LibGuides: Political Science: PSC 0260: Constitutional Law

PSC 0260 Constitutional Law

Should local governments be able to take one’s property, using eminent domain and turn it over to a private developer? Can the federal government pass laws punishing violence against women? Can states legalize the use of marijuana for medical purposes? Using legal opinions and political science analysis, we will answer these and other questions about the fundamental principles of the American political structure, including the relationship amongt the three branches of government. Students will choose cases and topics to research and make presentations to the class. Prerequisite: One social science course or POI

REQUIRED TEXTS:

There is no textbook required for this course.

TOTAL ESTIMATED COURSE COST: $0

Search Tips

These search terms may help as you work on class assignments:

National Constitution Museum
Website for the National Constitution Museum in Philadelphia with resources pertaining to the constitution.
U.S. Constitution
Note: The following text is a transcription of the Constitution as it was inscribed by Jacob Shallus on parchment (the document on display in the Rotunda at the National Archives Museum.) The spelling and punctuation reflect the original.

Discovery Search Box

Featured Subject Specific Resources

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:

Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Click here for support.

Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
OmniFile contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database, with the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications.
Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Click here for support.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to women and social movements. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, reviews, and teaching tools.
Click here for support.

Looking for specific articles on a topic? Visit our Electronic Databases page and search the resources listed there.

Browse "Political Science" Journals on JSTOR

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Access free full-text articles from over 15,000 peer reviewed or quality controlled scholarly journals covering all subjects.
Click here for support.

Political Science

Contact Us

Library Hours

Rosemont Archives

PSC 0260 Constitutional Law

Search Tips

Discovery Search Box

Featured Subject Specific Resources