In 2017, women hold 104 of the 535 seats in the 115th US Congress. Why don’t more women run? Why don’t more women win? Does it matter? Topics will include the fight to get the vote, the gender gap in voting and what it means; the leadership styles of women. Students are expected to engage in off-campus activities that connect them to women who work in the political sphere, broadly defined.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
Encyclopedia of women and American politics
by
This encyclopedia covers the role of women throughout America's political history.
From suffrage to the Senate : America's political women : an encyclopedia of leaders, causes & issues
by
From Suffrage to the Senate is a comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.
Women in World History
by
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
by
Black Women in America
by
Women in Congress, 1917-1990
by
The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
American Political Women
by
Big Girls Don't Cry: the election that changed everything for American women
by
Black Women in Politics
by
This book explores how Diasporic Black women engage in politics, highlighting three dimensions—citizenship, power, and justice—that are foundational to intersectionality theory and politics as developed by Black women and other women of color.
Discourse, Politics and Women As Global Leaders
by
The volume draws on a diverse collection of studies from across the globe, reflecting a variety of cultures and distinct polities. The primary aim is to consider in what way(s) discursive practice underpins, reflects, or is appropriated in terms of women's political success and achievements within politics.
Hillary Clinton's Race for the White House
by
Women, Men and U. S. Politics
by
This book focuses on the big empirical questions that animate the study of gender and politics and asks students to think critically and analytically about these often surprising findings.
Women and Media
by
Women and the Republican Party, 1854-1924
by
Women in Politics
by
Women the world over are being prevented from engaging in politics. Women's political leadership of any sort is a rarity and a career in politics rarer still. We have, however, begun to understand what it takes to create an enabling environment for women's political participation. In this exciting and pioneering collection, writers from Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East are brought together for the first time to talk explicitly about women's participation in the political scene across the global South.
Women Strike for Peace
by
Women Transforming Congress
by
Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.
