LibGuides: African Sisters Education Collaborative (ASEC) at Rosemont College: Citation Help

Citation Style Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab: Research and Citation
Contains information on conducting paper research, and citation guides to APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
University of Wisconsin Writer's Handbook
Provides rules for APA, Chicago, MLA, APSA, and CSE citation styles, as well as some additional information on citing and quoting sources.
Research Strategies - Ohio State University Libraries
The 'How To Cite And Organize Information' area contains a number of citation style guides including APA, Chicago, Turabian, MLA, and CSE.
UMGC Library: How Do I Cite Sources and Write My Paper?
Contains a number of citation tutorials and writing resources.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: On reserve at the information desk
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make a impact with their work.

APA Style
Resources to answer your quesitons on APA style, including FAQs, tutorials, and the APA Style blog, direct from the American Psychological Association.
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA Formatting and Style Guide
An extensive overview of APA style from Purdue University with examples of APA formatting, in-text citation, and references.
UW-Madison Writing Center Writer's Handbook: APA Documentation
An extensive overview of APA style from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with examples of in-text citations and references.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America The definitive source for questions on all aspects of MLA Style.
Call Number: E-RESOURCE
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06

To find information about MLA style online, try the following links:

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
An online edition of the MLA Handbook, Ninth Edition.
Click here for support.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA Formatting and Style Guide
An extensive overview of MLA style from Purdue University with examples of MLA formatting, in-text citation, and references.
UW-Madison Writing Center Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation
An extensive overview of MLA style from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with examples of in-text citations and references.

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff The definitive source for all questions on CMS documentation and formatting.
Call Number: E-RESOURCE
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

For more information on CMS online, try the following links:

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition. Includes, in addition to the searchable manual, a question and answer section and tools for manuscript preparation.
Click here for support.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
An extensive overview of Chicago Manual of Style style from Purdue University with examples of formatting, in-text citation, and references.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center: Writer's Handbook: Chicago/Turabian Documentation
An extensive overview of citing sources in Chicago style from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with examples of in-text citations and references.

Citation Management Tools

Citation managers are tools that help you cite and organize the sources you find through your research. Though they may vary in their features, at their core they can help you cite your sources correctly based on the latest editions of the appropriate citation styles. Citation managers are great time savers in that a well-organized list of sources can be turned into a bibliography almost instantly, saving you precious time at the end of your paper.

While many citation managers like EndNote and RefWorks are expensive for individual licenses, there are other options out there which do many of the same functions for free.

Great! So I don't have to know how to cite, right?

Not so fast! Machine-produced bibliographies and citations are seldom perfect. You need to know how citation works and what your style should look like, even if you're using a citation manager -- if only so you can check that its work is correct!

Free Citation Managers:

Mendeley
A free PDF manager and research discovery tool aimed at the sciences and social sciences, but also potentially useful for the humanities.
Zotero
A free, browser-based, generalized citation manager.

Refer to the Library's usage guides for each of these citation managers using the links below:

MENDELEY

ZOTERO