Although Asian philosophy shares many of the same concerns which have occupied philosophers in the Western tradition for over two millennia, there is an emphasis in much of Indian, Chinese, and Japanese thought on the process of self-cultivation, the goal of which is to attain direct insight into the nature of reality. And yet, despite this common feature, the methods practiced with a view to achieving this goal are grounded in philosophical frameworks unique to each tradition. This course will explore the traditions of Hinduism, Buddhism, Confucianism, and Taoism, with a view to examining not just the various understandings of self-cultivation and its transformative effect on the individual, but also to examine the greater philosophical contexts within which the practical concerns for self-realization are situated. In so doing we will explore a variety of views on the nature of reality, knowledge, ethics, and social life. Prerequisite: WRT 0110.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
Covers the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section provides comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. Also contains useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
vols. 1 - 10
Handbook of World Philosophy by 
A Popular Dictionary of Buddhism by The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Chinese Philosophy in an Era of Globalization by 
Eastern Philosophy: Key Readings by 
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion by 
Understanding Eastern Philosophy by Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.
