Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will
Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by Linda E. E. Swayne; Mark A. Dodds (Editor)"This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament. Together, these four volumes offer a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the state of sports management and marketing today, providing an invaluable print or online resource for student researchers."
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Key Concepts in Sport Management by Trevor Slack; Terri Byers; Milena Parent"Sharp, clear and relevant this book meets the needs of those studying and researching within the growing discipline of sport management. The intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a concise overview of the key concepts in the field guiding you through the important debates, sources and research methods in the management and delivery of sport."
Call Number: GV713 .B94 2012 EB
Publication Date: 2012-09-20
Sports Marketing 2016-2017 by Richard K. Miller & Associates"Sports Marketing 2016-2017 is a comprehensive analysis of spectator sports, sports media, professional sports franchises, and sports marketing. First published in 1997, this is RKMA's 17th assessment of the U.S. sports business and our most comprehensive assessment of the sports business ever. The handbook provides with the most recent statistics and data available. This assessment of the $400 billion sports marketplace includes 15 categories of spectator sports, 32 marquee sports events, 116 major league sports franchises, advertising, sports participation, sporting goods, sports-related travel, golf, tennis, collegiate sports, women's professional sports, and the minor leagues. Sports marketing topics include sports broadcasting and advertising, periodicals, sports online, mobile media, licensing, sponsorships, and athlete endorsements."
Publication Date: 2016
Leisure Business Market Research Handbook 2017-2018 by Richard K. Miller & Associates"The annual U.S. leisure market is assessed at $2.5 trillion. Fueled predominantly by Baby Boomer spending, significant growth in the leisure marketplace is expected for the foreseeable future. Leisure Business Market Research Handbook 2017-2018 presents an in-depth assessment of leisure, examining the market within the scope of such topics as entertainment & amusement, cultural & creative activities, hobbies, lifestyle activities, and sports & recreation. In all, 95 unique segments of leisure are assessed, covering virtually every activity where consumers spend their non-working time and discretionary income. Most chapters provide statistics on participation and expenditures, market characteristics and trends, demographics, and a list of resources for further research. This resource is designed to be of use to several business sectors. Those in leisure businesses will benefit from the in-depth analyses of leisure segments competing for consumers'time and discretionary spending. For the travel and tourism sector, the handbook suggests ways to match consumers'leisure interests with attractions and activities. Retailers and service providers will identify underserved and undermarketed segments in this marketplace of literally hundreds of niches. Advertisers will gain insight on how to reach consumers through their passion for their favorite leisure activities and hobbies."
Publication Date: 2017
Alternative Models of Sports Development in America: Solutions to a Crisis in Education and Public Health by B. David Ridpath; Tom Farrey (Foreword by)"In the United States, the entanglement of sports and education has persisted for over a century. Multimillion-dollar high school football stadiums, college coaches whose salaries are many times those of their institutions'presidents, psychological and educational tolls on student-athletes, and high-profile academic scandals are just symptoms of a system that has come under increasing fire. Institutions large and small face persistent quandaries: which do they value more, academic integrity or athletic success? Which takes precedence: prioritizing elite teams and athletes, or making it possible for all students to participate in sports? How do we create opportunities for academic—not just athletic—development for players? In Alternative Models of Sports Development in America, B. David Ridpath—a leading sports development researcher who has studied both the US system and the European club model—offers clear steps toward creating a new status quo. He lays out four possible alternative models that draw various elements from academic, athletic, and European approaches. His proposals will help increase access of all young people to the benefits of sports and exercise, allow athletes to also thrive as students, and improve competitiveness. The result is a book that will resonate with sports development professionals, academic administrators, and parents."
Call Number: GV223 .R54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Unwinding Madness: What Went Wrong with College Sportsand How to Fix It by Gerald Gurney; Donna A. Lopiano; Andrew Zimbalist"A critical look at the tension between the larger role of the university and the commercialization of college sportsUnwinding Madness is the most comprehensive examination to date of how the NCAA has lost its way in the governance of intercollegiate athleticsand why it is incapable of achieving reform and must be replaced. The NCAA has placed commercial success above its responsibilities to protect the academic primacy, health and well-being of college athletes and fallen into an educational, ethical, and economic crisis.As long as intercollegiate athletics reside in the higher education environment, these programs must be academically compatible with their larger institutions, subordinate to their educational mission, and defensible from a not-for-profit organizational standpoint. The issue has never been a matter of whether intercollegiate athletics belongs in higher education as an extracurricular offering. Rather, the perennial challenge has been how these programs have been governed and conducted.The authors propose detailed solutions, starting with the creation of a new national governance organization to replace the NCAA. At the college level, these proposals will not diminish the revenue production capacity of sports programs but will restore academic integrity to the enterprise, provide fairer treatment of college athletes with better health protections, and restore the rights and freedoms of athletes, which have been taken away by a professionalized athletics mentality that controls the cost of its athlete labor force and overpays coaches and athletic directors.Unwinding Madness recognizes that there is no easy fix to the problems now facing college athletics. But the book does offer common sense, doable solutions that respect the rights of athletes, protects their health and well-being while delivering on the promise of a bona fide educational degree program."
Call Number: GV351 .G87 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Ethical Leadership in Sport: What's Your ENDgame? by Pippa Grange"This is a practical guide on how to navigate the complexities of ethical leadership in sport, while recognizing the increasing pressure placed on individuals and organizations to win and be exemplary role models. While you and most leaders know right from wrong, giving voice to your values isn't always straightforward. This book explores how to approach the ethical decisions, dilemmas, and valuebased conflicts that emerge for leaders in sports organizations in order to make good choices, drive a sound culture, and reduce the risk of going awry. The approach in this book is two-fold: Coaching to help you learn how to make and act on an ethical decision when faced with a dilemma, and an exploration of those deep personal values and beliefs about sport that underpin your actions. This book considers ethics in the context of modern sport and highlights the classic ethical traps and cultural slippery slopes to avoid using case studies and examples."
Publication Date: 2014-04-25
Organizational Culture and Identity: Sport, Symbols and Success by Aaron Smith; Bob K. Stewart; Gervase A. Haimes"This book reveals the development, expression and potency of organizational culture and identity. With an emphasis on diagnosing culture and its underlying beliefs and assumptions, the book also shows how sport cultures can be reinvented, rebuilt and redesigned so that they create a productive, high performance organizational environment. This book is for readers who want to destroy the tyranny of tradition that keeps organizations in the managerial dark-ages, and transform clubs, associations, agencies and businesses into powerful collective identities."
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Sport Matters: Leadership, Power, and the Quest for Respect in Sports by Kenneth L. Shropshire"Donald Sterling. Ray Rice. The Washington Redskins. The Miami Dolphins. NCAA Athletes.These names, among countless others, have blanketed the headlines as the media has brought global attention to several recent sports controversies. Now, Kenneth L. Shropshire, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics and Director of the Wharton Sports Business Initiative, uses these stories as a prism for exploring the leadership challenges facing team owners, management, players, and fans.In Sport Matters: Leadership, Power, and the Quest for Respect in Sports, Shropshire examines the need for diversity, inclusion, respect, and equality in sports, focusing on the need for leadership to embrace and deliver these principles in a real and tangible way within the sports industry. He also introduces the Sports Power Matrix, a framework for understanding power within the sports industry.Sport Matters addresses what the Donald Sterling drama can teach us about race and the need for inclusion at the ownership level; the lessons learned from the NFL and Ray Rice case; the Washington Redskins name and the economics of change; what the Miami Dolphins matter tells us about respect in the workplace and beyond; and compensation and equality in'amateur'sports.Sport Matters, filled with disturbing revelations and uncomfortable truths, also provides hope, revealing how obstacles to achieving an ideal culture of equality and respect within the sports industry can be removed. Shropshire argues that while change matters, continued emphasis on diversity, inclusion and respect is needed to create true progress."
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Practical Ethics in Sport Management by Angela Lumpkin; Sharon Kay Stoll"Leaders and managers throughout the sporting world face many ethical challenges on a daily basis. This book addresses such issues as violence in sports, racial and gender equity, performance-enhancing drugs, academics, and commercialization. It provides specific examples from real-world sports situations and reflective questions to encourage students to think critically. It also explores practical application ethics at all competitive levels, giving future athletic professionals the tools needed to navigate the tricky waters of ethics in sport."
Call Number: GV713 .L86 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-18
Sports and Understanding Organizations by Daniel J. Svyantek"This volume provides readers with a rich source of sports metaphors for understanding organization and management processes and how to use metaphors to become more effective leaders and managers within their organizations. Each chapter discusses how sports may be used to help improved organizational productivity and effectiveness. These chapters each strive to present new ways of understanding organizational constructs using sports as a metaphor. It is this volume's hope that these chapters may provide insight into the important role sports plays in understanding organizations across the world. Organizational science profits from taking new perspectives that may be found when sports is used as a lens for this study."
Call Number: GV713 .S677845 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Mascot Nation: The Controversy Over Native American Representations in Sports by Andrew C. Billings; Jason Edward Black"The issue of Native American mascots in sports raises passions but also a raft of often-unasked questions. Which voices get a hearing in an argument? What meanings do we ascribe to mascots? Who do these Indians and warriors really represent? Andrew C. Billings and Jason Edward Black go beyond the media bluster to reassess the mascot controversy. Their multi-dimensional study delves into the textual, visual, and ritualistic and performative aspects of sports mascots. Their original research, meanwhile, surveys sports fans themselves on their thoughts when a specific mascot faces censure. The result is a book that merges critical-cultural analysis with qualitative data to offer an innovative approach to understanding the camps and fault lines on each side of the issue, the stakes in mascot debates, whether common ground can exist and, if so, how we might find it."
