Here you'll find an introduction to related resources available through Rosemont College's Kistler Memorial Library, including eBooks, databases, and more. Contact us with any questions, comments, or recommendations. Click here for more information on Rosemont's MA programs in Applied Psychology and Counseling.
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by
Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology by
This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by
The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by
This updated and expanded major reference work advances the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. It provides a common language for clinicians to communicate about their patients and establishes consistent and reliable diagnoses that can be used in the research of mental disorders. It also provides a common language for researchers to study the criteria for potential future revisions and to aid in the development of medications and other interventions.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid by
Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid is the first book to thoroughly explain RAPID PFA. RAPID, a unique theoretically grounded and evidence-based PFA method, follows a set of easily understood principles.
Encyclopedia of Depression by
Provides coverage on topics critical to understanding depression, such as the history of the disease, research, treatment options, and the role of various mental health professionals in addressing the condition.
Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors by
Comprehensive in scope, The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors covers many common addictions, including alcoholism, gambling, and OxyContin, as well as their relating behaviors.
Pocket Guide to Addiction Assessment and Treatment by
Ambivalence, poor adherence to treatment, serious psychiatric and medical comorbidities -- the difficulties posed by patients of substance use disorders are among the most challenging for practitioners to face. Given that only 10% of patients with these disorders actually receive specialized addiction treatment, it's clear that physicians in all medical and surgical specialties need to become comfortable assessing and treating substance use disorders.The Pocket Guide to Addiction Assessment and Treatment is designed specifically to aid a wide range of clinicians, regardless of their training in addiction, to more confidently assess and treat this patient population.The book's practical, actionable content is divided into three sections -- Fundamentals of Addiction, Substances and Behaviors, and Treatment -- that address topics including: The neurobiology of addiction How to recognize and treat intoxication, withdrawal from, and addiction to substances such as alcohol, anabolic-androgenic steroids, benzodiazepines, cannabis, opioids, stimulants, and tobacco, as well as hallucinogens, inhalants, and caffeine Special issues with psychiatric and medical comorbidities, as well as with specific populations Behavioral addictions, with a special focus on gambling disorder Cognitive-behavioral therapy; 12-step programs; nutrition and exercise; spirituality, mindfulness, and meditation; and other treatment options, with examples of how each can be used with patients facing addictions With an accessible, easily referenced format, the Pocket Guide to Addiction Assessment and Treatment serves as a go-to resource for general psychiatrists, internists, family practitioners, pediatricians, emergency medicine physicians, psychiatric nurses, residents, medical students, and other practitioners involved in the addiction treatment field. And because all of the diagnostic discussions are DSM-5®--based, readers can be confident that they're getting the most relevant and up-to-date guidance on the topic.
Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Child and Adolescent Counseling Case Studies: Developmental, Relational, Multicultural, and Systemic Perspectives by
ncludes highly effective creative and expressive interventions This state-of-the-art collection of 30 real-life cases on counseling children and adolescents emphasizes the developmental, relational, and cultural contexts of working with this population, and incorporates innovative techniques across a wide range of approaches. Intended as a companion to child and adolescent counseling texts, it offers counselors-in-training examples of hands-on, concrete, and workable applications that provide opportunities for skill and theory development. These case studies are distinguished by their emphasis on the critical impact of such systematic contexts as family, peers, and school, along with developmental and cultural contexts. The inclusion of creative and expressive interventions—often the most effective strategies in working with this population—make this an outstanding educational resource. The case studies—representing an esteemed variety of contributing authors-- address such ubiquitous themes as abuse, anxiety, giftedness, disability, body image, substance abuse, social media, grief, bullying, changing families, military families, incarcerated family members, race and ethnicity, and sexual identity and orientation. Each case follows a consistent format, comprised of a description of the young person's presenting issues, a conceptualization of these issues, a description of the counseling process, an outline of desired outcomes, and a detailed discussion that includes systemic contexts, developmental and relational considerations, multicultural perspectives, and options for use of creative interventions.Key Features:Delivers a wide variety of cases covering contemporary issues prevalent among children and adolescentsEmphasizes developmental, systematic, and contextual impacts including family, school, peer, and cultural influencesIncludes such treatment approaches as brief, solution-focused, CBT, reality/choice, narrative, and relational/culturalIncludes options for creative interventions with each case and time efficient methods when applicable.
Theories of Counseling and Psychotherapy: Individual and Relational Approaches by
Focuses heavily on contemporary approaches and cross-professional applicationsThis book emphasizes'big picture'frameworks to conceptualize how major theories of counseling and psychotherapy operate and compare. This innovative new text presents theories using an'paradigm'framework: the organic-medical, psychological, systemic/relational, and social constructivist paradigms.. Designed to be accessible and relevant to practice, the book enhances and reinforces learning with the inclusion of learning objectives, chapter summaries, applications of each theory in practice, and brief biographies of major theorists.The text moves beyond traditional approaches with expanded coverage of relationship-centered and post-modern theories such as Dialectic Behavior Therapy, Emotion Focused Therapy, Solution-Focused Brief Therapy, Narrative Therapy, and others. Each theory is explored in depth through the use of a student-mentor dialogue that examines and debates the challenges that arise with each theory. The book also addresses the counseling role in psychiatric case management, reflecting the growing reality of cross-professional collaboration. Practical yet rigorous, the text is a state-of-the-art introduction to contemporary approaches in counseling and psychotherapy for students in counseling, social work, professional psychology, marriage and family therapy, and related professions.
