Before you start researching your assignment, try to get an idea of what sorts of sources you want to find, and how many you'll need.
|Finding Too Much? Narrow Your Search||Can't Find Enough? Broaden Your Search|
AND (finds fewer)
Use the Boolean operator AND to find articles with ALL of the words, for example, Colleges AND Rosemont
Try Subject Searching
Searches for words only in the subject field.
Try Phrase Searching
Search for two or more words as a phrase by using quotation marks, for example, "drunk driving."
OR (gets more)
Use the Boolean operator OR to find articles with ANY of the words, for example Colleges OR Universities
Try Keyword Searching
Searches for words anywhere in the record.
Put an asterisk at the word stem to search for variations of a word, for example, teen* finds teen, teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers.
Don't neglect books in your research! Articles may seem easier because they're shorter and can be accessed online, BUT:
Kistler Library maintains access to ebooks through a number of different content providers, including many freely available open access and public domain ebooks. Users can conduct a comprehensive search for ebook titles through WorldCat Discovery, using the search box below:
Once you enter your search terms above, click GO to view your results. You may also click on Advanced Search instead to view more search options, including choices to limit your results by publication year, format, or open access status. The default index for the above search is set to Keyword, but you may click the dropdown menu to change the search index to Author, Subject, or Title, depending on the parameters of your search.
In the list of results, you will see links to View eBook under each title. By clicking on these links you will be directed straight to the content provider. Be aware that you may be prompted for a login before you are able to access any subscription-based materials.
We have a wide variety of electronic databases to search for articles. In fact, deciding which database to use can be an intimidating challenge. Our advice:
Many of the articles listed online in our databases are available in full text, but not all! Sometimes when you find an article in a database, only the citation will be listed, not a full text link to the content of the article.
When this happens, try the following steps:
Why wouldn't it be?!
Sorry - but not all information sources are something you should cite in a paper! Here are some warning signs your bibliography might bring down your grade:
Lateral reading, (unlike vertical reading) is when you verify what you’re reading as you’re reading it. Think of it as opening up new tabs in a web browser (lateral) to learn more, instead of just reading a source from top to bottom (vertical).
|Civic Online Reasoning (COR), a peer-reviewed curriculum from the Stanford History Education Group, provides resources to teach students how to evaluate sources as if they were professional fact-checkers.|
Currency: how recent the resource is. Is the resource outdated? Does your paper topic need something written more recently?
Relevance: how much the resource has to do with your topic. Is it really about what your paper is on?
Authority: who wrote the resource and what their credentials are. Does it say who wrote it? Do they know what they're talking about? How do you know?
Accuracy: whether the information in the resource is correct. Are you sure the resources is free of errors and misinformation?
Purpose: the author's reason for writing the resource. Do they have an agenda that biases their opinion? Are they trying to educate or just entertain?
That bibliography isn't just there for decoration! How effectively you use your sources in your paper can make all the difference to your grade.