ENG 0204: Survey of British Literature I: Medieval - 1798 - Literature

Discovery Search Box

Suggested Search Terms

English literature
Faith in literature
Arthurian romance
Knights
Mysticism
Politics and literature
Visual perception in literature
Fall of man
Sin
Satire

author's name + any of the above terms

Featured ENG 0204 Resources

The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Mysticism by Samuel Fanous (Editor); Vincent Gillespie (Editor)
Call Number: BV5077 .G7 C36 2011
ISBN: 9780521618649
Publication Date: 2011-05-12
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English by Lorna Sage (Editor); Lorna (Editor); Greer (Editor); Germaine (Editor); Elaine Showalter (Editor); Sage (Editor); Germaine Greer (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781849721349
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature by Steven Serafin (Editor); Valerie Grosvenor Myer (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781849721318
Publication Date: 2006-02-14
Critical Terms for Literary Study by Frank Lentricchia (Editor); Thomas McLaughlin (Editor); Thomas Mclaughlin (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780226472096
Publication Date: 2008-11-08
The Feminist Companion to Literature in English by Virginia Blain; Patricia Clements; Isobel Grundy
Call Number: PR111 .B57 1990
ISBN: 0300048548
Publication Date: 1990-10-24
Literary Research Guide by James L. Harner
Call Number: PR83 .H34 2008
ISBN: 9780873528085
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Oxford Companion to English Literature by Dinah Birch (Editor); Margaret Drabble (Editor)
Call Number: PR19 .O94 2009
ISBN: 9780192806871
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by David Scott Kastan (Editor)
Call Number: PR19 .O95 2006
ISBN: 0195169212
Publication Date: 2006-03-03

The Beginnings of Medieval Romance by D. H. Green; Alastair Minnis (Contribution by); Patrick Boyde (Contribution by); John Burrow (Contribution by); Rita Copeland (Contribution by); Alan Deyermond (Contribution by); Peter Dronke (Contribution by); Nigel Palmer (Contribution by); Winthrop Wetherbee (Contribution by)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780521813990
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
British Literature, 1640-1789 by Robert DeMaria
Call Number: PR1134 .B74 2001
ISBN: 0631217681
Publication Date: 2001-07-12
Caedmon's Hymn and Material Culture in the World of Bede by Allen J. Frantzen; John Hines
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781933202228
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Confessions of Faith in Early Modern England by Brooke Conti
Call Number: PR428 .R46 C66 2014
ISBN: 9780812245752
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
Early Fiction in England: From Geoffrey of Monmouth to Chaucer by Laura Ashe (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: PR251 .E27 2015
ISBN: 9780141392875
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
The Early Seventeenth Century, 1600-1660 by Douglas Bush
Call Number: PR431 .B978 1962
ISBN: 0198122330
Publication Date: 1990-07-19
Medieval English Literature by J. B. Trapp (Editor); Douglas Gray (Editor); Julia Boffee (Editor); Julia Boffey (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0195134923
Publication Date: 2002-02-21
The Writings of Medieval Women by Marcelle Thiébaux (Editor)
Call Number: PN667 .W75 1994
ISBN: 0815313926
Publication Date: 1994-01-01

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the series: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism. Users can browse by author, work, or topic.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.

Looking for specific articles on a topic? Visit our Electronic Databases page and search the resources listed there.

Authors & Works

Burns: A Study of the Poems and Songs by Thomas Crawford
Call Number: PR4338 .C77 1960
Publication Date: 1960
Burns and His Poetry by H. A. Kellow
Call Number: PR4331 .K4 1970
ISBN: 080461024X
Publication Date: 1970-11-01
Robert Burns and His World by David Daiches
Call Number: PR4331 .D28
ISBN: 0500130345
Publication Date: 1971
Selected Poems by Robert Burns
Call Number: PR4302 .P44 1996
ISBN: 0140622004
Publication Date: 1996

Songs of Innocence and of Experience by William Blake
Call Number: PR4144 .D6 1967
ISBN: 0192810898
Publication Date: 1977-10-27
The Stranger from Paradise by G. E. Bentley
Call Number: PR4146 .B377 2001
ISBN: 0300089392
Publication Date: 2001-06-10

Equivocal Beings by Claudia L. Johnson
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0226401839
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Evelina by Fanny Burney
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780199536931
Publication Date: 2009
Fanny Burney: selected letters and journals by Fanny Burney; Joyce Hemlow (Editor)
Call Number: PR3316.A4 Z48 1986
ISBN: 0198185286
Publication Date: 1986-12-04

