This seminar will survey American writing between the wars, considering the works but not limited to Frost, Cummings, Stevens, Williams, Fitzgerald, Hemingway, and Faulkner. We will aim to identify and study key literary movements and the texts within these movements which help to define “American literature” for years to come. More so, students will critically read and discuss these texts and authors to research the major roles each has played in shaping modern American literature to our current day. In addition, the course attempts to place these writers and their works within the context of the most important literary movements of the time. Students will be able to pinpoint similarities in style, technique, as well as trace literary themes.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
These search terms may help as you work on class assignments:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by 
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature by 
Twentieth-century American literature by 
The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
TIP: Search the eBook Academic Collection (linked below) for an author's name to find many more works of biography and literary criticism.
The Art of Robert Frost by 
The Cambridge Companion to American Modernism by 
E. E. Cummings by Fitzgerald and Hemingway: a dangerous friendship by 
A History of Modern Poetry by The Play of Faulkner's Language by 
The Power of Negative Thinking: Cynicism and the History of Modern American Literature by Three on the Tower: the lives and works of Ezra Pound, T.S. Eliot, and William Carlos Williams by 
The Whole Harmonium: the Life of Wallace Stevens by Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
