This course provides an overview of forensic psychology to include a comprehensive history of the field and how the field has changed to impact today’s world. Forensic psychology will be examined as a profession, field of study and participant in the legal system. Emphasis will be placed on the relationship between psychology and law and the varying and expansive roles forensic counselors play in navigating both the mental health and the legal system.
This guide provides access to resources to help with the course.
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Guide to the dictionary. -- Quick guide to format. -- APA dictionary of psychology. -- Appendixes. Biographical entries -- Institutional and organizational entries -- Psychological tests and assessment instrument entries -- Psychotherapy and psychotherapeutic approach entries.
Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology by
vols. 1 - 6
v. 1. Personality and everyday functioning / Jay C. Thomas & Daniel L. Segal, volume editors -- v. 2. Adult psychopathology / Frank Andrasik, volume editor -- v. 3. Child psychopathology / Robert T. Ammerman, volume editor.
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by
"DSM-5® Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5®, bringing DSM-5® alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: All cases are original and previously unpublished, making for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the disorder described in the case. For ease in identifying specific cases, case titles are clinically relevant, based on the primary complaint, and identify the DSM-5® diagnosis described. Each case adheres to a consistent format developed by the editors to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Features may include history of present illness, family psychiatric history, medical history, mental status exam results, DSM-5® diagnostic features, lab and physical findings, and a summary. A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. This approach is especially helpful since few cases in real-life are unambiguous. Easy-to-use appendixes enable readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5® diagnosis. The book is designed to serve as a companion text in a variety of contexts -- from abnormal psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs. In addition, those studying for specialty examinations will find reviewing the cases very useful"--The publisher.
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling, Fourth Edition, is stillthe only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE, and other counseling exams. Every chapter has new and updated material and is still written in Dr. Rosenthal's lively, user-friendly style counselors know and love. The book's new and improved coverage incorporates a range of vital topics, including social media, group work in career counseling, private practice and nonprofit work, addictions, neurocounseling, research trends, the DSM-5, the new ACA and NBCC codes of ethics, and much, much more.--Publisher website.
The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
50 Psychology Classics, Second Edition by
In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, 50 Psychology Classics looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self.
Critical Thinking for Psychology by
"Critical thinking is taught at all universities, often put forward by lecturers as the key skill that can most dramatically improve a student's understanding of a course and transform their writing. It pervades research methods teaching, critical psychology, and a range of other core curriculum elements, in exactly the same way that critical thinking pervades any discipline, and indeed, life generally. But what is it, exactly, and how can we apply it specifically to the field of psychology? In his relaxed and accessible style, Mark Forshaw takes modern real-world examples from psychology and everyday life to lighten the learning of critical thinking, explaining what it entails, why it is important, and how it can be applied to this fascinating field of study"-- Provided by publisher.
History of Psychology by
This book explores the development of psychology, from its roots in philosophy and natural science to the scientific research of the 19th century. It also charts the emergence and impact of experimental psychology and the development of psychological theories throughout the 20th century.
Norton Psychology Reader by
Pioneers. From The principles of psychology / William James -- From The unconscious / Sigmund Freud -- Methods. From How to lie with statistics / Darrell Huff -- From How to think straight about psychology / Keith Stanovich -- Evolution and genes. From How the mind works / Steven Pinker -- From The birth of the mind: how a tiny number of genes create the complexities of human thought / Gary Marcus -- Brain. From Descartes' error: emotion, reason, and the human brain / Antonio R. Damasio -- From The man who mistook his wife for a hat and other clinical tales / Oliver Sacks -- Sensation and perception. From visual intelligence: how we create what we see / Donald D. Hoffman -- From Sensory exotica: a world beyond human experience / Howard C. Hughes -- Language. From The language instinct: how the mind creates language / Steven Pinker -- From The atoms of language: the mind's hidden rules of grammar / Mark C. Baker -- Learning. Conditioned emotional reactions / John B. Watson and Rosalie Rayner -- Review of B.F. Skinner's verbal behavior / Noam Chomsky -- From Wild minds: what animals really think / Marc D. Hauser -- Cognitive development. From The scientist in the crib: minds, brains, and how children learn / Alison Gopnik, Patricia Kuhl, and Andrew Meltzoff -- From Descartes' baby: how the science of child development explains what makes us human / Paul Bloom -- Memory and cognition. From Searching for memory: the brain, the mind, and the past / Daniel L. Schacter -- From The illusion of conscious will / Daniel M. Wegner -- Intelligence. From The bell curve: intelligence and class structure in American life / Richard J. Herrnstein and Charles Murray -- From Emotional intelligence: why it can matter more than IQ / Daniel Goleman -- Motivation and stress. From Flow: the psychology of optimal experience / Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi -- From Why zebras don't get ulcers: an updated guide to stress, stress-related diseases, and coping / Robert M. Sapolsky -- Emotion. From The emotional brain: the mysterious underpinnings of emotional life / Joseph LeDoux -- From Emotions revealed: recognizing faces and feelings to improve communication and emotional life / Paul Ekman -- From Woman: an intimate biography / Natalie Angier -- Social psychology. From Influence: the psychology of persuasion / Robert B. Cialdini -- From The tending instinct: how nurturing is essential to who we are and how we live / Shelley Taylor -- Personality. From Galen's prophecy: temperament in human nature / Jerome Kagan -- From The nurture assumption: why children turn out the way they do / Judith Rich Harris -- Personality plus / Malcolm Gladwell -- Culture. From Human universals / Donald E. Brown -- From The geography of thought: how Asians and Westerners think differently... and why / Richard E. Nisbett -- From Not by genes alone: how culture transformed human evolution / Peter J. Richerson and Robert Boyd -- Disorders. From A beautiful mind: the life of mathematical genius and Nobel Laureate John Nash / Sylvia Nasar -- From An unquiet mind: a memoir of moods and madness / Kay Redfield Jamison -- From Thinking in pictures, and other reports from my life with autism / Temple Grandin -- Treatment. From Listening to Prozac: a psychiatrist explores antidepressant drugs and the remaking of the self / Peter D. Kramer -- From Cognitive therapy and the emotional disorders / Aaron T. Beck.
The Psychology Book by
Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology. From its philosophical roots through behaviorism, psychotherapy, and developmental psychology, The Psychology Book looks at all the greats from Pavlov and Skinner to Freud and Jung, and is an essential reference for students and anyone with an interest in how the mind works.
Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.