Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides Databases Interlibrary Loan Blog Contact Us Home

Kistler Notes

Black History Month

by Elisabeth Davis on 2022-02-01T12:38:39-05:00 | Comments

Today begins Black History Month! It's a time to reflect not only on the past, but also our present society. And, as always, Kistler, has great resources.

In the Front Reading Room, we have a new exhibit of books celebrating Black Lives. Many of these were recommended by our wonderful students and are immensely thought provoking.

'  

Exhibit of Books Celebrating African American History

We also have the Francenia Emery African American Book Collection. Located in our Front Reading Room, the collection contains titles written by and about African Americans, including many rare and first edition books and a signed monograph by Martin Luther King, Jr.

  

Image of Francenia Emery African Book Collection

 

The Library Website has several great guides, including the Guide to Racial Justice and the Anti-Racist Reading Collection. These provide resources for those wanting to promote social change.  You can also check many of these titles in our Anti-Racism Collection, located in the Information Commons.

Anti-Racism Collection in the Information Commons

 

Our Children's Collection is also highlighting Black History month, with a large selection of books about racial justice, racism, and black lives. Here are some librarian favorites:

Cover ArtHidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly; Laura Freeman (Illustrator)
Call Number: 510.92 SHE (Children's Collection)
ISBN: 9780062742469
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
 
 
Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer by Carole Boston Weatherford; Ekua Holmes Cover Art(Illustrator)
Call Number: 323.092WEA
ISBN: 9780763665319
Publication Date: 2015-08-04

In our archives, we proudly hold a collection on Yvonne Chism-Peace. Yvonne Chism attended Rosemont College from 1962 - 1966. Later, Yvonne Chism-Peace was poetry editor for Ms. magazine from 1974 - 1987.

Yvonne Chism-Peace

 

If you'd like to host an event for Black History Month, please contact us at library@rosemont.edu! 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
chat loading...