Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases Interlibrary Loan Blog Contact Us Home

Library Resources: How Do I...?

Tutorials on using Gertrude Kistler Library, online library resources, and various information sources from elsewhere.

What's On Each Floor?

Please note: the Ground Floor of the Library is currently closed for renovations. Please speak to a librarian if you wish to retrieve an item located on the ground floor. We look forward to sharing more updates with you on the renovation progress soon.

The Library has three floors, each with different types of resources available. The Library entrance is on the Main Floor, across from the Sharon Latchaw Hirsh Community Center. An online campus map is available here

Main Floor
Third Floor
  • Remembering Sr. Helen Mary Weisbrod, SHCJ Information Commons:
    • Information Desk
    • Reference collection
    • Popular reading and CDs
    • Eleanor's Cafe (coffee and snack machines)
    • Study rooms with TVs and DVD players
    • Printer/scanner
  • Circulating collection books: call numbers A - C
  • DVDs
  • Oversized books
  • Staff offices
  • Change machine
  • Men's and Women's Restrooms
  • Front Reading Room:
    • Faculty & Alumni Publications
    • Kistler Collection
    • Rosemont Collection
    • Paul Ingersoll Unsigned Publisher's Bindings Collection
  • Circulating collection books: call numbers D - Z
  • Reading Room:
    • Paul Ingersoll Signed Publisher's Bindings Collection
    • Children's Collections
  • Room 301:
    • Homer Collection
    • African-American Collection
    • Yvonne Chism-Peace Women's Poetry Collection
    • Iwilla Literary Press Collection
  • Study rooms
  • Archives
  • Gender-Neutral Restroom
  • Room 304:
    • The Institute for Ethical Leadership and Social Responsibility Collection 
    • Thesis Collection
 Ground Floor
  • Learning Commons Computing Area
  • Room 107: Anne Hargadon Trotter Seminar Room
  • Room 110: Under renovation
  • Room 112: Back issues of print periodicals and microfilm
  • Room 113:
    • Rosemont College Rare Book Collection
    • Rosemont College Art Collection
    • Rare Children's Book Collection
    Room 114: TCLC Office
  • Room 116: Under renovation
  • Room 117: Snyder-Fugger Instructional and Training Center

How Do I Read A Call Number?

The Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. If you're not familiar with LC call numbers, they can seem a little confusing, but don't worry: here's a quick explanation of how they work.

Books are arranged first alphabetically, using the letters at the start of the call number: LC487 .C43 1994
Then numerically, by the numbers that come directly after the letter. These are read as whole numbers: in other words, 400 comes later than 43. LC487 .C43 1994
Then alphabetically again, by the letter that comes after the decimal point: LC487 .C43 1994
Then numerically again, by the number that comes directly after that letter. These are read as decimal numbers: in other words: 55 comes later than 541. LC487 .C43 1994
There may be another letter-number combination after the one with the decimal point in front of it. If so, you read it the same way: first alphabetically by letter, and then numerically in decimal order. BX1795 .I57 E83 2000
The four-digit number at the end of the call number is the publication date of the item. LC487 .C43 1994

Want to practice? Try this LC Call Numbers Quiz, provided by the librarians at Western Connecticut State University.

If you want to learn about which subjects are associated with which Library of Congress call numbers, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Key Library Locations

Alumni Authors Front Reading Room
Archives Third Floor Offices
DVDs Main Floor, Stacks
Children's Library Third Floor Reading Room
Classroom (for Information Literacy Sessions) Ground Floor, Room 117
ELSR and Graduate Thesis  Third Floor, Room 304
Faculty Publications Front Reading Room
CDs Main Floor, Information Commons
Periodicals and microfilm Ground Floor, Room 112
Oversized Books Main Floor, Stacks
Rare Books Ground Floor, Room 113
Reference Books Main Floor, Information Commons
Reserves and ILL materials Main Floor, Information Desk
Rosemont Collection Front Reading Room

What are the Library's Special Collections?

Alumni Collection
A collection of publications written by alumni of both the Undergraduate College and SGPS. Currently located in the Front Reading Room.

Dr. Charles Cherry First Editions Collection
A collection of First Edition 20th Century American Literature, donated by Dr. Charles Cherry, who taught at Villanova University. Currently located in the Front Reading Room.

Dr. George C. Fago Homer Collection
A collection of various books about Homer as well as a large collection of editions of The Iliad and The Odyssey dated from 1769 through 2017. Donated by Dr. George Fago, who taught psychology at Ursinus College and was a devoted classicist. A bibliography prepared by Professor Tim Jackson is available. Currently located in Room 301.

Francenia Emery African American Book Collection
A collection of titles written by and about African Americans, including many rare books and a signed monograph by Martin Luther King, Jr. Currently located in Room 301.

Institute for Ethical Leadership and Social Responsibility Collection
A collection built by Professor Alan Preti to support the work of the Institute. Currently located in Room 304.

Iwilla Literary Press Collection
A collection of items published by Iwilla Press, donated by Ms. Yvonne Chism-Peace '66. Currently located in Room 301.

Mr. & Mrs. Kistler Collection
A collection of books donated to the Library by our primary benefactors, the Kistlers, several of which include their signatures and corresponding gift plates. Currently located in the Front Reading Room.

Paul Ingersoll Signed Publisher's Bindings
A collection of decorative publisher's bindings signed by the bindings' designers. Currently located in the Third Floor Reading Room.

Paul Ingersoll Publisher's Bindings
A collection of unsigned decorative publisher's bindings. Currently located in the Front Reading Room and in Wilson Library, Main Building.

Rare Book Collection
A collection of miscellaneous rare books dating from the 1600s to the present. Currently located in Room 113.

Rare Children's Book Collection
A collection of rare and unusual children's books dating from the 1800s to the present. Currently located in Room 113.

Rosemont Collection
A collection of titles concerning Rosemont College, its founders, and related figures. Currently located in the Front Reading Room.

Yvonne Chism-Peace Women's Poetry Collection
A collection of first edition women's poetry books from the 1970s through the 1990s, which had formed part of the MS library when Ms. Chism-Peace was their poetry editor. Currently located in Room 301.

chat loading...