This course examines the classification of drugs as well as the physiological and psychological effects of drug use and drug abuse. Personal, social, and biological frames of reference will be used as a basis for understanding the causes of addiction and its impact on the individual, family, and society. Prevention and intervention counseling models and strategies will be reviewed as well as common methods of assessing substance use disorders.
This guide provides access to resources to help with the course.
Drug Dependence
Withdrawal
Addiction
Physical Dependence
Substance Abuse
Heroin
Benzodiazepine
Morphine
Abuse Liability of Drugs
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Guide to the dictionary. -- Quick guide to format. -- APA dictionary of psychology. -- Appendixes. Biographical entries -- Institutional and organizational entries -- Psychological tests and assessment instrument entries -- Psychotherapy and psychotherapeutic approach entries.
Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology by
vols. 1 - 6
v. 1. Personality and everyday functioning / Jay C. Thomas & Daniel L. Segal, volume editors -- v. 2. Adult psychopathology / Frank Andrasik, volume editor -- v. 3. Child psychopathology / Robert T. Ammerman, volume editor.
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by
"DSM-5® Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5®, bringing DSM-5® alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: All cases are original and previously unpublished, making for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the disorder described in the case. For ease in identifying specific cases, case titles are clinically relevant, based on the primary complaint, and identify the DSM-5® diagnosis described. Each case adheres to a consistent format developed by the editors to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Features may include history of present illness, family psychiatric history, medical history, mental status exam results, DSM-5® diagnostic features, lab and physical findings, and a summary. A brief discussion follows each case, analyzing the clinical presentation, highlighting key points, and exploring issues of comorbidity that may complicate both the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. This approach is especially helpful since few cases in real-life are unambiguous. Easy-to-use appendixes enable readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5® diagnosis. The book is designed to serve as a companion text in a variety of contexts -- from abnormal psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs. In addition, those studying for specialty examinations will find reviewing the cases very useful"--The publisher.
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling, Fourth Edition, is stillthe only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE, and other counseling exams. Every chapter has new and updated material and is still written in Dr. Rosenthal's lively, user-friendly style counselors know and love. The book's new and improved coverage incorporates a range of vital topics, including social media, group work in career counseling, private practice and nonprofit work, addictions, neurocounseling, research trends, the DSM-5, the new ACA and NBCC codes of ethics, and much, much more.--Publisher website.
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.