Kistler Notes

Collection Changes This Summer

Just like that, summer is nearing its end. Wondering what's been going on at Kistler Memorial Library and Learning Commons?

Throughout this past year, Library staff have been hard at work on a comprehensive Deselection Program to evaluate and consolidate our print collections. Now that the Deselection Program is complete, we have turned our sights toward re-configuring existing Library spaces to maximize their use and appeal.

First, our collections have shifted in the following ways:

• Call numbers A-C of the circulating collection have moved upstairs to the second floor stacks. This means the entire circulating collection is now located in a single area for the first time in decades.
• Oversized books have likewise moved to the second floor stacks.
• The reference collection has been weeded and fully consolidated within the regular circulating collection. We have found that due to trends in usage and the wide availability of online reference resources, there is no longer a need to maintain a distinct reference collection.
• DVDs have moved from the first floor stacks to study room 103B (in close proximity to a TV and DVD player!)
• Periodicals have moved to the Information Commons from Room B12 to take the place of the former reference collection.
• Also note: the Children's Library, previously in room B16, was moved to the Upper Reading Room last summer.

You may ask, "With all these collections moving, what is happening to the newly vacated spaces?" Well:

• Half of the first floor stacks, formerly home to call numbers A-C, is set to be removed and replaced with more collaborative tables and workspaces as a "link" between the Information Commons and Front Reading Room.
• In the second floor stacks, empty shelves will be removed to make way for an Archives Teaching Area. Opening this space up will also make the archives and cloister study rooms more accessible.
• Room B12, former home of the periodicals, will function as an overflow work area for Library staff until it can be fully renovated for future use. It will remain closed to the public during this time.
• Room B16, former home of the Children's Library, is set to become a Finance & Media collaborative space under the direction of the Business and Communications programs.
• Room 201, former home to special collections, will become a new prayer & meditation space in collaboration with Campus Ministry.

Finally, we have begun working on further improvements throughout the Library, such as:

• New lighting in the Front and Upper Reading Rooms.
• New paint and flooring in the first floor gender-neutral bathroom.
• New lounge furniture in Room B01 (more news on this coming soon!).

Questions about any of these changes? Email library@rosemont.edu