Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more. Click here for support.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States from 1878 to the present. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Click here for support.
Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2017-2018 by Richard K. Miller & Associates"Media and advertising market data are scattered through a myriad of sources. This handbook compiles top-line data into a single easy-to-use reference. Segments covered include filmed entertainment, home entertainment, live performances, local advertising, magazines, mobile media, news media, newspapers, outdoor advertising, place-based video advertising, radio, recorded music, television, the Internet, video games, and more. Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2017-2018 profiles a range of sectors including ad agencies, advertisers, Internet properties, broadband and mobile service providers, multichannel operators, TV networks, radio stations, newspapers and magazines, film studios, music recording labels, and social networks. This user-friendly resource also provides discussions on market trends, guidelines for demographic-focused advertising, and over 700 website links to additional resources."
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Donald H. Johnston (Editor)"Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research."
Call Number: P87.5 .E535 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Dictionary of Media & Communication Studies by James Watson & Anne Hill, eds."The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives."
Publication Date: 2015
Media Psychology 101 by Christopher J. Ferguson"The book critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence. Distinguished by its examination of research from a scientifically objective position, the book offers students not only current knowledge of media psychology but also the tools to challenge commonly held assumptions from popular advocacy and ideology."
Call Number: P94 .F38 2016 EB
Publication Date: 2016
Adcreep: The Case Against Modern Marketing by Mark Bartholomew"Advertising is everywhere. By some estimates, the average American is exposed to over 3,000 advertisements each day. Whether we realize it or not,'adcreep'—modern marketing's march to create a world where advertising can be expected anywhere and anytime—has come, transforming not just our purchasing decisions, but our relationships, our sense of self, and the way we navigate all spaces, public and private. Adcreep journeys through the curious and sometimes troubling world of modern advertising. Mark Bartholomew exposes an array of marketing techniques that might seem like the stuff of science fiction: neuromarketing, biometric scans, automated online spies, and facial recognition technology, all enlisted to study and stimulate consumer desire. This marriage of advertising and technology has consequences. Businesses wield rich and portable records of consumer preference, delivering advertising tailored to your own idiosyncratic thought processes. They mask their role by using social media to mobilize others, from celebrities to your own relatives, to convey their messages. Guerrilla marketers turn every space into a potential site for a commercial come-on or clandestine market research. Advertisers now know you on a deeper, more intimate level, dramatically tilting the historical balance of power between advertiser and audience. In this world of ubiquitous commercial appeals, consumers and policymakers are numbed to advertising's growing presence. Drawing on a variety of sources, including psychological experiments, marketing texts, communications theory, and historical examples, Bartholomew reveals the consequences of life in a world of non-stop selling. Adcreep mounts a damning critique of the modern American legal system's failure to stem the flow of invasive advertising into our homes, parks, schools, and digital lives."
Call Number: KF1614 .B37 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
Ad Law: The Essential Guide to Advertising Law and Regulation by Richard Lindsay (Editor)"Ensuring marketers and advertisers are aware of the laws and regulations of advertising is now more important than ever. If a campaign is found to be potentially offensive, harmful, or misleading, it can'go viral'in just the click of a mouse, and the implications of breaching those laws are likely to be both damaging and costly to a brand's reputation, its creative work, and the strategic planning behind it. Now offering level-headed advice on everyday questions encountered when designing and running promotional campaigns, Ad Law, the new book from the Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA), is the ultimate handbook to the law and regulation of advertising and marketing communications. Containing guidance based on real-world experiences from media and advertising lawyers and the IPA legal team, this book expertly leads readers through the most applicable laws and regulations, common pitfalls and the practicalities behind them, such as the new industry-standard client/agency agreement. Covering issues such as intellectual property, privacy and defamation, plus the self-regulatory framework, Ad Law is the ideal companion for any advertising and marketing professional, or lawyer working within these sectors."
Call Number: KD2206 .A938 2016 EB
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Advertising Culture and Translation: From Colonial to Global by Renato Tomei"This book is the first comprehensive study combining and integrating advertising, culture and translation within the framework of colonial, Commonwealth, and postcolonial studies, and globalization. It addresses a number of controversial issues evident in two relatively young disciplines, as a result of decades of research and teaching in university courses. A cross-cultural approach to translational issues and the translatability of advertising cohesively is adopted here, exploring the dynamics of the conflict between the ‘centre'and the ‘periphery'. It introduces the concept of advertising English as lingua franca (AELF), marking new trends in the domain of varieties of English around the world (VEAW). The data examined here show the ambivalent polarity conditioning advertising and translation: both have been mutually exclusive, and both have been subject to bans, censorship and ideological control, racism, propaganda, and stereotyping. In their fundamental principles and concepts of theories and applications, however, neither discipline cannot exist outside a free market and total freedom of expression and trust."
Call Number: HF5821.A28 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017
Audio Branding: Using Sound to Build Your Brand by Laurence Minsky; Colleen Fahey; Philip Kotler (Foreword by)"Audio Branding is a concise, practical guide on the influential world of audio branding - what it is, why it's important, and how it can be used to enhance a brand. Consider the familiar tune of a branded ringtone, the bubbly sounds of Skype, and even the chosen sound bite for a branded car unlocking as the driver presses the key. How do these choices tie into a wider brand identity? Which emotions do they spark, and most importantly, how do these choices enhance brand association with the consumer?Audio Branding delivers fascinating insights into this area of marketing, underpinned by practical step-by-step guidance and cutting-edge research to enhance brand loyalty through user experience. Written by authors who have contributed directly to the development of this field, the book contains an enlightening set of case studies, including companies such as Renault (a surprisingly emotional audio brand) Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau (a warm, energetic audio brand), and Michelin (a globally coherent audio brand). Covering issues such as the dominance of audio-enabled devices and the phenomenon of continuous partial attention, Audio Branding demonstrates how brands can infuse sound into so many different aspects of their identity, building in a subtle longevity of brand presence through daily user experience."
Call Number: HF5415.1255 .M56 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Brands with a Conscience: How to Build a Successful and Responsible Brand by Nicholas Ind (Editor); Sandra Horlings (Editor)"The definitive expert guide to ethical brand practice from the prestigious Medinge Group, Brands with a Conscience dissects the philosophies underpinning sustainable brands to arrive at a set of eight clear guiding attributes which can be used as the foundation of a strategy for responsible growth. These attributes span the public persona of an organization, the actions to take when things go wrong, the effort invested in developing relationships, the promotion of core values and balancing measures of success across economic, human, social and environmental factors. They are then used as the criteria to assess twelve carefully selected case studies, which include Dilmah Tea, H&M, Dr. Hauschka, Merci and the John Lewis Partnership, amongst other leading international brands. Because the potential to have bad practice unmasked or to have successes amplified online is greater than ever, it pays to adopt a strategy that builds customer loyalty and trust.Brands with a Conscience inspires via examples of brands which not only exhibit a genuine desire to operate ethically, but also have seen impressive success in terms of engagement with consumers, reputation, and return on investment. The book includes a range of practical tools to bring together the main concepts in an easy-to-adopt framework for building a brand strategy based upon real world experience. If you are a brand manager or marketing professional seeking a conscientious approach to consumer engagement, then Brands with a Conscience will support you every step of the way."
Call Number: HD60 .H675 2016 EB
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Digital Marketer by Eileen Brown; Betsy Aoki"Digital marketing is now essential to making products and services a success and digital marketers are more and more in demand. This book is your guide to becoming an efficient and effective digital marketer, covering the expertise and array of skills you will need; how to stay current and future-proof your career; useful digital marketing tools, channels, frameworks and procedures; how to measure campaign success, and how to take the next steps to advance your digital marketing career."
