Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides Databases Interlibrary Loan Blog Contact Us Home

WorldCat Discovery: Beta

Welcome! Thank you for taking the time to try out our new search platform, WorldCat Discovery, launching Summer 2021. The search box below represents the interface that students & the Rosemont community will see on the Library website. Please experiment with searching here and browsing/refining your results. If you experience any issues or have any other feedback to submit, please use the form below.

Click here to view the modernized search interface directly.

About the Project

WorldCat Discovery is a unified search interface that provides access to nearly all* of the Library's holdings, both physical and electronic. This means articles from databases like JSTOR and OmniFile and ebooks from EBSCO are searchable alongside the Library's print collections (reference, periodicals, rare books, etc.).

While more high-level, granular searching should still be done through individual databases, WorldCat Discovery allows users to quickly and easily dive into their research, enabling them to access the breadth of the Library's collections without the daunting task of sorting through a variety of distinct vendors and platforms. Also provided are direct links to the full text of electronic resources and the real-time availability** of the Library's physical holdings, simplifying how materials are accessed.

WorldCat Discovery also provides the option to search beyond Kistler Library's collections for materials held by more than 10,000 other libraries worldwide as well as a wealth of open access and OER content. If patrons find a book, article, or journal not held by Rosemont, they will see a link to request the item through Interlibrary Loan, meaning it is no longer necessary to fill out a separate form as before.

Finally, WorldCat Discovery has a virtual Course Reserves module, which enables library staff to compile lists of course-specific materials culled from all the diverse sources searchable in WorldCat, including books not held by Kistler Library. Instructors can then link students directly to this unified listing of all the individual articles, books, ebooks, and journals "on reserve" for any given course. View an example of this here.


*You can browse a list of the collections searchable through WorldCat Discovery here. The following databases/collections are not currently configured for searching through WorldCat Discovery: Rosemont College Archives, World Shakespeare Bibliography, Literary Marketplace Online, Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory, Artstor Digital Library, Homeland Security Digital Library, Violence and Abuse Abstracts, HeinOnline Civil Rights and Social Justice.

**The real-time availability function is not yet active.

Training Videos

chat loading...