Call Number: GV714.5 .B55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Sports Business Unplugged: Leadership Challenges From the World of Sports by Rick Burton; Norm O'Reilly"For more than seven years, the incisive commentary of Burton and O'Reilly has graced the pages of SportsBusiness Journal, the industry's leading trade journal. Now, fifty of their most recent columns are collected in one volume, providing thoughtful and deeply knowledgeable insight into many of the industry's most contentious issues. Covering an era in sports that has experienced rapid change, the authors discuss such topics as gender equity, corporate sponsor-ship, collegiate athletics, diversity, and the future of sports. As two of the leading scholars in the business of sports, Burton and O'Reilly also draw upon years of experience to give both students and industry professionals a dual perspective on the role sports play in a healthy, thriving society."
Call Number: GV716 .B86 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-16 EB
Sport Business in Leading Economies by James J. Zhang (Editor); John Nauright (Editor); Roger H. Huang (Editor)"From a renowned group of international scholars, this new work examines how leading economic countries use sport business, particularly individual sports events (such as the Olympics or FIFA Men's or Women's World Cup) as well as participant sport, in comprehensive plans toward driving and furthering economic development, raising brand awareness (country as a brand), transforming lagging communities, and enhancing travel and tourism in the country. Comparative sport studies are fundamentally designed for cross-country and cross-cultural understanding, learning, and improvement. By recognizing the achievements, administrative procedures, and management practices of peer countries and using them as a mirror or referencing parameter, government agencies and sport organizations of a country may be able to identify areas that need improvements in their own administration and cultivate development and growth in the country's sport industry. Exploring how China, Japan, South Korea, Russia, the UK, Germany, the US, Canada, Brazil, South Africa, and Australia have all used sport as a catalytic agent, each chapter delves into the country's sports industry by looking at: recent history and stages of the industry; current state including scope, magnitude, structure, governance, policies, facilities, and programs; developmental characteristics, strength, and highlights; contemporary challenges and issues; and trends of development and advancement."
Call Number: GV716 .S5858 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2017-12-04
Circus Maximus: The Economic Gamble Behind Hosting the Olympics and the World Cup by Andrew Zimbalist"An updated and expanded analysis of the economic tensions behind the Olympics and the World Cup games.Andrew Zimbalist looks beyond the headlines of two of the world's most beloved sporting events: the Olympics and the World Cup.In the updated and expanded edition of his bestselling book, Circus Maximus: The Economic Gamble Behind Hosting the Olympics and the World Cup, Zimbalist tackles the bogus claim that cities chosen to host these high-profile sporting events experience an economic windfall. In this new edition he takes aim at the outrageous FIFA scandal, Boston's bid for the 2024 summer Olympics, and the criticism surrounding the 2015 Women's World Cup.Circus Maximus focuses on major cities, like London and Barcelona, that have previously hosted these sporting events, to provide context for cities like Tokyo and Rio de Janerio, which are currently bearing the weight of exploding expenses, corruption, and protests. Zimbalist offers a sobering and candid look at the Olympics and the World Cup from outside the echo chamber."
Call Number: GV721 .Z56 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Market Research Methods in the Sports Industry by Neven Serić; Jasenko Ljubica"Whether professional or amateur, sports businesses must develop their brand and image to meet the expectations of a diverse environment, consisting of fans, sponsors, and other stakeholders. The value and instruments of market research can provide the required resources for sports businesses to realize their plans. In Market Research in the Sports Industry, Jasenko Ljubica and Neven Seric provide a comprehensive elaboration of market research methods to be used by sports businesses. The book identifies and explains the most effective uses of market research, drawing upon real-life case studies. The application of the methods presented in this book, ranging from the simplest - monitoring the environment – to the most complex sampling methods, can significantly contribute to the development of sports businesses by increasing the number of members, sponsors, followers and fans. The book will be invaluable for researchers, educators and students of Sports Management and Marketing, and it will also prove useful to sporting professionals seeking to gain a competitive edge in the market."
Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more. Click here for support.
The Human Kinetics Library is built around a mission to increase the knowledge, enhance the performance and improve the health and fitness of all people around the globe through authoritative information about physical activity and sport. The platform features a growing collection of cross-searchable ebooks and videos from the world’s leading educational publisher for fitness, exercise, coaching and sport.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date. Click here for support.
OmniFile contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database, with the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications. Click here for support.
Full text collection of over 150 scholarly, peer reviewed journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences from nearly 50 university presses and scholarly societies. Dates vary from the 1920’s to the present, with most title coverage beginning in the 1990’s and 2000’s. Click here for support.
Provides full text access to more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage is from 1985 to the present. Click here for support.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of other disciplines. Coverage is from 1806 to the present. Click here for support.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States from 1878 to the present. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Click here for support.
Looking for specific articles on a topic? Visit our Electronic Databases page and search the resources listed there.