Call Number: HF5415 .B716 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2018-11-12
Digital Selling: How to Use Social Media and the Web to Generate Leads and Sell More by Grant Leboff"Sales and marketing functions are increasingly converging, with lead generation now frequently arising from digital promotional campaigns, opportunities for tried and tested consultative sales techniques diminishing in the face of scarce customer attention and availability, as well as a plethora of readily accessible comparative product information. To take part in this process, salespeople need to understand and interact with customers via multiple channels, participating in social media in collaboration with marketing to influence purchasing decisions and convert contacts to sales. Digital Selling makes sense of the new paradigms in which a salesperson now operates. It outlines the new strategies required to make the most of the plentiful opportunities that exist, and provides the practical advice salespeople need to use the social web effectively, generate leads and sell more.Packed with great advice for engaging with customers online and via social media, Digital Selling explains why embracing the social web is vital, how the sales role changes in a digital environment, the lead generation model in a digital world, how to build your online network and more. Readers will benefit from this straightforward and practical book from one of today's thought leaders on digital sales and marketing."
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .L426 2016 EB
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Do Good: Embracing Brand Citizenship to Fuel Both Purpose and Profit by Anne Bahr Thompson"Increasingly today, in every age group, consumers are committing to brands that show good citizenship--from fair employment practices, to social responsibility, to charitable giving. In fact, support of these generous and socially aware companies is so high that it is safe to say that good works and charitable giving are no longer optional for the company that aspires for financial success--they are necessary!Do Good documents the sea of change that has impacted the twenty-first-century marketplace more than even the most optimistic of business forecasters. Toms grew into a $600 million company by giving away 35 million pair of shoes. Patagonia's profits have climbed year after year even as it funnels heavy investments into sustainability. From CVS's destocking cigarettes to Chipotle's ethical sourcing, customers have shown with their wallets the types of businesses they will support and that they will quickly call out negligence.Buyers today demand more than half-hearted pledges from companies who are clearly just trying to show less profits and decrease their taxes. By implementing the five-step model for the new rules of business laid out in Do Good--Trust, Enrichment, Responsibility, Community, and Contribution--companies can take the necessary steps to embed social consciousness into their DNA, in turn capturing both markets and hearts."
Call Number: HD60 .T484 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
E-Commerce Website Optimization: Why 95% of Your Website Visitors Don't Buy, and What You Can Do About It by Dan Croxen-John; Johann van Tonder"For those running e-commerce websites there are three ways to increase sales: increasing the quantity of visitors; increasing the percentage of visitors who buy from the site; and increasing the amount that visitors spend when they buy. E-commerce Website Optimization goes beyond simply increasing traffic, helping readers to improve conversion rates, increase ROI from online marketing campaigns, and generate higher levels of repeat business. It brings together usability, analytics and persuasion to offer a straightforward and detailed 5-step methodology of how to use the tools and techniques of Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO) to increase the e-commerce value of websites. Grounded in the latest theory and research, this will help readers to be well-informed and confident to make the right choices.Backed up with a range of invaluable case studies, E-commerce Website Optimization is perfect for those seeking to implement a data-driven ethos to their organization's e-commerce programme, based on market-tested and robust split-test methodology used across a range of commercial businesses. It supports all those responsible for online sales within an organization, be they the Chief Digital Officer, Head of Online Sales or E-commerce; or entrepreneurs and owners of small businesses deriving a substantial proportion of revenue from e-commerce."
Call Number: HF5548.32 .C768 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-01-28
Essentials of Advertising by Robert Cluley"As a subject, advertising affects us all - it surrounds us every day. Yet there is a great deal of variety in the way advertising is interpreted, and practitioners and academics from different backgrounds and disciplines study advertising in vastly different ways. For example, psychologists try to understand what happens to our brains when we see adverts, while economists try to understand whether money spent on advertising is worth it. Essentials of Advertising is designed to help students navigate their way through the field of advertising. It will introduce readers to the key concepts of advertising as they have been developed not only by psychologists and economists, but also by sociologists, historians, marketers and media researchers - not to mention advertising practitioners themselves. Meticulously researched, Essentials of Advertising will allow readers to understand not just what different research traditions say about advertising, but why they say it. This will help students develop key analytic skills to critically evaluate and exploit existing research on advertising, based on a greater understanding of where it comes from. This allows them to develop greater perception and awareness professionally, and acts as a springboard for students to jump into the wider area of advertising studies and to develop their careers according to their interests. Online resources include lecture slides, self-test questions, group activities, figures, and case studies for specific chapters, plus web links to industry body research and relevant further reading."
