LibGuides: Math & Sciences: &#x1F3E0; Home

Introduction

Welcome to the Math and Sciences Library Guide. Here you'll find helpful hints for your coursework and research.

Suggested Math Keywords

algebra

calculus

statistics

Suggested Science Keywords

bioethics

biology

chemistry

genetics

genetic engineering

medical ethics
science moral and ethical aspects

Example Catalog Searches

a) Searching "algebra" with the limit of Print Books = 38 results.

b) Searching "best science writing" with the limit of Book = 511 results.

c) Searching "au:(richard feynman)" = 32 results.

d) Searching "kw:(math games)" = 119 results.

e) Searching "ti:(bioethics)" with the limit of Book = 222 results.

f) Searching "mathematics education pedagogies" = 551 results.

g) Searching "kw:(medicine) AND ti:(ethics)" with the limits of Book and publication within the Last 5 years = 19 results.

Featured Subject Specific Resources

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:

Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Click here for support.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical reviews of current research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Limited volumes are available for the following titles: Biochemistry, Cell and Developmental Biology, Clinical Psychology, Genetics, Marine Science, Physiology, Physical Chemistry, Plant Biology, Psychology, and Public Health.
Click here for support.

Algebra by Vivek Sahai; Vikas Bist
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781783323784
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Functional Calculi by Charles Swartz; Carlos Bosch Giral
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9789814415972
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780471768654
Publication Date: 2007
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780470035450
Publication Date: 2006

The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).

Oxygen: A Four Billion Year History by Donald E. Canfield
Call Number: QD181 .O1 C36 2014
ISBN: 9780691145020
Publication Date: 2014
The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert
Call Number: QE721.2 .E97 K65 2014
ISBN: 9780805092998
Publication Date: 2014
What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe
Call Number: Q173 .M965 2014
ISBN: 0544272994
Publication Date: 2014
Ethics and Science: An Introduction by Adam Briggle; Carl Mitcham
Call Number: Q180.55 .M67 B75 2012
ISBN: 9780521878418
Publication Date: 2012
Science in the 20th Century and Beyond by Jon Agar
Call Number: Q125 .A36 2012
ISBN: 9780745634692
Publication Date: 2012
Evolutionary History: Uniting History and Biology to Understand Life on Earth by Edmund Russell
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780521745093
Publication Date: 2011
The Grand Design by Stephen W. Hawking; Leonard Mlodinow
Call Number: QC794.6 .G7 H385 2010
ISBN: 9780553805376
Publication Date: 2010

Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:

Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of over 5000 full-text, cross-searchable titles in the humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies. Subjects include global histories, history of art and architecture, literature, dance, film and media studies, religion, gender, and sexuality.
Click here for support.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of ebooks in a wide variety of academic disciplines. Available through EBSCOhost.
Click here for support.

Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Click here for support.

MEDLINE
At the FirstSearch screen, use “Jump to Advanced Search” and select “MEDLINE.”
Provides abstracts and selective full text of over 19,000 sources in the international biomedical literature from 1950 to the present. MEDLINE is the electronic version of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Health services administration, nutrition, psychiatry, toxicology, and veterinary medicine are also covered. Published by the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily. Available through FirstSearch.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Click here for support.

Public Library of Science
Gateway to open access journals in the fields of medicine, biology and genetics.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Click here for support.

The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.

Finding Information, from MIT Libraries
Describes methods of finding information particularly in the sciences.
Writing a Scientific Research Article (from Columbia University)
Suggestions and information on writing a publishable paper in the sciences.
"What is Scientific Writing?" from The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill,
Nearly every element of style that is accepted and encouraged in general academic writing is also considered good practice in scientific writing. The major difference between science writing and writing in other academic fields is the relative importance placed on certain stylistic elements. This handout details the most critical aspects of scientific writing and provides some strategies for evaluating and improving your scientific prose.
Handout on Scientific Reports, from The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
This handout provides a general guide to writing reports about scientific research you’ve performed. In addition to describing the conventional rules about the format and content of a lab report, we’ll also attempt to convey why these rules exist, so you’ll get a clearer, more dependable idea of how to approach this writing situation.

Science Citation Resources

Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors (Contribution by)
Call Number: Circulating Stacks T11 .S386 2006
ISBN: 9780977966509
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
In some courses MLA or APA styles may be used. Check with your instructor.

Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide
Examples of in-text and end references for the most common types of sources from the Council of Science Editors.
UW-Madison Writing Center Writer's Handbook: APA Documentation
An extensive overview of APA style from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with examples of in-text citations and references.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Reference RED Z253 U69 2024
ISBN: 9780226817972
Publication Date: 2024-09-19