A survey of corporate, international and personal finance that provides a foundation in the field. The course covers the role that financial institutions and markets play in the creation and management of capital. Basic concepts of finance are introduced including, but not limited to, the time value of money, risk and return, security valuation and financial statement analysis. Prerequisites: ECO 0105 OR 0106 And ACC 0100.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
No required texts listed.
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by 
The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility by
The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility is a unique publication and is the culmination of over a hundred of the world’s leading thinkers, opinion formers, academic and business people providing an easy-to-use guide to CSR: from general concepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, business ethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbon trading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid model and globalisation. In addition to definitions of the most important terms across the wide range of CSR associated topics, this book also covers all the most important codes and guidelines, such as the Equator Principles, the UN Global Compact and ISO standards, as well as providing background on organizations such as the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and Transparency International and profiles of CSR in particular industries and regions.
Real Estate Concepts: A Handbook by
Real Estate Concepts provides built environment students with an easy to use guide to the essential concepts they need to understand in order to succeed in their university courses and future professional careers. Key concepts are arranged, defined and explained by experts in the field to provide the student with a quick and reliable reference throughout their university studies.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by
The Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.
Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary by
Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.
Wall Street Words: An A to Z Guide to Investment Terms for Today's Investor by
An essential guide to the words spoken on "the Street". Covers everything from investment fundamentals to the sophisticated terminology of contemporary finance plus case studies illustrating real-world investment examples and 50 insightful tips from industry professionals.
A Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform by
Provides context and analysis to the modern era of corporate corruption.
Efficiency, Finance, and Varieties of Industrial Policy: Guiding Resources, Learning, and Technology for Sustained Growth by
"Industrial policy, once relegated to resource allocation, technological improvements, and the modernization of industries, should be treated as a serious component of sustainability and developmental economics. A rich set of complimentary institutions, shared behavioral norms, and public policies have sustained economic growth from Britain's industrial revolution onwards. This volume revisits the role of industrial policy in the success of these strategies and what it can offer developed and developing economies today. Featuring essays from experts invested in the expansion of industrial policies, topics discussed include the most effective use of industrial policies in learning economies, development finance, and promoting investment in regional and global contexts. Also included are in-depth case studies of Japan and India's experience with industrial policy in the banking and private sector. One essay revisits the theoretical and conceptual foundations of industrial policy from a structural economics perspective and another describes the models, packages, and transformation cycles that constitute a variety of approaches to implementation. The collection concludes with industrial strategies for facilitating quality growth, realizing more sustainable manufacturing development, and encouraging countries to industrialize around their natural resources."
A Matter of Trust: The Practice of Ethics in Finance by
"From the marble trading floors of Wall Street to the dirt floor of a microfinance lender in rural Sumatra, finance touches everybody's lives. From small personal loans to collateralised debt obligations, it promises solutions for a better, more prosperous future. But not much in life is guaranteed, and financial outcomes may not match consumer expectations. When trust between practitioners and their clients is undermined it threatens the very fabric of our financial system. The result can be personal disappointment, but the financial crisis of 2007-08 highlighted how we can all be affected when economies are jeopardised by financial mismanagement.A Matter of Trust explores how the finance sector can stand as a true profession and provides a practical guide to make everyday business decisions in an ethically sound way."
Contemporary Issues in Bank Financial Management by
"Contemporary Issues in Financial Services special edition includes studies by the University of Malta, MSc Banking and Finance graduates and the respective lecturers, on financial services within particular countries or regions and studies of particular themes such as credit risk management, fund management and evaluation, forex hedging using derivatives and sovereign fixed income portfolios."
Can Finance Save the World?: Regaining Power Over Money to Serve the Common Good by
"Just as Thomas Piketty offered a sweeping critique and progressive reassessment of capitalism, former World Bank Group chief financial officer Bertrand Badré looks at the destructive role finance played in the global economic crisis of 2007–2008 and offers a bold prescription for making it a force for good. Badré says that finance is inherently neither good nor bad. It's just a tool—the most powerful tool on earth. Used correctly, it can be at the heart of the way we address many of the world's biggest problems, ranging from climate change to the eradication of poverty to building much-needed infrastructure. He describes innovations in financial tools and approaches that are already happening around the world and looks at the role regulation can play in channeling the power of finance in a positive direction. He details options for strengthening international cooperation for financial stability and prosperity and overcoming the blinkered nationalism currently on the rise. And he tells what is working and what needs to change in financing the sustainable development of the world. This book is rich with practical examples, some developed by Badré himself. For instance, he describes how at the World Bank he devised an innovative way to use insurance, a financial tool rarely considered in international development, to buttress fragile emerging economies against natural disasters and pandemics. Initiatives like these show that, as Badré writes, 'when controlled and used intelligently, with benevolence and inventiveness, finance can accomplish great things.'"
Financial Management: Methods, Outcomes and Challenges by
"Financial knowledge is crucial to helping individuals make better financial decisions as well as the financial markets to function well. What is neglected in these popular analyses is that the observed USD metrics are also impacted by changes in exchange rates. Thus, this book examines the extent to which exchange rate changes have potentially impacted perceptions of the rate of change in the global financial influence of the United States and Europe. Event study methodology has been extensively used in the finance literature to capture how stock markets react to certain information events such as mergers and acquisitions, financial crises, terrorist activities, changes to financial and environmental regulations, natural catastrophes, and many other events. Also, exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) have become one of the most innovative and popular financial instruments, with their diversification benefits at the core of their success. Nonetheless, the inherent link between ETFs and their underlying securities has cast doubts on their usage. Most people approach their later years without financial preparation. This book will look at a study which was carried out to determine older people financial distress, financial management behavior and financial satisfaction on their satisfaction with life."
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.