Call Number: HF5821 .C558 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
How Cool Brands Stay Hot: Branding to Generations Y and Z by Mattias Behrer; Joeri Van den Bergh"How Cool Brands Stay Hot analyses Generations Y and Z, the most marketing savvy and advertising-critical generations yet. It reveals how millennials think, feel and behave, offering proven strategies to market to these groups more effectively and remain a relevant, appealing brand. Featuring interviews with global marketing executives of successful brands such as the BBC, Converse, Coca-Cola, eBay and MasterCard along with case studies from companies including H&M, MTV and Diesel, it guides readers in developing the right strategies to leave a lasting business impact.Previous editions of How Cool Brands Stay Hot have won the prestigious 2012 Berry-AMA Book Prize for the best book in marketing and the 2011 Expert Marketing Magazine's Marketing Book of the Year award. This fully revised 3rd edition of How Cool Brands Stay Hot goes beyond the discussion of Generation Y, expanding its reach with an entirely new chapter on Generation Z and a detailed analysis of the impact that issues such as recession, social media and mobile marketing have had on these consumers. Based on new figures, case studies and interviews, it provides a fresh take on what remain critical issues for anyone hoping to market to those who come after Generation X."
Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 B47 2016 EB
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
How to Write Copy That Sells: The Step-by-step System for More Sales, to More Customers, More Often by Ray Edwards"Writing copy that sells without seeming “salesy” can be tough, but is an essential business skill. How To Write Copy That Sells is a step-by-step guide to writing fast, easy-to-read, effective copy. It's for everyone who needs to write copy that brings in cash – including copywriters, freelancers, and entrepreneurs. Inside, you'll find copywriting techniques for email marketing, web sites, social media, sales pages, ads, and direct mail. You'll also discover: The universal hidden structure behind all persuasive copy. How to avoid the most common copywriting mistakes. A simple technique for writing copy that's easy to read. How to write powerful short copy for social media. Sample headlines, bullet points, and openings – yours to “swipe” and use as your own! Tons of templates, examples, and checklists guaranteed to improve your copy....And much, much more! Writing Copy That Sells is your indispensable guide to creating fresh, fast, effective copy that generates sales like magic."
Call Number: HF5825 .E39 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
Identity Designed: The Definitive Guide to Visual Branding by David Airey"Ideal for students of design, independent designers, and entrepreneurs who want to expand their understanding of effective design in business, Identity Designed is the definitive guide to visual branding. Written by best-selling writer and renowned designer David Airey, Identity Designed formalizes the process and the benefits of brand identity design and includes a substantial collection of high-caliber projects from a variety of the world's most talented design studios. You'll see the history and importance of branding, a contemporary assessment of best practices, and how there's always more than one way to exceed client expectations. You'll also learn a range of methods for conducting research, defining strategy, generating ideas, developing touchpoints, implementing style guides, and futureproofing your designs. Each identity case study is followed by a recap of key points. The book includes projects by Lantern, Base, Pharus, OCD, Rice Creative, Foreign Policy, Underline Studio, Fedoriv, Freytag Anderson, Bedow, Robot Food, Together Design, Believe in, Jack Renwick Studio, ico Design, and Lundgren+Lindqvist. Identity Designed is a must-have, not only for designers, but also for entrepreneurs who want to improve their work with a greater understanding of how good design is good business."
Call Number: HF5415.1255 .A37 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Multimodal Metaphor and Metonymy in Advertising by Paula Pérez Sobrino"Metaphor and metonymy appeal to us because they evoke mental images in unique but still recognisable ways. The potential for figurative thought exists in everyone, and it pervades our everyday social interactions. In particular, advertising offers countless opportunities to explore the way in which people think creatively through metaphor and metonymy. The thorough analysis of a corpus of 210 authentic printed advertisements shows the central role of multimodal metaphor, metonymy, and their patterns of interaction, at the heart of advertising campaigns. This book is the first in-depth research monograph to bring together qualitative and quantitative evidence of metaphor-metonymy combinations in real multimodal discourse. It combines detailed case study analyses with corpus-based analysis and psycholinguistic enquiry to provide the reader with a prismatic approach to the topic of figurative language in multimodal advertising. Besides its theoretical contribution to the field of multimodal figurative language, this monograph has a wide number of practical applications due to its focus on advertising and the communicative impact of creative messages on consumers. This book will pave the way for further qualitative and quantitative research on the ways in which figurative language shapes multimodal discourse, and how it relates to our everyday creative thinking."
