Are you a new member of Rosemont College's faculty, or a returning member looking to learn more about using the Library for your courses? View this guide to learn about the resources and support available to you from Kistler Library.
ACLS continues to be the leading private institution supporting scholars in the humanities and related social sciences at the doctoral and postdoctoral levels. With the exception of the Mellon/ACLS Public Fellows program, an individual may apply to as many fellowship and grant programs as are suitable. However, not more than one ACLS or ACLS-joint award may normally be accepted in any one competition year.
For the purpose of these competitions, the humanities and related social sciences include but are not limited to American studies; anthropology; archaeology; art history and architectural history; classics; economics; ethnic studies; film; gender studies; geography; history; languages and literatures; legal studies; linguistics; musicology; philosophy; political science; psychology; religious studies; rhetoric, communication, and media studies; sociology; and theater, dance, and performance studies.
However, proposals in the social science fields listed above are eligible only if they employ predominantly humanistic approaches and qualitative/interpretive methodologies (e.g., economic history, law and literature, political philosophy, history of psychology). Proposals in interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary humanities and related social sciences are welcome, and most programs do not restrict the focus of research to any geographic region or to any cultural or linguistic group of study.
The American Antiquarian Society offers three broad categories of visiting research fellowships, with tenures ranging from one to twelve months. All of the fellowships are designed to enable academic and independent scholars and advanced graduate students to spend an uninterrupted block of time doing research in the AAS library. Discussing this work with staff and other readers is a hallmark of an AAS fellowship.
AAUW American Fellowships support women scholars who are completing dissertations, planning research leave from accredited institutions, or preparing research for publication. Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Candidates are evaluated on the basis of scholarly excellence; quality and originality of project design; and active commitment to helping women and girls through service in their communities, professions, or fields of research.
Since its founding in 1919, recognizing outstanding scholarship has been one of the ACHA’s key missions. To that end, the Association has established several awards to honor the best research and writing in our field.
The pages in this section contain the complete rules and information for applying for these awards. In most cases, applications can be made online. If you have questions about any of the awards, the best point of contact is the chair of the prize committee for the award in question.
With support from the National Science Foundation (NSF), the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Grants Program seeks proposals for Research Grants. The AERA Grants Program provides Research Grants to faculty at institutions of higher education, postdoctoral researchers, and other doctorallevel scholars. The program supports highly competitive studies using rigorous quantitative methods to examine large-scale, education-related data. This research and training program is designed to advance knowledge and build research capacity in education and STEM education and learning. Since 1991, this AERA Program has been vital to both research and training at early career stages.
The Grants Program encourages the use of major data sets from multiple and diverse sources. It emphasizes the advanced statistical analysis of data sets from the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the National Science Foundation (NSF), and other federal agencies. The program also supports studies using large-scale international data systems (e.g., PISA, PIRLS, or TIMSS) that benefit from U.S. federal government support. In addition, statewide longitudinal administrative data systems (SLDS) enhanced through federal grants are also eligible for consideration. The inclusion of federal or state administrative information that further expands the analytic capacity of the research is permissible. The thrust of the analysis needs to be generalizable to a national, state, or population or a subgroup within the sample that the dataset represents.
Since 1933, the American Philosophical Society has awarded small grants to scholars in order to support the cost of research leading to publication in all areas of knowledge. In 2015–2016 the Franklin Research Grants program awarded $473,950 to 93 scholars, and the Society expects to make a similar number of awards in this year’s competition. The Franklin program is particularly designed to help meet the costs of travel to libraries and archives for research purposes; the purchase of microfilm, photocopies, or equivalent research materials; the costs associated with fieldwork; or laboratory research expenses.
Franklin grants are made for noncommercial research. They are not intended to meet the expenses of attending conferences or the costs of publication. The Society does not pay overhead or indirect costs to any institution, and grant funds are not to be used to pay income tax on the award. Grants will not be made to replace salary during a leave of absence or earnings from summer teaching; pay living expenses while working at home; cover the costs of consultants or research assistants; or purchase permanent equipment such as computers, cameras, tape recorders, or laboratory apparatus.
A wide variety of funding opportunities for many different disciplines are available via Rosemont's membership. Grants and other funding opportunities are dispersed throughout the site and can be found through browsing the Programs and Resources menus or through a quick search of the website.
The Cushwa Center’s Research Travel Grants foster research in the University Archives and the Hesburgh Libraries at the University of Notre Dame. Grants to help defray travel and lodging costs are made to scholars of any academic discipline who are engaged in projects that require substantial use of the collections of the Hesburgh Libraries and/or the University Archives. Applicants should make clear how their projects relate to the study of Catholics in America.
Grants are the free money everyone wants. Here you’ll find grants that cover a simple conference fee or a six-month retreat to write and get away from it all. Some pay for specifically designed projects and others exercise your ability to match writing with a social cause. No two are alike, so keep coming back to see what might suit your fancy.