Gulliver's Travels by Jonathan Swift
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0393099415
Jonathan Swift by Kathleen Williams
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0710029497
Publication Date: 1968-01-01
Swift's Parody by Robert Phiddian; John Richetti (Contribution by); Howard Erskine-Hill (Contribution by)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 052147437x
Publication Date: 1995-11-09
Swift's Politics by Ian Higgins; Howard Erskine-Hill (Contribution by); John Richetti (Contribution by)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0521418143
Publication Date: 1994-05-05

How Milton Works by Stanley Eugene Fish
Call Number: PR3588 .F57 2001
ISBN: 0674004655
Publication Date: 2001-06-12
Milton's Paradise Regained by Richard Meadowcourt; Charles Dunster; Joseph A. Wittreich (Introduction by)
Call Number: PR3565 .M4
ISBN: 0820110876
Publication Date: 1971-10-01
Milton's Visual Imagination by Stephen B. Dobranski
Call Number: PR3562 .D64 2015
ISBN: 9781107094390
Publication Date: 2015-10-14
Paradise Lost by John Milton; John Leonard (Introduction by, Notes by); Coralie Bickford-smith (Illustrator); John Leonard (Editor, Introduction by, Notes by)
Call Number: PR3560 2014
ISBN: 0241240611
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
A Reader's Guide to John Milton by Marjorie H. Nicolson
Call Number: PR3588 .N5 1998
ISBN: 0815604963
Publication Date: 1998-02-01

The Resolved Soul; A Study of Marvell's Major Poems by Ann E. Berthoff
Call Number: PR3546 .B36
ISBN: 691061661
Publication Date: 1970

The Art of the Sonnet by Stephen Burt; David Mikics
Call Number: PR1195 .S5 B87 2011
ISBN: 9780674061804
Publication Date: 2011-10-15
George Herbert, His Religion and Art by Joseph H. Summers
Call Number: PR3508 .S8
Publication Date: 1954
The Works of George Herbert by George Herbert
Call Number: PR3507 .A33 1970
Publication Date: 1970

Confessions of Faith in Early Modern England by Brooke Conti
Call Number: PR428 .R46 C66 2014
ISBN: 9780812245752
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
Love Poems of John Donne by John Donne; Charles Fowkes (Editor)
Call Number: PR2246 .F65 1982
ISBN: 0312499442
Publication Date: 1982-10-15
Poetic Relations: intimacy and faith in the English Reformation by Constance M. Furey
Call Number: PR535 .R4 F87 2017
ISBN: 9780226434155
Publication Date: 2017-06-05

Hamlet: poem unlimited by Harold Bloom
Call Number: PR2807 .B617 2003
ISBN: 157322233X
Publication Date: 2003-03-10
How the Classics Made Shakespeare by Jonathan Bate
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0691161607
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Shakespeare's Women by Angela Pitt
Call Number: PR2991 .P5 1981
ISBN: 0389201227
Publication Date: 1981-02-01
Shakespeare the Thinker by A. D. Nuttall
Call Number: PR3000 .N88 2007
ISBN: 9780300136296
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Year in the Life of William Shakespeare 1599 by James S. Shapiro
Call Number: PR2907 .S47 2005
ISBN: 0060088737
Publication Date: 2005-10-18

The Letters of Samuel Johnson, Volume I by Samuel Johnson; Bruce Redford (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780691068817
Publication Date: 1992-01-12
vol 1 of 3
The Life of Samuel Johnson, LL. D. by John Hawkins; O. M. Brack (Editor); O. M. Brack (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780820344270
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Samuel Johnson by Donald Greene
Call Number: PR3533 .G73
Publication Date: 1970
Samuel Johnson and the Culture of Property by Kevin Hart
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0521651824
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
Samuel Johnson and the Life of Reading by Robert DeMaria
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780801892424
Publication Date: 2009-05-25
Samuel Johnson: the Critical Heritage by James T. Boulton (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0415134358
Publication Date: 1996-03-05

Doctor Faustus: a 1604 version edition by Christopher Marlowe; Michael Keefer (Editor)
Call Number: PR2664 .A2 K44 2007
ISBN: 9781551112107
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Reckoning: the murder of Christopher Marlowe by Charles Nicholl
Call Number: PR2673 .N53 1992B
ISBN: 0151759812
Publication Date: 1992
Two Renaissance Mythmakers by Alvin B. Kernan
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0801819717
Publication Date: 1991-12-01

Spenser's Allegory by Isabel Gamble MacCaffrey
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0691063060
Publication Date: 1976-06-21
Spenser in the Moment by J. B. Lethbridge (Editor); David Scott Wilson-Okamura (Contribution by); Paul J. Hecht (Editor); Gavin Alexander (Contribution by); April Bernard (Contribution by); Elisabeth Chaghafi (Contribution by); K. Silem Mohammad (Contribution by); Syrithe Pugh (Contribution by); Gordon Teskey (Contribution by); Kathryn Walls (Contribution by)
Call Number: PR2364 .S556 2015
ISBN: 9781611476842
Publication Date: 2015-11-05

Arthur and the Sword by Robert Sabuda (Illustrator, Retold by); Sir Thomas Malory
Call Number: 398.2 SAB Children's
ISBN: 0689319878
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Malory: texts and sources by P. J. C. Field
Call Number: PR2048 .F49 1998
ISBN: 0859915360
Publication Date: 1999-01-17
Sir Thomas Malory's Morte Darthur by Sir Thomas Malory; Dorsey Armstrong (Editor)
Call Number: PR2043 .A74 2009
ISBN: 9781602351035
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Sources of the Grail by John Matthews
Call Number: PN686 .G7 S59 1997
ISBN: 094026286X
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Works by Sir Thomas Malory
Call Number: PR2041 .V5
Publication Date: 1954

Juliana of Norwich: an Introductory Appreciation and an Interpretative Anthology by Julian, of Norwich
Call Number: BV4831 .J78
Publication Date: 1955
Mystics, Visionaries and Prophets by Shawn Madigan (Editor)
Call Number: BV4495 .M97 1998
ISBN: 0800631455
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
Praying with Julian of Norwich by Gloria Durka; Elaine Kohner (Illustrator); Carl Koch (Editor)
Call Number: BV 4831 .J83 D87 1989
ISBN: 0884892212
Publication Date: 1989-05-01

Love Visions by Geoffrey Chaucer; Brian Stone (Foreword by, Translator, Introduction by, Notes by)
Call Number: PR1852 .S8 1983
ISBN: 0140444084
Publication Date: 1983-08-25
The Portable Chaucer by Geoffrey Chaucer; Theodore Morrison (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: PR1855 .M6 1978
ISBN: 0140150811
Publication Date: 1977-05-26

Studies in the Age of Chaucer
more...less...
Studies in the Age of Chaucer is the yearbook of the New Chaucer Society. It publishes articles on the writing of Chaucer and his contemporaries, their antecedents and successors, and their intellectual and social contexts. More generally, articles explore the culture and writing of later medieval Britain (1200-1500). SAC also includes an annotated bibliography and reviews of Chaucer-related publications.

Troilus and Criseyde by Geoffrey Chaucer; Nevill Coghill (Translator)
Call Number: PR1895 .C57
ISBN: 0140442391
Publication Date: 1971-04-30
The Wife of Bath's Tale by Geoffrey Chaucer; Peter G. Beidler (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0312158599
Publication Date: 1998

Sir Thomas Malory's Morte Darthur by Sir Thomas Malory; Dorsey Armstrong (Editor)
Call Number: PR2043 .A74 2009
ISBN: 9781602351035
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by Larry D. Benson (Editor); Daniel Donoghue (Foreword by)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781933202891
Publication Date: 2012-05-01

Ancient Privileges by Stefan Jurasinski
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 093705898X
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
The Beowulf Reader by Peter S. Baker (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: PR1585 .B27 2000
ISBN: 0815336667
Publication Date: 2000-04-27
Grendel by John Gardner
Call Number: PS3557 .A712 G8 1972
ISBN: 0345275098
Publication Date: 1977-11-12

The Venerable Bede On the Song of Songs and Select Writings by Saint Bede the Venerable; Arthur G. Holder (Introduction by)
Call Number: BS1485.53 .B4313 2011
ISBN: 9780809105915
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Baedae Opera historica, with an English translation by Bede, the Venerable, Saint, 673-735
Call Number: PA6156 .B4 1930 V.2
Publication Date: 1930
A concordance to the Historia ecclesiastica of Bede by Jones, Putnam Fennell
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 1929

English Riddles from Oral Tradition by Archer Taylor
Call Number: PN6371 .T3 1951
ISBN: 9780374977931
Publication Date: 1977-03-01
A Feast of Creatures by Craig Williamson
Call Number: PR1762 .W5 1982
ISBN: 0812278437
Publication Date: 1982-09-01
Gaelic Riddles and Enigmas by Alexander Nicolson
Call Number: PN6377 .G3 N5 1975
ISBN: 0883054620
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Riddles in Filipino Folklore by Donn V. Hart
Call Number: GR325 .H3 1964
ISBN: 9780815620693
Publication Date: 1964-11-01