LibGuides: Literature: ENG 0450: History of the Book

Suggested Search Terms

Here are some search terms that will help you find articles on the topics discussed in this class:

book history
style manual
book design
bibliographic description
typeography
type and type-founding
printing layout
textuality
textual criticism
illumination
manuscripts

Discovery Search Box

Featured ENG 0450 Resources

ABC for Book Collectors

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Guide to the Manuscript Collections of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania by Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Call Number: F146 .A1 H68 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts by Michelle P. Brown
Call Number: ND2889 .B76 1994
ISBN: 0892362170
Publication Date: 1994-07-28

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of ebooks in a wide variety of academic disciplines. Available through EBSCOhost.
Click here for support.
Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of over 5000 full-text, cross-searchable titles in the humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies. Subjects include global histories, history of art and architecture, literature, dance, film and media studies, religion, gender, and sexuality.
Click here for support.

HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Cervantes' Don Quixote by Roberto González Echevarría
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780300198645
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0671042866
Publication Date: 2003
The Ingenious Hidalgo Don Quixote de la Mancha by Miguel de Cervantes; John Rutherford (Notes by, Translator); Roberto González Echevarría (Foreword by)
Call Number: PQ6329 .A2 2001
ISBN: 0140448047
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR 6039 .O32 L6 2001
ISBN: 0618129022
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Paratexts by Gerard Genette; Jane E. Lewin (Translator); Richard Macksey (Foreword by, Contribution by); Anthony J. Cascardi (Contribution by)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780521413503
Publication Date: 1997-03-13
The Question of Hamlet by Harry Levin
Call Number: PR2807 .L39
Publication Date: 1959

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Click here for support.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the series: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism. Users can browse by author, work, or topic.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.