Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases Interlibrary Loan Blog Contact Us Home

African Sisters Education Collaborative (ASEC) at Rosemont College

This is a reference guide to help the African Sisters attending Rosemont College.

Kistler Library Services

Reference Services

Kistler Library reference is available to all students in the ASEC program. All reference services are provided by professional librarians. A reference consultation gives the student the opportunity to discuss a research problem. The Kistler librarians' primary area of expertise is finding and evaluating research, and library database and technology instruction. For their contact information and other ways to access reference services, see the Contact Us Box in this guide.  

Kistler reference librarians are available for reference consultations from 9:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Monday through Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Thursday and Friday Eastern Standard Time.  

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a cooperative sharing program that allows access to items that are not part of the Kistler Library collection.  While searching a database, you may find a citation for an article but not the full text. If it is not available in any of the databases owned by Kistler, an ILL Article Request can be submitted. 

Below is a sample record from an EBSCO database. This record will provide all the information you will need in order to order an article. The required information is in BOLD. Remember to look for the ISSN at the bottom of the record. 

Sample Record from EBSCO

Grounding the flipped classroom approach in the foundations of educational technology. (Article Title)
Authors:
Lo, Chung Kwan1 (Author), cklohku@hku.hk
Source:
Educational Technology Research & Development (Journal Title); Jun2018 (Article Date), Vol. 66(Vol) Issue 3 (Number), p793-811 (page numbers), 19p
Document Type:
Article
Subjects:
Flipped classrooms; Teaching models; Educational technology; Interactive learning; Interdisciplinary education
Author Supplied Keywords:
Educational technology
Flipped classroom
Instructional approach
Inverted classroom
Abstract:
The flipped classroom approach is becoming increasingly popular. This instructional approach allows more in-class time to be spent on interactive learning activities, as the direct lecturing component is shifted outside the classroom through instructional videos. However, despite growing interest in the flipped classroom approach, no robust frameworks have been developed for the design or school/faculty-wide implementation of flipped classrooms. The aim of this article is to provide a foundation for the flipped classroom approach in Spector’s (Foundations of educational technology: integrative approaches and interdisciplinary perspectives, Routledge, New York, <xref>2016</xref>) model of six pillars of educational technology. After reviewing previous discussion of the flipped classroom approach, each pillar (i.e., communication, interaction, environment, culture, instruction, and learning) is discussed in the context of flipped learning. Using Spector’s (<xref>2016</xref>) framework and drawing on relevant theories and empirical findings, 10 recommendations are made. These recommendations are particularly useful for the school/faculty-wide implementation of flipped classrooms. As the foundational framework proposed in this article is only preliminary, further studies (e.g., design-based research) are recommended to increase the robustness of the design framework and ultimately improve educational practices. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
 
Copyright of Educational Technology Research & Development is the property of Springer Science & Business Media B.V. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
Author Affiliations:
1Division of Information and Technology Studies, Faculty of Education, The University of Hong Kong, Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
Full Text Word Count:
9321
ISSN:
10421629 (ISSN)
DOI:
10.1007/s11423-018-9578-x
Accession Number:
129451758

Catholic University of Eastern Africa Library Services

ASEC students have access to services at the Catholic University of Eastern Africa.  Below are a list of services provided and contact information.

Library Catalog
Search the library catalog to find items available in the collection

Ask a Librarian

chat loading...