Literature

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks, most of which are in the public domain.

College English is the professional journal for the college scholar-teacher. CE publishes articles about literature, rhetoric-composition, critical theory, creative writing theory and pedagogy, linguistics, literacy, reading theory, pedagogy, and professional issues related to the teaching of English. Issues may also include review essays. Contributions may work across traditional field boundaries; authors represent the full range of institutional types.

Coverage: 1939-2016 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 79, No. 2)
Moving Wall: 3 years

College Literature publishes original and innovative scholarly research across the various periods, intellectual fields, and geographical locations of Anglophone and comparative literary studies. The journal is committed to the renewal of critique as a historically determinate practice, and to questioning existing disciplinary frameworks and challenging new critical orthodoxies. It aims to investigate the involvement of literature and critical practice in the broader parameters of public debate organized by such enduring (though mutating) political demarcations as that between private and public, the national and the global, and the cultural and the political.

Coverage: 1974-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 41, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 5 years
Additional coverage available through Project MUSE and OmniFile

Comparative Literature welcomes articles that explore important issues of literary history not confined to a single national literature. We also encourage submissions that address significant problems in literary theory. Our editors and editorial board are sympathetic to a broad range of theoretical and critical approaches.

Coverage: 1949-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 66, No. 4)
Moving wall: 5 years
Additional coverage available through Project MUSE and OmniFile

Contemporary Literature covers the whole range of critical practices, offering new perspectives in contemporary literary studies. CL features in-depth interviews with significant writers, broad-ranging articles written by leaders in the field, and book reviews of important critical studies.

Coverage: 1968-2014 (Vol. 9, No. 1 - Vol. 55, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 5 years
Additional coverage available in Project MUSE and OmniFile

More than three decades after its founding, the Journal of Modern Literature remains the most important and widely recognized scholarly serial in the field of modern literature. Each issue emphasizes scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present. International in its scope its contributors include scholars from Australia, England, France, Italy, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, and Spain.

Coverage: 1970-2020 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 43, No. 3)
Moving Wall: 3 years
Additional coverage available through Project MUSE and OmniFile

MLQ accepts articles that pay attention to the broader scope of literary history regardless of genre or period. The focus of publication—and the sticking point—is literary history. General theory, historicist contextualizations, and self-contained close readings are not published. Essays should concern the situation and the action of literary works in time. Chronology must matter to an essay's argument or theoretical concern, together with the impact or interrelationship of imaginative texts.

Coverage: from 03/01/2005 to 12/31/2015
Moving Wall: 4 years
Additional coverage available in Project MUSE

New Literary History (NLH) focuses on theory and interpretation – the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions, and genres. Throughout its history, NLH has always resisted short-lived trends and subsuming ideologies. By delving into the theoretical bases of practical criticism, the journal reexamines the relations between past works and present critical and theoretical needs. A major international forum for scholarly interchange, NLH has brought into English many of today's foremost theorists whose works had never before been translated.

Coverage: 1969-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 45, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 5 years
More recent coverage available in Project MUSE

PMLA is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Since 1884, PMLA has published members' essays judged to be of interest to scholars and teachers of language and literature. Four issues each year (January, March, May, and October) contain essays on language and literature; a Directory issue (September) lists all members and the names and addresses of department and program administrators; and the November issue presents the program for the association's annual convention. Each issue of PMLA is mailed to over 29,000 MLA members and to 2,900 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1889-2014 (Vol. 4 - Vol. 129, No. 5)
Moving Wall: 5 years

Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900 (SEL) focuses on four fields of British Literature which rotate quarterly as follows: Winter-English Renaissance, Spring - Tudor and Stuart Drama, Summer-Restoration and Eighteenth Century, and Autumn - Nineteenth Century. SEL was founded in 1961 by Carroll Camden at Rice University and is now edited by Robert L. Patten. It includes historical and critical essays that contribute to the understanding of English Literature.

Coverage: 1961-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 54, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 5 years
More recent coverage available in Project MUSE

The English Journal is a journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. EJ presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language. Each issue examines the relationship of theory and research to classroom practice, and reviews current materials of interest to English teachers, including books and electronic media. The journal is published bimonthly in September, November, January, March, May, and July.

Coverage: 1912-2016 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 106, No. 2)
Moving Wall: 3 years

Searchable collection of 3500 scholarly and scientific open access journals, maintained by Lund University Libraries. NOTE: Many titles in this collection are not in English. (What is Open Access?)