Call Number: P301.5.M48 P47 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-12-07
The Powers: Ten Factors for Building an Exponentially More Powerful Brand by Tony Wessling; Peter van Aartrijk"The Powers is an exploration of ten key factors to create and manage a strong, resonant brand in either the B2B or B2C space. Gone are the days when advertising gurus, research firms, and management consultants told a brand what to do and where to go. Today's top brands are built from the inside out, rooted in an authenticity that resonates deeply with employees, business partners, and customers. Through their use of vivid examples and real-life, in-the-trenches experience, Tony Wessling and Peter van Aartrijk make brand-building enjoyable, interesting, and engaging. Never before has branding been so succinctly broken down into essential components. Leaders and marketers who apply these concepts will find their own brands becoming exponentially more powerful and their destiny firmly under their control."
Call Number: HD69.B7 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2018-12-18
Selling Women's History: Packaging Feminism in Twentieth-Century American Popular Culture by Emily Westkaemper"Only in recent decades has the American academic profession taken women's history seriously. But the very concept of women's history has a much longer past, one that's intimately entwined with the development of American advertising and consumer culture. Selling Women's History reveals how, from the 1900s to the 1970s, popular culture helped teach Americans about the accomplishments of their foremothers, promoting an awareness of women's wide-ranging capabilities. On one hand, Emily Westkaemper examines how this was a marketing ploy, as Madison Avenue co-opted women's history to sell everything from Betsy Ross Red lipstick to Virginia Slims cigarettes. But she also shows how pioneering adwomen and female historians used consumer culture to publicize histories that were ignored elsewhere. Their feminist work challenged sexist assumptions about women's subordinate roles. Assessing a dazzling array of media, including soap operas, advertisements, films, magazines, calendars, and greeting cards, Selling Women's History offers a new perspective on how early- and mid-twentieth-century women saw themselves. Rather than presuming a drought of female agency between the first and second waves of American feminism, it reveals the subtle messages about women's empowerment that flooded the marketplace."
Call Number: HQ1410 .W47 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Understanding Digital Marketing: Marketing Strategies for Engaging the Digital Generation by Damian Ryan"The world of digital media is changing at a phenomenal pace. Constantly evolving technologies are transforming not just how we access our information but how we interact and communicate with one another on a global scale. Understanding Digital Marketing is a practical, no-nonsense guide to web-marketing, the rules of new media and researching the new generation of digital consumers. Clear, informative and entertaining, it covers key topics such as search marketing, social media, Google, mobile marketing, affiliate marketing, email marketing, performance marketing, customer engagement and digital marketing strategies. One of the best-selling books in the industry, this fourth edition of Understanding Digital Marketing has been thoroughly revised with more information, fresh examples and case studies, and the latest developments in the industry. Complete with in-depth insider accounts of digital marketing successes from internationally recognised brands and digital marketing campaigns, it is essential reading for both practitioners and students alike. Understanding Digital Marketing is now required reading for more than 100 universities and colleges, including Harvard University and the Chartered Institute of Marketing. Online resources include bonus chapters, contributor views, and case studies on Kwik Fit, Battersea Dogs Home and Yves Saint Laurent."
OmniFile contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database, with the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications. Click here for support.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date. Click here for support.
Full text collection of over 150 scholarly, peer reviewed journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from nearly 50 university presses and scholarly societies. Dates vary from the 1920’s to the present, with most title coverage beginning in the 1990’s and 2000’s. Click here for support.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of other disciplines. Coverage is from 1806 to the present. Click here for support.
Provides full text access to more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage is from 1985 to the present. Click here for support.
Looking for specific articles on a topic? Visit our Electronic Databases page and search the resources listed there.