LibGuides: African Sisters Education Collaborative (ASEC) at Rosemont College: Journal Articles

Click here for the full list of Rosemont's online databases.

* To access databases off campus, login with your Rosemont email and password. *

What is a database?

A library database is an electronic catalog or index which contains information about published items. Library databases help you find peer-reviewed and scholarly articles.

Some of the articles are full text which means you can read the entire article. Other times the database give you just a citation and an abstract (summary) or only a citation.

Library databases allow you to find:

Articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers
Reference information (background information and/or definitions) in encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
Books and book reviews

Looking For Articles: Tips

We have a wide variety of electronic databases to search for articles. In fact, deciding which database to use can be an intimidating challenge. Several favorite databases are

Academic Search Premier -- Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.

CREDO Reference -- Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.

JSTOR -- JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.

NexisUni -- Sometimes called: LexisNexis. NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

How Do I Find Articles?
General tips on finding articles in the Library's databases, including a list of our databases organized by subject.
Databases A-Z
Kistler Library's electronic databases page, which lists all databases in alphabetical order, and includes links to their help files. Database help files can be VERY helpful, and address much more than just technical difficulties. Most include search strategies, citation information, and more.
JSTOR Support

Electronic Databases

JSTOR
Provides full text access to a core collection of nearly 600 academic journals in the arts and sciences from the first published issue to the most recent two to five year moving wall with links to more recent issues of selected titles in Project Muse.
NexisUni
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Click here for support.
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and provides selective abstracts and full text of popular and scholarly periodicals in business, education, science, humanities, social sciences, and general periodical literature. Coverage from 1982 to the present.
PsycARTICLES
Provides full text access to more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage is from 1985 to the present.
Click here for support.

Open Access Resources

What is Open Access? From the Budapest Open Access Initiative.

Open Access materials are licensed for free use online by anyone, regardless of their institutional affiliation. Kistler Library has compiled materials from many of the web's top open access content providers into a single search through WorldCat Discovery. Enter your search terms in the field below, click GO, and you will be brought to a list of results. From there, simply click the Access online or View full text links provided to be directed to any given article.

Consult these links for more help using and accessing Open Access resources:

How To Find Reliable Websites Use the tips on this page to evaluate the quality of any Open Access journals or other free web resources you may use.
Directory of Open Access Journals Searchable collection of 3500 scholarly and scientific open access journals, maintained by Lund University Libraries. NOTE: Many titles in this collection are not in English. (What is Open Access?)
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks, most of which are in the public domain.
Public Library of Science Gateway to open access journals in the fields of medicine, biology and genetics.
PubMed Central (PMC) A free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journals maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Government and NGO Resources Rosemont's research guide listing many freely available online resources from U.S. Government, NGO, and Intergovernmental Organizations.