This course will introduce students to the Roman Catholic Church through a study of the experience of Black Catholic communities. This course will study the history of various Black communitiesin relation to the Catholic Church, and the many gifts Black Catholic experience brings to the greater Roman Catholic Church. This includes the African American Catholic experience, the Aftrican Catholic experience, and the other Black communities around the world.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
Uncommon Faithfulness by 
Stamped with the Image of God by 
The History of Black Catholics in the United States by TOTAL ESTIMATED COURSE COST: $0 - $82.93
These search terms may help as you work on class assignments:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
Critical Terms for Religious Studies by
Provides a concise history of each critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event. Moving across Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and Native American and Mayan religions, contributors explore terms ranging from experience, territory, and image, to God, sacrifice, and transgression.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. It emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Atlas of World Religions by
Featuring more than sixty brand new maps, photographs, diagrams and charts, the Atlas of World Religions is an essential companion to any study on the key religions of the world.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by
Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Milestone Documents of World Religions by
Milestone Documents of World Religions examines the key sacred texts and foundational documents of the world's primary religions, from ancient times to the present, providing researchers with a fresh perspective on how critical religious texts have influenced both the past and the present.
Global Dictionary of Theology by
Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
Represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.