Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Headlines from ScienceDaily:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics by
"Introduces basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; traces the development of modern mathematics; explains essential terms and concepts; examines core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describes the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; and explores the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music."
50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know by
"In 50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know, Professor Tony Crilly explains in 50 clear and concise essays the mathematical concepts - ancient and modern, theoretical and practical, everyday and esoteric - that allow us to understand and shape the world around us."
Key Concepts in Teaching Primary Mathematics by
"Covering the key principles and concepts in the teaching and learning of mathematics in elementary schools, this text provides trainee and practicing teachers with a quick and easy reference to what they need to know for their course, and in the classroom."
New Scientist Instant Expert: How Numbers Work by
"How Numbers Work takes a tour of this mind-blowing but beautiful realm of numbers and the mathematical rules that connect them. Not only that, but take a crash course on the biggest unsolved problems that keep mathematicians up at night, find out about the strange and unexpected ways mathematics influences our everyday lives, and discover the incredible connection between numbers and reality itself."
Mathematics in Ancient Egypt: A Contextual History by
"A survey of ancient Egyptian mathematics across three thousand years, Mathematics in Ancient Egypt traces the development of Egyptian mathematics, from the end of the fourth millennium BC—and the earliest hints of writing and number notation—to the end of the pharaonic period in Greco-Roman times. Drawing from mathematical texts, architectural drawings, administrative documents, and other sources, Annette Imhausen surveys three thousand years of Egyptian history to present an integrated picture of theoretical mathematics in relation to the daily practices of Egyptian life and social structures. Imhausen shows that from the earliest beginnings, pharaonic civilization used numerical techniques to efficiently control and use their material resources and labor. Even during the Old Kingdom, a variety of metrological systems had already been devised. By the Middle Kingdom, procedures had been established to teach mathematical techniques to scribes in order to make them proficient administrators for their king. Imhausen looks at counterparts to the notation of zero, suggests an explanation for the evolution of unit fractions, and analyzes concepts of arithmetic techniques. She draws connections and comparisons to Mesopotamian mathematics, examines which individuals in Egyptian society held mathematical knowledge, and considers which scribes were trained in mathematical ideas and why. Of interest to historians of mathematics, mathematicians, Egyptologists, and all those curious about Egyptian culture, Mathematics in Ancient Egypt sheds new light on a civilization's unique mathematical evolution."
Highlights in Algebra and Number Theory by
"This two-volume set collects and presents some fundamentals of mathematics in an entertaining and performing manner. The present volume examines many of the most important basic results in algebra and number theory, along with their proofs, and also their history."
Complex Analysis: An Analytical Approach by
"In this textbook, a concise approach to complex analysis of one and several variables is presented. After an introduction of Cauchy‘s integral theorem general versions of Runge‘s approximation theorem and Mittag-Leffler‘s theorem are discussed. The first part ends with an analytic characterization of simply connected domains. The second part is concerned with functional analytic methods: Fréchet and Hilbert spaces of holomorphic functions, the Bergman kernel, and unbounded operators on Hilbert spaces to tackle the theory of several variables, in particular the inhomogeneous Cauchy-Riemann equations and the d-bar Neumann operator."
Math for Real Life: Teaching Practical Uses for Algebra, Geometry, and Trigonometry by
" 'Where are we ever going to use this?'Every high school math student has asked this question. Often teachers themselves aren't sure how to respond. One answer is that higher mathematics learned in high school will be essential to learning yet more at the college level. A more satisfactory answer calls for an awareness of how math is applied in many specific areas. Written primarily for teachers, this book presents hundreds of practical applications for mathematics--from baseball statistics to the theory of relativity--that can be understood by anyone with a knowledge of high school algebra, geometry and trigonometry."
Mathematics for Economics and Business by
"This textbook is tailored for those educational programs, such as Economics and Management, that include an introductory (and frequently the only) course in Mathematics. The volume focuses on a number of selected, fundamental topics: the knowledge of Calculus, for functions of one and two variables; the use of Calculus in optimization; the notion of integral for functions of one variable; the language and the elementary techniques of Linear Algebra; the basics of Financial Calculus. Several preliminary examples from applied sciences (mainly from Economics) introduce the theoretical aspects."
