When taking political science courses, you will be asked to research and locate articles that are very specific to the field of Political Science. Below are some tips to help you find articles on political science topics:
Try to use terms used frequently in the field of political science like "rights," "laws and "civil"
Also use terms that are directly relevant to your topic (i.e. "immigration," "emigration," and "refugee" could all technically be used to describe the same situation, but have significantly different connotations)
Use Political Science specific databases such as CIAO and GPO to find relevant information
When using a multi-subject database like OmniFile, look at the Journal before you read an article. An article that is on your topic, but is published in a medical or religion or education journal, may not provide the type of viewpoint and information that is helpful for your research
When using the database JSTOR, use the advanced search to enter your search terms and scroll down the page to select Political Science journals
When using the database ProjectMUSE, use the advanced search to enter your search terms and use the Research Area limiter on the left to select the "Social Sciences" and then "Political Science" options to narrow your search
These forms can be used to request that books and journal articles held at other libraries be sent to Kistler Library. Books are temporarily loaned, while articles are generally copied and given to the requester to keep.
Fill the form out as completely as possible when requesting items.
OmniFile contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database, with the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications. Click here for support.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date. Click here for support.
Full text collection of over 150 scholarly, peer reviewed journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from nearly 50 university presses and scholarly societies. Dates vary from the 1920’s to the present, with most title coverage beginning in the 1990’s and 2000’s. Click here for support.
Brazilian Political Science Review (BPSR) is committed to the diffusion of high-work produced on topics of political science and international relations, thereby contributing to the exchange of ideas in the international political science community and the internationalization of scientific knowledge produced in Brazil.
The Political Science Quarterly is the oldest and most widely read political science journal in the country. Published since 1886, PSQ offers crucial and timely analysis of both domestic and foreign policy issues as well as of political institutions and processes. PSQ has no ideological or methodological bias and is edited to make even technical findings clear to political scientists, historians, and other social scientists regardless of subfield. Each issue consists of five or six insightful articles by leading scholars as well as 30 to 40 scholarly and useful book reviews.
The Association for Politics and the Life Sciences (APLS) is an international and interdisciplinary association of scholars, scientists, and policymakers concerned with evolutionary, genetic, and ecological knowledge and its bearing on political behavior, public policy and ethics.
Analyzes television advertisements used in local, state, and national political campaigns from 2004 to the present. Includes videos of advertisements as well as text of the scripts. Maintained by the Center for Political Communication and Civic Leadership at the University of Maryland.