LibGuides: Religious Studies: &#x1F3C1; Featured Resources

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:

Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more. Click here for support.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Indexes critical reviews of current research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Limited volumes are available for the following titles: Biochemistry, Cell and Developmental Biology, Clinical Psychology, Genetics, Marine Science, Physiology, Physical Chemistry, Plant Biology, Psychology, and Public Health. Click here for support.

Contemporary American religion by Wade Clark Roof
Call Number: BL2525 .C65 2000 V.1 & 2
ISBN: 0028649281
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of religion by Lindsay Jones
Call Number: BL31 .E46 2005 V.1-15
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of science and religion by Wentzel Van Huyssteen
Call Number: BL240.3 .E53 2003 V.1 & 2
ISBN: 0028657047
Publication Date: 2003
Articles by scientists of many fields, philosophers and thinkers from all the major world religions present a variety of perspectives on the major scientific discoveries of our time and their effects on our religious belief system.
Historical atlas of the religions of the world by Isma'il R. Al-Faruqi
Call Number: BL80.2 .F28
ISBN: 0023364009
Publication Date: 1974
New historical atlas of religion in America by Edwin S. Gaustad
Call Number: G1201 .E4 N4 2001
ISBN: 019509168X
Publication Date: 2001
.

Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:

Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window A digital collection of over 5000 full-text, cross-searchable titles in the humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies. Subjects include global histories, history of art and architecture, literature, dance, film and media studies, religion, gender, and sexuality. Click here for support.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to thousands of ebooks in a wide variety of academic disciplines. Available through EBSCOhost. Click here for support.

Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date. Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Click here for support.
Cornelia Connelly Library This link opens in a new window
The Cornelia Connelly Library provides exhaustive online resources about the life of the founder of the Society of the Holy Child Jesus. From historical documents to biographies to inspiring texts for children, the Library allows anyone to research Cornelia’s life and legacy. Some texts are available in Spanish and French.

The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.

Web Reference:

Holy Land Maps
Archive of digitized maps from the National Library of Israel.
Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Religion and Science
An online-only encyclopedia with articles by professors and scholars relating Catholic theology to scientific research.
Interfaith Calendar
Calendar dates for holy days across religious faiths.
Internet Guide to Religion
Links to online resources in religion maintained by the Wabash Center, an organization that "seeks to strengthen and enhance education in North American theological schools, colleges and universities."
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Online repository of sacred works from many world religions.
The Pluralism Project
Project at Harvard University to study religious diversity in America, including reports and statistics, multimedia, etc.
ReligionFacts
Brief information on beliefs and practices of world religions.
Religion-Online.org
Full text publications by scholars in religion. Mostly Christian, but with some emphasis on other world religions.
Religious Studies Web Guide
Links to online resources in religion.
Virtual Religion Index
Gateway to finding religion resources online, maintained by the Department of Religion at Rutgers University.
Voice of the Shuttle: Religious Studies
Religious studies section of a broader informational website in the humanities.
Yahoo! Directory: Religious Organizations
A listing of websites of religious organizations organized by religious tradition.

Religion Statistics:

American Religious Identification Survey 2008
Survey of the religious self-identifications of U.S. residents, conducted by the Institute for the Study of Secularism in Society & Culture at Trinity College.
ARDA: The Association of Religious Data Archives
Statistical information on religious affiliation in the U.S.
CIA World Factbook: Religions
Brief survey of the religious makeup of the nations of the world.
National Congregations Survey
Survey of a representative survey of religious institutions in the U.S., by Duke University.
U.S. Religious Landscape Survey
Survey of 35,000 American adults regarding religious self-identification, as well as political affiliation and belief, conducted by the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life.

Telephone:	610-527-0200 x2273
Email:	reference@rosemont.edu
Ask A Librarian form:	Click here to go to the form

Religious Studies

Contact Us

Rosemont Archives