The Resilience Workbook : Essential Skills to Recover From Stress, Trauma, and Adversity by
What is resilience, and how can you build it? In The Resilience Workbook, Glenn Schiraldi—author of The Self-Esteem Workbook—offers invaluable insight and outlines essential skills to help you bounce back from setbacks and cultivate a growth mindset. Why do some people sail through life's storms, while others are knocked down? Resilience is the key. Resilience is the ability to recover from difficult experiences, such as death of loved one, job loss, serious illness, terrorist attacks, or even just daily stressors and challenges. Resilience is the strength of body, mind, and character that enables people to respond well to adversity. In short, resilience is the cornerstone of mental health. Combining evidence-based approaches including positive psychology, cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), mindfulness, and skills for regulating stress, The Resilience Workbook will show you how to bounce back and thrive in any difficult situation. You'll learn how to harness the power of your brain's natural neuroplasticity; manage strong, distressing emotions; and improve mood and overall well-being. You'll also discover powerful skills to help you prevent and recover from stress-related conditions like post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), anxiety, depression, anger, and substance abuse disorders. When the going gets tough, you need real, proven-effective skills to manage your stress and heal from setbacks. The comprehensive and practical exercises in this workbook will help you cultivate resilience, stay calm under pressure, and face all of life's challenges.This book has been selected as an Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Book Recommendation—an honor bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
Assessment and Intervention with Mothers and Partners Following Child Sexual Abuse: Empowering to Protect by
Assessment and Intervention with Mothers and Partners Following Child Sexual Abuse provides child protection professionals with the guidance they need to make the right decisions in cases of suspected or proven sexual abuse and ensure the best outcome for the child.Assessments and interventions used for other forms of abuse, such as physical abuse or neglect, elicit a great deal of information, but do not fully address the issues and needs in relation to child sexual abuse. This book lays out a new model for understanding, assessing and working with mothers of sexually abused children or partners of known or suspected sexual offenders - a model which combines offender knowledge with understanding of mothers and partners. It is structured around the following central critical questions: Did she know it was happening? Is she able to protect the child? What do I need to do to ensure that the child is safe? Combining research and empirical evidence with case studies, exercises and practical guidance, this book is essential reading for child protection professionals working with children and families.
Counseling African American Males: Effective Therapeutic Interventions and Approaches by
There is no one method for doing culturally alert counseling. Instead, culturally alert counseling consists of intentionally adapting existing ways to help clients (1) understand their socially constructed worldviews through culture, (2) appreciate their various cultures, (3) to make choices about adherence to cultural norms, and (4) to recognize and respond to external bias relating to their cultural group membership.
What Counsellors and Spiritual Directors Can Learn From Each Other : Ethical Practice, Training and Supervision by
This new edited collection explores the intersection of spiritual direction and counselling/psychotherapy, and the relationship between the two. Citing the influencing effect prayer and counselling have had on each other, the contributors offer insight into the similarities and differences of spiritual direction and counselling, and of what the disciplines have to learn from each other. Advocating the importance of addressing the spiritual dimension of care in areas such as mental health and social care, this book promotes a synthesis of pastoral guidance and psychological counselling. The chapters offer insight to the healing role spirituality and prayer can play when counselling for trauma, sexual abuse or loss of a loved one. Whether discussing training counsellors to be spiritually literate, or exploring how spiritual accompaniers can take a psychologically-informed approach, all the contributors bring their extensive experience to bear working with spiritual and psychological issues.
A Clinician's Guide to Treating OCD : The Most Effective CBT Approaches for Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder by
As a clinician, you know how difficult it can be to treat clients with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) using a one-size-fits-all approach. This powerful and evidence-based guide offers a variety of customizable treatment strategies-made simple and practical-for helping clients with OCD.Written by a psychologist and expert in treating obsessive-compulsive disorder, A Clinician's Guide to Treating OCD combines powerful, evidence-based therapies to help you create a concise and customizable treatment plan. The methods including cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), exposure and response prevention therapy (ERP), inference-based therapy (IBT), metacognitive therapy (MCT) and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), are presented in an easy-to-follow format, incorporate the newest research, and offer a wide range of skills for helping OCD clients.The standalone treatment protocols outlined in each chapter represent a specific model and procedure for addressing the mechanisms underlying the OCD. In addition, you'll find worksheets and online resources to help you create individualized treatment programs to best suit your clients'needs.If you're looking for a simple, customizable approach to treating clients with OCD, this book has everything you need to get started.