These grants are legitimate. But like any market or contest, read the guidelines to make sure you fit the mold. While some of them are for big dreamers who face stiff competition, others provide new talent with opportunity. Find out why FundsforWriters is the specialist on grants available to freelance writers.
The Immigration History Research Center Archives (IHRCA) offers Grant-in-Aid Awards to support a visit in order to conduct research in our collections. Grant-in-Aid Awards are intended to help defray expenses of visiting scholars from abroad and for those in the US who are based outside of the Minneapolis-St. Paul (MN) metro area. Awards are available through the generosity of donors to the IHRCA's ethnic and general funds, as well as the Immigration History Research Center. Awards are made on a competitive basis for research specific to the IHRCA’s collections.
The Ransom Center will award more than 50 fellowships for projects that require substantial on-site use of its collections during 2017–2018. The fellowships support research in all areas of the humanities, including literature, photography, film, art, the performing arts, music, and cultural history.
The Jean Dreyfus Lectureship awards provide an $18,500 grant to bring a leading researcher to a primarily undergraduate institution to give at least two lectures in the chemical sciences. One of the lectures should be accessible and promoted to a wide audience that includes the general public. The remaining lecture(s) may be more technical. The lecturer is expected to spend more than one day at the institution to substantively interact with undergraduate students and a broad range of faculty over the period of the visit. Prior to August 2016, the program was known as the Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship for Undergraduate Institutions.
A portion of the award is to support two undergraduates in summer research. The undergraduates engaged in summer research are expected to work with mentors in contemporary chemistry.
These fellowships, offered by the Mary and David Harrison Institute for American History, Literature, and Culture at the University of Virginia, offer visiting scholars an opportunity to conduct extended research in the University of Virginia’s Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library for periods of one to three months. The Taylor and the Elwood Fellowships are open to U.S. citizens and foreign nationals who live beyond a 60-mile radius of Charlottesville, VA and
-hold the Ph.D or equivalent degree, or
-are doctoral students who have advanced to candidacy, or
-are independent scholars with a significant record of scholarly achievement.
Fellowship recipients are offered financial support depending on their length of residency at UVA: $1,800 for one month, $3,600 for two months, and $4,900 for three months. Taylor and Elwood Fellows must begin their residency within 12 months of the award and complete it within the following 12 months; they may divide their residency into two or more shorter visits. Taylor and Elwood Fellows are responsible for arranging their own housing. Applications for the Taylor and Elwood Fellowships are reviewed twice each year by the fellowship committee. The application deadlines are February 28 and October 31. Applicants will be notified of the committee’s decision by March 31 and November 30 respectively.
Grant opportunities, application guidelines, and resources for managing your grant from the NEH. Browse through a list of opportunities or use the search feature to find appropriate funding opportunities. You can also use the Match feature to find smaller lists of opportunities that match your project characteristics.
The National Science Foundation funds research and education in most fields of science and engineering, as well as some fields of the social and economic sciences. You can browse by program type, program area or recently announced opportunities or use the advanced search to find funding by funding type and research area.
Each year, NEH offers tuition-free opportunities for school, college, and university educators to study a variety of humanities topics. Stipends of $1,200-$3,300 help cover expenses for these one- to four-week programs.
The Newberry’s long-standing fellowship program was created to provide outstanding scholars with the time, space, and community required to pursue innovative and ground-breaking scholarship. In addition to our intriguing and often rare materials, we promise fellows access to a lively, interdisciplinary community of researchers; individual consultations with staff curators, reference librarians, and other scholars; and an array of both scholarly and public programs–all of which will contribute to your ability to advance scholarship in your field, develop new interpretations, and expand our understanding of the past in ways that can help us better understand the present.
All research grant applications must be preceded by a letter of inquiry (LOI). RSF has 3 funding cycles per year and only considers proposals that are invited following review of an initial letter of inquiry. After peer review, about 15% of those who submit an LOI will receive an invitation to submit a full proposal. RSF rarely considers projects for which the investigators have not already fully-developed the research design, the sample framework, access to data, etc. Investigators are encouraged to submit an LOI after they have developed and pre-tested survey instruments, completed preliminary data analyses if the data are publically-available or conducted some preliminary interviews for qualitative studies.
The goal of all of our research grants is to support rigorous, intellectually ambitious and technically sound research that is relevant to the most pressing questions and compelling opportunities in education. We value work that fosters creative and open-minded scholarship, engages in deep inquiry, and examines robust questions related to education. We seek to support scholarship that develops new foundational knowledge that may also have a lasting impact on policy-making, practice, or educational discourse.
While our commitment to research is unwavering, we recognize that the most pressing challenges confronting young people change over time. As independent grantmakers, we have the flexibility to adjust our areas of focus. Currently, the Foundation funds research that increases our understanding of: (1) the programs, policies, and practices that reduce inequality in youth outcomes, and (2) how policymakers and practitioners acquire, interpret, and use research evidence.
Complete the form below to request a new funding source be added to this guide: