A survey course in the history of western philosophy intended to introduce students to the theories of prominent ancient and medieval philosophers. Concentration on works by the Pre-Socratics, Plato, Aristotle, Plotinus, St. Augustine, St. Thomas Aquinas, and others. Offered fall semester in alternate years. Prerequisites: WRT-0110.
REQUIRED TEXTS:
Cengage Advantage Series: Voyage of Discovery by TOTAL ESTIMATED COURSE COST: $0 - $109.45
These search terms may help as you work on class assignments:
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
American Philosophy: an Encyclopedia by
The Encyclopedia of American Philosophy provides coverage of the major figures, concepts, historical periods and traditions in American philosophical thought. Containing over 600 entries written by scholars who are experts in the field, this Encyclopedia is the first of its kind. It is a scholarly reference work that is accessible to the ordinary reader by explaining complex ideas in simple terms and providing ample cross-references to facilitate further study. The Encyclopedia of American Philosophy contains a thorough analytical index and will serve as a standard, comprehensive reference work for universities and colleges.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
vols. 1 - 10
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by
vols. 1 - 4
Handbook of World Philosophy by Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.