The Metaphysics of the Pythagorean Theorem: Thales, Pythagoras, Engineering, Diagrams, and the Construction of the Cosmos Out of Right Triangles by
"Explores Thales's speculative philosophy through a study of geometrical diagrams."
Inventing the Mathematician: Gender, Race, and Our Cultural Understanding of Mathematics by
"Considers how our ideas about mathematics shape our individual and cultural relationship to the field."
Becoming the Math Teacher You Wish You'd Had: Ideas and Strategies from Vibrant Classrooms by
"Readers, be warned: you are about to fall in love. Tracy writes, “Good math teaching begins with us.” With those six words, she invites you on a journey through this most magnificent book of stories and portraits…This book turns on its head the common misconception of mathematics as a black–and-white discipline and of being good at math as entailing ease, speed, and correctness. You will find it full of color, possibility, puzzles, and delight…Let yourself be drawn in. Elham Kazemi, professor, math education, University of Washington While mathematicians describe mathematics as playful, beautiful, creative, and captivating, many students describe math class as boring, stressful, useless, and humiliating. In Becoming the Math Teacher You Wish You'd Had, Tracy Zager helps teachers close this gap by making math class more like mathematics. Tracy spent years with highly skilled math teachers in a diverse range of settings and grades. You'll find this book jam-packed with new thinking from these vibrant classrooms. You'll grapple with big ideas: How is taking risks inherent to mathematics? How do mathematicians balance intuition and proof? How can teachers value both productive mistakes and precision? You'll also find dozens of practical teaching techniques you can try in your classroom right away—strategies to stimulate students to connect ideas; rich tasks that encourage students to wonder, generalize, conjecture, and persevere; routines to teach students how to collaborate. All teachers can move toward increasingly authentic, delightful, robust mathematics teaching and learning for themselves and their students. This important book helps us develop instructional techniques that will make the math classes we teach so much better than the math classes we took."
Mathematics and Society by
"The ubiquity and importance of mathematics in our complex society is generally not in doubt. However, even a scientifically interested layman would be hard pressed to point out aspects of our society where contemporary mathematical research is essential. Most popular examples are finance, engineering, wheather and industry, but the way mathematics comes into play is widely unknown in the public. And who thinks of application fields like biology, encryption, architecture, or voting systems? This volume comprises a number of success stories of mathematics in our society – important areas being shaped by cutting edge mathematical research. The authors are eminent mathematicians with a high sense for public presentation, addressing scientifically interested laymen as well as professionals in mathematics and its application disciplines."
Environmental Data Analysis: Methods and Applications by
"Most environmental data involve a large degree of complexity and uncertainty. Environmental Data Analysis is created to provide modern quantitative tools and techniques designed specifically to meet the needs of environmental sciences and related fields. This book has an impressive coverage of the scope. Main techniques described in this book are models for linear and nonlinear environmental systems, statistical & numerical methods, data envelopment analysis, risk assessments and life cycle assessments. These state-of-the-art techniques have attracted significant attention over the past decades in environmental monitoring, modeling and decision making. Environmental Data Analysis explains carefully various data analysis procedures and techniques in a clear, concise, and straightforward language and is written in a self-contained way that is accessible to researchers and advanced students in science and engineering."
Research in Applied Mathematics by
"This book presents current research in the field of applied mathematics. Topics discussed include, Linear Systems, the Discrete Davey-Stewart System, Kukles Systems, nonlinear equations, differential equations, and many other advanced and relevant topics in mathematics."
Elements of Mathematics: From Euclid to Godel by 
The Call of the Primes: Surprising Patterns, Peculiar Puzzles, and Other Marvels of Mathematics by 
Fluke: The Math & Myth of Coincidence by 
In Praise of Simple Physics: The Science and Mathematics Behind Everyday Questions by 
