LibGuides: Art &amp; Art History: &#x1F3C1; Featured Resources

Discovery Search Box

Browse the Stacks

Art is a subject that begs to be browsed! If you don't know where to start, sometimes just strolling the stacks will be enough to inspire your research.

The majority of our art history books are located in the Third Floor Stacks, in the N section.

N: General, Theory, and Philosophy

NA: Architecture

NB: Sculpture

NC: Drawing, Design, and Illustration

ND: Painting

NE: Print Media

NK: Decorative Arts

NX: Arts in General

Featured Studio Art Resources

Databases:

CREDO Reference
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Click here for support.
Humanities E-Book Project
A digital collection of over 5000 full-text, cross-searchable titles in the humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies. Subjects include global histories, history of art and architecture, literature, dance, film and media studies, religion, gender, and sexuality.
Click here for support.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
Click here for support.

Artstor Public Collections The Artstor Digital Library provides straightforward access to curated images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.

Journals:

Looking for specific articles on a topic? Visit our Electronic Databases page and search the resources listed there.

American Art
from 01/01/1991 to 09/30/2015 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III
American Journal of Art Therapy
from 02/01/1996 to 05/31/2002 in OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
Art Bulletin
from 03/01/1995 to present in OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
Art Journal
from 03/01/1984 to present in OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
Journal of Visual Art Practice
from 01/01/2005 to present in OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)

Books and eBooks:

In the Library stacks, art books are located under LC class N, with NA = Architecture; NB = Sculpture; NC = Drawing, Design, and Illustration; ND = Painting; NE = Print media; NK = Decorative arts; and NX = Arts in general.

Local Supply Stores:

Artist & Craftsman Supply Chestnut Hill
7926 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Artist & Craftsman Supply Philadelphia
307 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Blick Art Materials PAFA
128 N Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Blick Art Materials Philadelphia
1330 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
JOANN Fabrics and Crafts
153 E Swedesford Rd, Wayne, PA 19087
Merion Art & Repro Center
17 Lancaster Ave, Ardmore, PA 19003
Michaels
57 E City Ave, Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004
Michaels
200 W Dekalb Pike, King of Prussia, PA 19406
Wayne Art Supplies
112 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087

Fabrication Resources:

Art of Where
Custom designed, printed, and fabricated textiles, fashion, and household decor
Blurb
Create, print, and sell professional quality books
Collage
Online print-on-demand retailer for custom designed homegoods
NextFab
Local makerspaces in Philadelphia and Wilmington
Philadelphia Photo Arts Center
Local center for photography exhibitions, classes, and printing services
Second State Press
Community printshop offering classes and professional workspaces

Online Tutorials:

Golden Paints YouTube Tutorials
Golden Paints' YouTube channel offering demonstrations and tutorials utilizing their various paints and associated techniques and applications.

News and Editorial Sites:

Other Art Publications:

Professional Organizations:

Art Dealers Association of America
The Art Dealers Association of America (ADAA) is a nonprofit membership organization of the nation's leading galleries in the fine arts.
Art Libraries Society of North America
ARLIS/NA is a growing, dynamic organization promoting the interests of its membership, including architecture and art librarians, visual resources professionals, artists, curators, educators, publishers, students, and others throughout North America interested in visual arts information.
College Art Association
Founded in 1911, the CAA promotes excellence in scholarship and teaching in the visual arts.
Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance
A membership and service organization advocating for the arts in Philadelphia with a number of programs supporting local artists and non-profits.
Mid-America Print Council
The Mid-America PrintCouncil (MAPC) is a member-driven organization dedicated to the support,promotion, development, and research of printmaking arts.
New York Foundation for the Arts
NYFA was established in 1971 as an independent nonprofit service organization to serve individual artists throughout New York State.
Society of Illustrators
The Society of Illustrators’ mission is to promote the art of illustration, to appreciate its history and evolving nature through exhibitions, lectures and education, and to contribute the service of its members to the welfare of the community at large.
Visual Resources Association
The Visual Resources Association (VRA) is a multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image and media management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments.

Job Postings:

Calls for Entry:

Artist Residencies:

Alliance of Artist Communities
Directory of artists' residencies and artist communities.
Res Artis
Worldwide network of artists' residency programs.
Rivet
Online listings of open calls for residencies and other opportunities.
PAFA Artist Residency Opportunities
Local listings of artist residency opportunities, compiled by the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts (PAFA).

Artist Studios:

915 Spring Garden Studios
915 Spring Garden St, Philadelphia, PA 19123
1241 Carpenter Studios
1241 Carpenter Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
Bok
1901 S 9th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19148
Crane Arts
1400 N American Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122
Listings Project
National listings for studio spaces which often includes postings in the Philadelphia region.
Papermill
2825 Ormes Street, Philadelphia, PA 19134
Viking Mill
2424 Coral Street, Philadelphia, PA 19125

Galleries:

Makerspaces and Production Facilities:

NextFab
Local makerspaces in Philadelphia and Wilmington
Philadelphia Photo Arts Center
Local center for photography exhibitions, classes, and printing services
Fleisher Art Memorial
Art center that provides classes, studio space, and gallery exhibitions.

Museums:

Barnes Foundation
The Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia is home to one of the world's greatest collections of impressionist, post-impressionist and early modern paintings.
Brandywine River Museum of Art
Renowned for its holdings of the Wyeth family of artists, the Brandywine Museum of Art features galleries dedicated to the work of N.C. Wyeth, Andrew Wyeth and Jamie Wyeth. The Museum’s outstanding Brandywine Collection is a cross-section of American art, with a special focus on artistic practice in the Brandywine Valley. Nineteenth- and twentieth-century landscape paintings testify to the beauty that drew well-known artists to the area. Important portraits, still life paintings and notable holdings in American illustration add diversity and breadth to this unique collection.
Fabric Workshop and Museum
The Fabric Workshop and Museum (FWM) is an internationally acclaimed contemporary art museum devoted both to the creation and presentation of innovative works of art. Its Artist-in-Residence Program provides artists at all stages of their careers with the opportunity to collaborate with FWM as they experiment with new materials and new media, taking their work in fresh and often unexpected directions. Founded in 1977 by Marion “Kippy” Boulton Stroud (1939-2015), FWM presents ambitious exhibitions which convey a story of contemporary art that unites process with finished works.
Institute of Contemporary Art
The Institute of Contemporary Art at the University of Pennsylvania (ICA Philadelphia) is a global hub for contemporary art and ideas. Free and open to all, ICA Philadelphia is dedicated to supporting artistic practices across disciplines and to serving as a laboratory for risk-taking, community-building, and knowledge-creation. Since 1963, ICA Philadelphia has championed the University’s commitment to cultivating the next generation of imaginative creators and thinkers. Through commissions, exhibitions, programs, publications, and special projects, ICA Philadelphia fosters bold experimentation, curiosity, and discovery.
Michener Art Museum
The Museum is named after James A. Michener, Doylestown's most famous son, and Pulitzer-Prize winning writer and supporter of the arts.

The Michener Art Museum is dedicated to preserving the artistic heritage of Bucks County and its regional artists of all creative disciplines and highlighting art from regional artists.
Mount Airy Contemporary
Mount Airy Contemporary is a small artist-run exhibition space in the northwest of Philadelphia. The gallery's program is focused on connecting artists and artist communities across regional pockets, and to that end most shows are pairings of local Philadelphia artists with artists in other cities.
Mutter Museum of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia
Penn Museum
Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts Museum
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Rodin Museum
Woodmere Art Museum

Art Schools: