Before you start researching your assignment, try to get an idea of what sorts of sources you want to find, and how many you'll need.
Don't neglect books in your research! Articles may seem easier because they're shorter and can be accessed online, BUT:
Search the Library Catalog
Searching the catalog at Kistler Library will return many of the e-books to which our community has access. If you want to search only for e-books, you can follow these steps:
A link to the book will be included in the catalog record, labeled URL. From off-campus, you will need to log in with your Rosemont email username and password to access the book.
Search e-Book Collections
The Library pays for you to have access to many e-books. These collections can be searched directly.
Free collections of e-books can also be searched at:
Please note, however, that the books included in these sites are often free because they are in the public domain, so many of them may be older works and/or contain outdated information.
We have a wide variety of electronic databases to search for articles. In fact, deciding which database to use can be an intimidating challenge. Our advice:
Many of the articles listed online in our databases are available in full text, but not all! Sometimes when you find an article in a database, only the citation will be listed, not a full text link to the content of the article.
When this happens, try the following steps:
Why wouldn't it be?!
Sorry - but not all information sources are something you should cite in a paper! Here are some warning signs your bibliography might bring down your grade:
What makes one resource better than another?
There's a method for determining the quality of a resource, and it has a great name: the CRAAP test.
Currency: how recent the resource is. Is the resource outdated? Does your paper topic need something written more recently?
Relevance: how much the resource has to do with your topic. Is it really about what your paper is on?
Authority: who wrote the resource and what their credentials are. Does it say who wrote it? Do they know what they're talking about? How do you know?
Accuracy: whether the information in the resource is correct. Are you sure the resources is free of errors and misinformation?
Purpose: the author's reason for writing the resource. Do they have an agenda that biases their opinion? Are they trying to educate or just entertain?
That bibliography isn't just there for decoration! How effectively you use your sources in your paper can make all the difference to your grade.