfortunately, huge obstacles—the 'elephants'—tend to get in the way. Bringing her expertise from HR to EQ, Caroline Stokes offers real-world solutions to the people management problems business owners like you face right now. Dive into this book and learn how to: Hire the right people by taking your time Build an onboarding process that fits your company culture and makes new hires feel welcome Keep employees happy, healthy, engaged, and educated so they always perform their best Think smart before acting so strategies are their most effective Adapt to industry trends and workforce shifts to earn the best results.
Investing in People: Financial Impact of Human Resource Initiatives by
The demand for organizational accountability has never been greater. The future of work, talent, and employment are changing at an unprecedented pace, and organizational decisions about how to invest in people are under increasing scrutiny. Leaders realize their decisions about human resources are crucial in an uncertain and interconnected world, yet decisions about people remain among the least systematic and evidence-based, compared to resources such as money and technology. Investing in People draws upon state-of-the art practice and research across disciplines including psychology, economics, accounting, and finance to provide HR professionals and leaders with proven guidelines for evaluating key HR initiatives. It is based on a comprehensive framework that clarifies and supports strategic linkages between investments in human capital and important outcomes that senior leaders most care about, such as talent acquisition, engagement, learning, customer service and higher financial returns. Readers will master crucial foundational principles such as risk, return, and economies of scale and use them to evaluate investments objectively in everything from work/life programs to training. Also included are powerful ways to integrate HR with enterprise strategy and budgeting and gain decision buy-in from business leaders outside HR.
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.