LibGuides: Sociology: &#x1F3C1; Featured Resources

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:

Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more. Click here for support.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Indexes critical reviews of current research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Limited volumes are available for the following titles: Biochemistry, Cell and Developmental Biology, Clinical Psychology, Genetics, Marine Science, Physiology, Physical Chemistry, Plant Biology, Psychology, and Public Health. Click here for support.
Handbook of Social Psychology This link opens in a new window
Searchable online version of the 5th edition of this reference work (2010). Topics covered include methodology and experimentation, gender, health, perception, identity, neuroscience, group relations, morality, social justice and more.

Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window OmniFile contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database, with the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications. Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date. Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Click here for support.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage is from 1985 to the present.
Click here for support.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of other disciplines. Coverage is from 1806 to the present.
Click here for support.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and selective full text of journal articles and reports on education research and practice from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Click here for support.

The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.

American Sociological Association
The website of the ASA provides access to the latest news and research in the field of Sociology.
Revise Sociology: Good Sociology Sites
Good Sociology Sites. Some of the best web sites and other sources for keeping up to date with social trends, news and sociological research. Most of these are hub sites through which the latest sociological research is published and analysed.
Social Psychology Network
Presents thousands of searchable links related to psychology, including websites, journals, and more.
Sociological Online Classics
Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, search through the Online Books Page to find electronic versions of classic Sociology texts. NOTE: There are books on other subjects so you must search for Sociology-related items.
Sociological Theories
This is the sociological theories section of The SocioWeb (see left column). It also provides links to other research resources on the Web.
Sociological Theories: A List of Sociological Theories and Frameworks
Although this site includes advertisements, it does provide good definitions of different sociological theories.
Sociological Theories and Perspectives
This is a page which provides links to web sites written by Sociological Theorists.
A Sociological Tour through Cyberspace
Browse through sociology resources for general information, influential texts in sociology, electronic journals and more. Maintained by a professor of Sociology at Trinity University.
Theories
The Theories page from A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace (see middle column). It provides many links to research sites on sociological theories.

Sociology

Contact Us

Rosemont Archives