Skip to main content
Research Guides Electronic Databases Ask a Librarian Interlibrary Loan Blog Home

Visions of 2020: Stories of Our Times, from COVID-19 to Racial Injustice

This guide presents a way for the Rosemont community to submit their reactions, thoughts, and expressions of their experiences during the year 2020 for preservation in the Rosemont College Archives.

We are living through history. It is affecting each one of us differently. Are you recording or processing your feelings about the situation? Has the COVID-19 crisis or the murders of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, and Walter Wallace motivated you to journal? ...start a collection? ...write fiction? ....paint pictures? If not, it's never too late to start. You'll help future students and researchers understand what we lived through in 2020.

 

History is recorded by collecting and preserving primary sources.The Rosemont College Archives would like to collect the stories and reactions of our community regarding the COVID-19 crisis, the murders of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Walter Wallace, and Breonna Taylor, and the 2020 Presidential Election, thus preserving this part of our history.
The Rosemont College Archives invites digital submissions of items that you are producing during the events of 2020. We welcome your responses in whatever format you think best expresses them. For instance, you might write in a journal, record voice memos, save your social media posts, save masked selfies, take photos and/or videos of life as you see it, or create multimedia works of digital storytelling. Please read our submission guidelines, then submit your file digitally via the Google Form on this guide. Use the prompts on the following page for inspiration and reflection.

 

Thanks to Juniata College Archives and Special Collections, Princeton University Archives, and Drexel University Archives.

Why Is This Important?

This article explains why it is important to capture history as it happens and describes the initiatives of other Philadelphia institutions to do so.

Access this article from Nexis Uni here.

chat loading...