Mindfulness and Acceptance for Treating Eating Disorders and Weight Concerns: Evidence-Based Interventions by
Disordered eating, negative body image, and problems with weight have become an epidemic—and research shows that traditional treatments are not always effective. This professional resource offers proven-effective interventions using mindfulness and acceptance for treating clients with disordered eating, body image, or weight issues—and for whom other treatments have failed.Millions of people in the United States suffer from eating disorders, and dissatisfaction with weight and body type—even in individuals whose weight is considered normal—is similarly widespread. In addition, more than half of Americans could benefit from healthy weight loss. Unfortunately, not all people with eating disorders or weight concerns respond to traditional therapeutic interventions; many continue to suffer significant symptoms even after treatment. What these clients need is an integrated therapeutic approach that will prove effective in the long run—like the scientifically backed methods in this much-needed clinical guide.Edited by Ann F. Haynos, Jason Lillis, Evan M. Forman, and Meghan L. Butryn; and with contributors including Kay Segal, Debra Safer, and Hugo Alberts; Mindfulness and Acceptance for Treating Eating Disorders and Weight Concerns is the first professional resource to incorporate a variety of proven-effective acceptance- and mindfulness-based approaches—such as acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy (MBCT)—into the treatment of persistent disordered eating, body image issues, and weight problems.With these evidence-based interventions, you'll be ready to help your clients move beyond their problems with disordered eating, body dissatisfaction, and weight management once and for all.
Counselling Skills for Working with Gender Diversity and Identity by
For any student or practitioner needing to gain a sound understanding of the complex fields of gender variance, gender identity and gender dysphoria, this book provides the ideal starting point for the knowledge and skills that you need. Emphasising the need for affirmative practice in gender care, it provides an overview of the subject areas and process issues which most commonly arise in counselling, combining theoretical with practical perspectives. It explores the diverse range of identities including masculinity, femininity, non-binary, gender dysphoria, trans and cisgender. It also addresses challenges which many clients experience in their daily lives - in the workplace, when coming out, when transitioning and in intimate relationships.The authors highlight the importance of education and reflection to enable good practice. They feature case studies, vignettes and reflective exercises throughout the text, making it a useful tool for professional development as well as suitable as a text for students.
Counselling Children and Young People in Private Practice: A Practical Guide by
With statutory CAMHS services often heavily oversubscribed, and school and college services mainly offering brief therapeutic interventions, parents are increasingly turning to private practitioners for therapy for their children when they need expert emotional or psychological support. Working privately with children and families can be a rewarding experience for counsellors and psychotherapists but it can also be fraught with concerns for both practitioners and families alike. These concerns can seem so daunting that therapists with clinical experience of therapy with children continue to limit themselves to working only in education or statutory settings. This book offers comprehensive guidance to both experienced and novice counsellors to assist them in the process of setting up or adapting their private practice to include children and young people. It coherently and systematically addresses the obstacles which stand in the way of practitioners offering this important service effectively and ethically. The book is divided into four parts and uses case material to bring to life the areas covered by each chapter.
Practicing Cognitive Behavioral Therapy with Children and Adolescents by
Even the best grounding in the principles of psychotherapy can leave students poorly prepared for actual face-to-face work with clients. This is the only resource dedicated specifically to increasing the confidence and professional competence of graduate students and early career professionals who use cognitive behavioral therapy with children and adolescents. With accessible language, engaging humor, and step-by-step guidance on what to do and when to do it, the author walks students through the entire clinical process from initial consultation with young clients and their caregivers through the conclusion of treatment. With a focus on promoting joy and meaning rather than merely eliminating pain, the book also integrates interventions from positive psychology literature with CBT techniques. The guide is replete with procedural instructions for each step of treatment along with suggested sample language and flexible scripts that can be tailored to the needs of individual clients. Brief rationales for each procedure describe how therapeutic interactions and statements support effective and ethical practices. Evidence-based CBT techniques address issues ranging from mood disorders to conduct and behavioral disorders and include such skills as externalizing the problem, behavioral activation, physiological calming and mindfulness, and happy/coping thoughts. Strategies that engage families in the therapeutic process are included, providing guidance on how to coach parents and other caregivers to participate in certain interventions and create a supportive environment. Pointers for dealing with common challenges such as resistant youth and caregivers include specific steps and sample scripts. Chapters offer ready-to-use forms, templates, worksheets, and client handouts. Key Features: Presents CBT-based techniques specifically for practicum and internship students and other trainee clinicians Fosters the development of confidence and competence in practicing CBT with youth Provides easy-to-read, step-by-step guidance including sample scripts that can be easily adapted Offers proven strategies for engaging families in the therapeutic process Delivers pointers for dealing with common treatment challenges.
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
The APA provides a great deal of help in searching PsycINFO effectively.