Here you'll find an introduction to related resources available through Kistler Library, including eBooks, databases, and more. Contact us with any questions, comments, or recommendations. Click here for more information on Rosemont's MA in Publishing.
Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will:
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design by 
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers by 
Dictionary of Media & Communication Studies by 
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by The following featured books are included in the Kistler Library's collection. EBooks will link directly to their source (login may be required).
The Art of Making Magazines: On Being an Editor and Other Views From the Industry by 
Hothouse : The Art of Survival and the Survival of Art at America's Most Celebrated Publishing House, Farrar, Straus, & Giroux by 
The Late Age of Print: Everyday Book Culture from Consumerism to Control by 
New Avenues for Electronic Publishing in the Age of Infinite Collections and Citizen Science: Scale, Openness and Trust by 
Positioning and Power in Academic Publishing: Players, Agents and Agendas by 
The Publishing Business: From P-Books to E-Books by 
Publishing for Profit: Successful Bottom-Line Management for Book Publishers by 
Typography, Referenced: A Comprehensive Visual Guide to the Language, History, and Practice of Typography by Follow these links to search additional eBooks online:
Use the following multi-subject and subject-specific databases to search for detailed research articles on your topic. Login required for off-campus access. Click here for the full list of Rosemont's electronic databases.
Academic Search contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily searched database, with the full text of articles from over 3,700 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,300 publications.
Click here for support.
The links below will direct you to additional resources on the open web. Depending on the nature of your research, it may or may not be appropriate to utilize these sources, so it is always best to check first with your professor or a librarian. Consult this page for more guidance on evaluating websites.
Publishing Industry Blogs:
Professional Organizations:
Professional organizations conduct research, publish, hold conferences and events, collect job listings and statistics, and perform a variety of other activities to promote and support the field. Examine their websites, follow them on social media, attend conferences, or consider volunteering. This will help you to stay current in the field and to build your professional network.
Headlines from Publishers Weekly:
