Electronic collection of over 1,000 reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Subjects cover all major fields including art, literature, history, social sciences, law, psychology, religion, philosophy, business, science, medicine and more.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States from 1878 to the present. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility by Nick Tolhurst; Manfred Pohl; Dirk Matten; Wayne VisserThe A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility is a unique publication and is the culmination of over a hundred of the world’s leading thinkers, opinion formers, academic and business people providing an easy-to-use guide to CSR: from general concepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, business ethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbon trading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid model and globalisation. In addition to definitions of the most important terms across the wide range of CSR associated topics, this book also covers all the most important codes and guidelines, such as the Equator Principles, the UN Global Compact and ISO standards, as well as providing background on organizations such as the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and Transparency International and profiles of CSR in particular industries and regions.
Call Number: HD60 .A225 2010 EB
Publication Date: 2010-06-28
Real Estate Concepts: A Handbook by Ernie Jowsey (Editor)Real Estate Concepts provides built environment students with an easy to use guide to the essential concepts they need to understand in order to succeed in their university courses and future professional careers. Key concepts are arranged, defined and explained by experts in the field to provide the student with a quick and reliable reference throughout their university studies.
Call Number: HD596 .R43 2014 EB
Publication Date: 2014-08-25
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by Drew D. JohnsonThe Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.
Call Number: HD2324 .E528 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017
The Handy Accounting Answer Book by Amber K. GrayEveryone needs to budget money and manage costs, whether for groceries and everyday purchases, rent or mortgage, education, retirement, or even a business. Like it or not, accounting infuses most everything in life. From credits, debits, and basic bookkeeping to getting the most out of tax deductions and from reading or creating a business' financial statement to better understanding accounting lingo.
The Ultimate Finance Book by Roger MasonFrom balance sheets and profit statements to cashflow, budgets and forecasts, The Ultimate Finance Book is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately.
Bridging Generations: Transitioning Family Wealth and Values for a Sustainable Legacy by Roy O. Williams; Amy A. CastoroWhy do 70% of family wealth transfers fail?It's a startling statistic. Years of blood, sweat and tears, passion and purpose poured into your endeavors. Instead of seeing those efforts bring value and benefit to the world and to future generations, more often than not what results is heartache, pain, and loss. It doesn't have to be this way! Bridging the Generations – Transitioning Family Wealth and Values for a Sustainable Legacy provides you with insight, strategies and compelling stories on how your wealth can be successfully passed on from one generation to the next with the family unity intact. You'll benefit from learning:· How true wealth is more than an impressive financial balance sheet· How to put the family center and front· Five pillars to create a successful wealth transfer and succession for your family· Real life stories of wealth transfers and successions done well and done poorly· Strategies you can apply now in your own transition planningThis is a book every successful leader who will transfer wealth, and every professional advisor, and those who stands to inherit significant wealth would benefit from reading.
Call Number: HB715 .W53 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
The Power of Passive Income: Make Your Money Work for You by Nightingale-Conant; Staff of Entrepreneur Media; Robert W. Bly (Foreword by)CREATE A LONG-TERM, NO-FUSS, WEALTH-BUILDING PLAN THAT WILL GET YOU OUT OF AN OFFICE CUBICLE FOR GOODEntrepreneur Media has teamed up with Nightingale-Conant, the world leader in self-development, to show you how to escape the 9-to-5 rat race, harness the power of passive income, and earn a steady stream of cash while living your best life. Whether you want to escape your corporate life and start a side hustle, spend more time with your family while your real es-tate investment rakes in the cash, or build a financial nest egg for the future with a passive investment stream, The Power of Passive Income will get you started on your journey.You will learn how to:Assess your personal skills, resources, and lifestyleIdentify passive income and time-for-money modelsGet out of your debt hole and into your nest eggManage your income and expectations for successGenerate a six-figure income with the right strategy for your goalsRedefine wealth based on what matters to youFree yourself from the need to work for someone else—and make yourself rich instead. Maximize your income, minimize your stress level, and get the absolute most from every moment with The Power of Passive Income.
Call Number: HC79.I55 P69 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Enterprise Security Risk Management: Concepts and Applications by Brian J. Allen; Rachelle LoyearAs a security professional, have you found that you and others in your company do not always define “security” the same way? Perhaps security interests and business interests have become misaligned. Brian Allen and Rachelle Loyear offer a new approach: Enterprise Security Risk Management (ESRM). By viewing security through a risk management lens, ESRM can help make you and your security program successful. In their long-awaited book, based on years of practical experience and research, Brian Allen and Rachelle Loyear show you step-by-step how Enterprise Security Risk Management (ESRM) applies fundamental risk principles to manage all security risks. Whether the risks are informational, cyber, physical security, asset management, or business continuity, all are included in the holistic, all-encompassing ESRM approach which will move you from task-based to risk-based security. How is ESRM familiar? As a security professional, you may already practice some of the components of ESRM. Many of the concepts – such as risk identification, risk transfer and acceptance, crisis management, and incident response – will be well known to you. How is ESRM new? While many of the principles are familiar, the authors have identified few organizations that apply them in the comprehensive, holistic way that ESRM represents – and even fewer that communicate these principles effectively to key decision-makers. How is ESRM practical? ESRM offers you a straightforward, realistic, actionable approach to deal effectively with all the distinct types of security risks facing you as a security practitioner. ESRM is performed in a life cycle of risk management including: Asset assessment and prioritization. Risk assessment and prioritization. Risk treatment (mitigation). Continuous improvement. Throughout Enterprise Security Risk Management: Concepts and Applications, the authors give you the tools and materials that will help you advance you in the security field, no matter if you are a student, a newcomer, or a seasoned professional. Included are realistic case studies, questions to help you assess your own security program, thought-provoking discussion questions, useful figures and tables, and references for your further reading. By redefining how everyone thinks about the role of security in the enterprise, your security organization can focus on working in partnership with business leaders and other key stakeholders to identify and mitigate security risks. As you begin to use ESRM, following the instructions in this book, you will experience greater personal and professional satisfaction as a security professional – and you'll become a recognized and trusted partner in the business-critical effort of protecting your enterprise and all its assets.
Call Number: HD61 .A454 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Mastering the Art of Commercial Real Estate Investing: How to Successfully Build Wealth & Grow Passive Income From Your Rental Properties by Doug MarshallMastering the Art of Commercial Real Estate Investing is a comprehensive guide about the time-proven principles and common-sense practices for successfully investing in real estate. Do you want to supplement your current income by investing in commercial real estate? Better yet, would you like to someday quit your day job and devote your energies exclusively to your rental properties? With over 35 years of commercial real estate experience, including a decade of personally investing in rental properties, real estate finance and investment expert Doug Marshall has explored every aspect of the commercial real estate process. Now, he's sharing his knowledge to show readers how to add to or even replace their current income with commercial real estate investments. Mastering the Art of Commercial Real Estates is for both those who are new to investing and those who may need a little help learning investing's time-proven principles, showing readers how to:Tap into the six immutable laws of commercial real estate investing to build wealth and grow income fastFind the best possible loan for their property to optimize the property's cash flow Best manage their property to reduce risks and remove pitfalls to keep their investing profitable When to buy, and when NOT to buy their next rental property, and much, much more! If you like easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions coupled with solid advice and insight, then you'll love Doug Marshall's life-changing, wealth-growing guide to make real estate work for you.
Call Number: HD1382.5 .M283 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2018-12-18
Retirement: Issues, Benefits and Developments by Thomas M. Osborne (Editor)Strengthening the U.S. retirement system to be more accessible and financially sound is important to ensuring that all Americans can retire with dignity and security, and to managing the fiscal exposures to the federal government from various retirement-related programs. Currently, the U.S. retirement system, and many of the workers and retirees it was designed to help, face major challenges. Chapter 1 discusses (1) the fiscal risks and other challenges facing the U.S. retirement system, and (2) the need to re-evaluate our nation's approach to financing retirement. Chapters 2 and 3 discuss the Social Security full retirement age. Chapter 4 provides information on the benefits and disadvantages of alternate price indexes for measuring the cost of living for older Americans. Chapter 5 examines (1) how much in retirement savings is transferred to states as unclaimed property and what happens to those savings once transferred and (2) the steps IRS and DOL have taken to oversee these transfers and what improvements are needed. Chapter 6 discusses the availability of enhanced retirement benefits for federal law enforcement officers (LEOs). Chapters 7 and 8 focus on the Railroad Retirement Board (RRB), an independent federal agency, which administers retirement, survivor, disability, unemployment, and sickness insurance for railroad workers and their families. Chapters 9 and 10 provide information on the military retirement system.
Call Number: HD7105 .R485 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2019-07-10
The Memo: Five Rules for Your Economic Liberation by John Hope Bryant; Jim Clifton (Foreword by)True power in this world comes from economic independence, but too many people have too much month left at the end of their money. John Hope Bryant, founder and CEO of Operation HOPE, illuminates the path toward liberation that is hiding in plain sight. His message is simple: the supermajority of people who live in poverty, whom Bryant calls the invisible class, as well as millions in the struggling middle class, haven't gotten “the memo”—until now. Building on his personal experience of rising up from economically disadvantaged circumstances and his work with Operation HOPE, Bryant teaches readers five rules that lay the foundation for achieving financial freedom. He emphasizes the inseparable connection between “inner capital” (mindset, relationships, knowledge, and spirit) and “outer capital” (financial wealth and property). “If you have inner capital,” Bryant writes, “you can never be truly poor. If you lack inner capital, all the money in the world cannot set you free.” Bryant gives readers tools for empowerment by covering everything from achieving basic financial literacy to investing in positive relationships and approaching wealth with a completely new attitude. He makes this bold and controversial claim: “Once you have satisfied your basic sustenance needs—food, water, health, and a roof over your head—poverty has more to do with your head than your wallet.” Bryant wants to restore readers'“silver rights,” giving them the ability to succeed and prosper no matter what very real roadblocks society puts in their way. We have more power than we realize, if only we can recognize and claim it. “We are our first capital,” Bryant writes. “We are the CEOs of our own lives.”
Call Number: HG179 .B7933 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-09-18
Why Smart People Make Dumb Mistakes with Their Money by Kerry JohnsonWhy do investors constantly chase returns? Why do they buy mediocre investments that underperform the indexes? Why do they leave their money in investments that lose money yet are unwilling to sell until they increase in value? If you can understand your own behavior with money, you will become a much better investor and earn returns that will last your whole life. Now Kerry Johnson explains why investors (possibly your clients) make such poor decisions with their money. You will learn: • How overconfidence bias creates poor investment decisions. • How the endowment effect stops you from selling bad investments. • How sunk cost fallacy causes you to own investments until they are worthless. • How status quo bias makes change more difficult. • How framing and anchoring motivates you to spend more. • The seven steps in picking an outstanding financial advisor. • The five critical concepts in creating a successful portfolio. Kerry L. Johnson, MBA, Ph.D., America's Business Psychologist, is a bestselling author and internationally sought after speaker with an upbeat, entertaining style, much like his writing. He travels 8,000 miles each week speaking around the world, and also heads a personal coaching company, Peak Performance Coaching.
Call Number: HG179 .J646 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Streams of Income: Living the Multiple Income Streams Dream by Ryan RegerStreams of Income is a guide to making the ideal day an everyday occurrence by building multiple streams of income. Multiple streams of income might sound nice, but is it actually possible? YES! Anyone can build a business that creates multiple streams to supplement income or maybe even provides a way to leave their current job. In Streams of Income, online business coach Ryan Reger unpacks the three main online business models and helps readers determine which one is the best fit for them. He also provides the resources readers need to take action and even goes into discovering the “why” for starting an online business. Whether the goal is to spend more time with family, be able to give more to important causes, or saving for kids'college or retirement, Ryan gives readers the tools they need to reach their goals and live the multiple income streams dream.
Call Number: HG179 .R37 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2019
Playing the Game: Create Your Legacy and Preserve Your Estate for Future Generations by Paul RemackPersonal wealth isn't the only purpose of hard work and investment; it's also important to be able to pass wealth on to one's children and grandchildren. Wealth transfer and distribution is a game, and if played poorly—or if it is not realized a game is being played—one's fortune can be eaten away by a combination of poor investments and unfair taxation. Written by a financial advisor with decades of experience, Playing the Game prepares people for the game of Wealth Transfer and Distribution, enabling them to pass on their fortune intact so that future generations may enjoy it.
Call Number: HG179 .R46 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017
The Ethical Investor's Handbook: How to Grow Your Money Without Wrecking the Earth by Morten StrangeGlobal warming, overpopulation, the biodiversity crisis... the world we live in is in a state of emergency. This is not just an ecological problem; it is an economic problem as well. The state of the natural world impacts – and is impacted by – human society. Our actions have long-term consequences, so we must be wise in the choices we make, not least in the companies/practices we support through our investment decisions. In The Ethical Investor's Handbook, author Morten Strange connects the dots, to show how economics and finance play a direct role in perpetuating this crisis. What can we as individual investors do to avoid wrecking the Earth while growing our wealth? How can we navigate the capital allocation space without compromising our ethical values? It can be done – some of the Big Boys have done it – and this invaluable new book shows us how. Delving into topics such as alternative energy sources, conservation and natural capital, The Ethical Investor's Handbook offers practical advice on how to build a sustainable green portfolio that reaps handsome returns. There are pitfalls and stranded assets to avoid, but also new opportunities if you know where to find them. Do-gooders, with the right understanding of the issues at hand, can make a good buck!
Call Number: HG179 .S77 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2019-07-07
Money Matters for Financial Freedom: The Fast Path to Abundance in Life and Business by David Shippy; Leslie ShippyMoney Matters for Financial Freedom provides a roadmap for achieving financial freedom in less than five years!David and Leslie Shippy went from a middle-class life to financial freedom in three short years. They were able to replace both of their multiple six-figure incomes and walk away from corporate America. Their first three apartment investments tripled their investors'money. They have since gone on to purchase and manage a portfolio of apartments that consists of over 3000 units and is worth over $300 million. Money Matters for Financial Freedom reveals the principles they used to do so.David and Leslie's detailed guide provides specific examples and skills that shift readers'thinking from a middle-class mindset to a financially free millionaire mindset. It outlines specific techniques and leadership skills necessary for running a multimillion-dollar business, along with step-by-step examples of how to manage money, create multiple business streams of income, and enable financial freedom!
Call Number: HG179 .S4675 2019 EB
Publication Date: 2019
Retirement Savings Policy: Past, Present, and Future by Michael P. BarryMike brings to this work his comprehensive experience and consummate technical talent in a beautifully readable book. A treasure. --Frank Cummings, Former Adjunct Lecturer in Law at UVA Law School, Columbia Law School, NYU Law School, and ALI-ABA Retirement Savings Policy reviews the basic policies that govern retirement savings plans, and their real world application, focusing on the key issues of finance, taxation, fiduciary conduct, and employee choice. The discussion is framed around the three fundamental challenges confronting employers and employees today – the pension legacy, the 401(k) revolution, and the pressure, from policymakers, regulators, opinion leaders, and individuals, for changes that will put retirement security within reach of all Americans. With more than 40 years'experience in the field, Michael P. Barry provides both a wealth of practical detail – best practices and concrete solutions – and a broad framework for understanding the issues surrounding retirement plans and strategies. The result is a comprehensive introduction to the forces that drive sponsor, participant, and policymaker decision-making. This is the perfect book for benefits and financial professionals who want a better understanding of the basic rules that govern retirement plan administration but also serves those interested in truly understanding the nuances and issues surrounding retirement plans and policies. The approach is practical, focusing on how US retirement plans actually work, how they are taxed (and not taxed), how they are regulated. But it is also conceptual, devoting considerable attention to an understanding of why these plans work the way they do. Why regulators and policymakers are so focused on a handful of issues – expanding coverage, reducing fees, fairness. And, at the highest level, what are the problems that we are trying to solve. As such, much of what we discuss will be of interest to a more general reader, who wants a realistic understanding of what is really at stake in current retirement policy debates.
Call Number: HG181 .B337 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2018-09-10
Credit Repair: Make a Plan, Improve Your Credit, Avoid Scams by Amy Loftsgordon; Cara O'Neill O'NeillBad credit can get better A bad credit report can prevent you from getting a mortgage, car loan, credit card, apartment or even a job. The sensible strategies in Credit Repair help you take control of your finances, clean up your credit report and rebuild your credit. Learn how to: prioritize debts and create a budget reduce debts and cut expenses negotiate with creditors correct credit report errors and remove old information add positive information to your credit report adopt strategies to rebuild your credit, and avoid identity theft and credit repair scams. Updates to the 13th edition of Credit Repair include the latest student loan repayment programs, new credit-building strategies, changes to the credit scoring of tax liens, medical debt, and civil judgments, identity theft reporting developments, and more.
Call Number: HG3756.U54 L46 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-10-30
Big Money Thinks Small: Biases, Blind Spots, and Smarter Investing by Joel TillinghastMarket mistakes to avoid: “Written for investors at all levels…[a] practical, no-nonsense guide.”—Publishers Weekly One of Money Week's Five Best Books of the Year Investors are tempted daily by misleading or incomplete information. They may make a lucky bet, realize a sizable profit, and find themselves full of confidence. Their next high-stakes gamble might backfire, not only hitting them in the balance sheet but also taking a mental and emotional toll. Even veteran investors can be caught off guard: a news item may suddenly cause havoc for an industry they've invested in; crowd mentality among fellow investors may skew the market; a CEO may turn out to be unprepared to effectively guide a company. How can one stay focused in such a volatile world? If you can't trust your past successes to plan and predict, how can you avoid risky situations in the future? Patience and methodical planning will pay far greater dividends than flashy investments. In Big Money Thinks Small, veteran fund manager Joel Tillinghast shows investors how to avoid making these mistakes. He offers a set of simple but crucial steps to successful investing, including: · Know yourself, how you arrive at decisions, and how you might be susceptible to self-deception · Make decisions based on your own expertise, and do not invest in what you don't understand · Select only trustworthy and capable colleagues and collaborators · Learn how to identify and avoid investments with inherent flaws · Always search for bargains, and never forget that the first responsibility of an investor is to identify mispriced stocks
Call Number: HG4515 .T55 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-08-15
Invest Like You Give a Damn: Make Money, Change the World, Sleep Well at Night by Marc de Sousa-ShieldsIt's time to make money and give a damn You give a damn, right? You want your money to do good, but your pension is riddled with oil and defense companies. Besides, investing is a pain in the ass. It's tedious, and most sustainable and responsible investing books are as much fun as a root canal. You're fighting the urge to bury your head in the sand. What to do? There is a better way. Invest Like You Give a Damn is a different kind of investment book. It tells real life stories of people just like you. People who give a damn but who have stomped the devil of inertia and chosen to align their money with their values. Coverage includes: Why you need to give a damn about your investments Engaging investor stories to guide financial planning and investment decisions A ground-breaking financial and socially responsible investing asset allocation tool for profit and sustainability impact maximization Money makeover profiles How-to investing from one-click to deep-dive portfolio building Authored by a leading socially responsible investing expert and replete with humor and irreverence, Invest Like You Give a Damn is for everyone from college graduates waiting tables, to mid-life generation Xers, to baby boomers who want to live their ideals. Get it, read it, give a damn! Marc de Sousa-Shields is co-founder of the Social Investment Organization (SIO), a UN and World Bank advisor, and contributor to online corporate sustainability magazines including Triple Pundit and Sustainable Brands. He's worked in eighty countries, blogs at The Sustainable Century, and when not on the road, he lives in Mexico.
Call Number: HG4515.13 .D47 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2017-11-13
Rational Investing: The Subtleties of Asset Management by Hugues Langlois; Jacques LussierMany investors believe that success in investing is either luck or clairvoyance. In Rational Investing, finance professor Hugues Langlois and asset manager Jacques Lussier present the current state of asset management and clarify the conundrum of luck versus skill. The core of Rational Investing is a framework for smart investing built around three performance drivers: balancing exposure to risk factors, efficiently diversifying bad luck, and taking advantage of relative mispricings in financial markets. With clear examples from model multi-asset-class portfolios, Langlois and Lussier show how to implement performance drivers like institutional investors with access to extensive resources, as well as nonprofessional investors who are constrained to small-scale transactions. There are few investment products, whether traditional or alternative, discretionary or systematic, fundamental or quantitative, whose performance cannot be analyzed through this framework. Langlois and Lussier illuminate the structure of financial markets and the mechanics of sustainable investing so any investor can become a rational player, from the nonprofessional investor with a basic knowledge of statistics all the way to seasoned investment professionals wishing to challenge their understanding of the asset management industry.
Call Number: HG4529.5 .L366 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Morals and Markets: The Development of Life Insurance in the United States by Viviana A. Rotm ZelizerLife insurance—the promise of an insurer to pay a sum upon a person's death in exchange for a regular premium—is a bizarre enterprise. How can we monetize human life? Should we? What statistics do we use, what assumptions do we make, and what behavioral factors do we consider? First published in 1979, Morals and Markets Is a pathbreaking study exploring the development of life insurance in the United States. Viviana A. Rotman Zelizer combines economic history and a sociological perspective to advance a novel interpretation of the life insurance industry. The book pioneered a cultural approach to the analysis of morally controversial markets.Zelizer begins in the mid-nineteenth century with the rise of the life insurance industry, a contentious chapter in the history of American business. Life insurance was stigmatized at first, denounced in newspapers and condemned by religious leaders as an immoral and sacrilegious gamble on human life. Over time, the business became a widely praised arrangement to secure a family's future. How did life insurance overcome cultural barriers? As Zelizer shows, the evolution of the industry in the United States matched evolving attitudes toward death, money, family relations, property, and personal legacy.
Call Number: HG8951 .Z44 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
How Do I Get There from Here?: Planning for Retirement When the Old Rules No Longer Apply by George H. SchofieldNot long ago everyone knew what the word retirement meant--retire at age 65 after 40 years at the same job and coast through your golden years courtesy of a comfortable nest egg. But now, age expectancy is higher, savings are slimmer, and people change jobs more frequently. Clinging to this outdated concept of retirement only gets you a room in your kids'house.Your retirement is going to require an incremental approach to planning--and you must begin now. This requires conscious engagement, diverse interests, and the ability to adapt. No matter how far or close you think you are to retirement, How Do I Get There from Here? is your one-stop guide to help you plot your direction for the coming decades. Readers will first be directed how to review all their assets--both tangible and intangible--so they can get an honest assessment of where they are right now. Then a journey through self-reflective questions and exercises will walk you through imagining your future, identifying skills you'll need, and learning how to prepare for inevitable twists and turns along the way.Stop clinging to an ancient and stereotypical idea of retirement. Decades of nonstop leisure is not only unreachable for most, it's not even truly desirable. Begin now charting the path for a unique, dynamic future you can look forward to!
Call Number: HQ1061 .S3434 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-08-17
Poised for Retirement: Moving From Anxiety to Zen by Louise NayerA unique narrative on a unique time offering solace to people nearing retirement. Poised for Retirement is not your parents'retirement guide, nor is it a financial planning guide; rather, it's the relatable story of an ordinary working woman reflecting on her life and career.Written with humor, compassion, and poignancy, Nayer's poetic prose is also inspirational. Easy to implement visualizations and breathing and sleep techniques are offered at the end of each chapter. Readers will gain insight and wisdom as the author learns to create a new and healthier life during this important transition.A timely topic for Baby Boomers (born between 1946 1962), representing twenty percent of the US population by 2029.Every month more than a quarter-million Americans turn sixty-five.Includes interviews with a diverse group of experts and laypeople who share their experiences as they face the same decision point in their lives.Louise Nayer, is a writer and educator. She was a professor of English and creative writing for over twenty-seven years at City College of San Francisco. Presently, she is part of the San Francisco Grotto Writer's Collective and teaches workshops at OLLI UC Berkeley. Her book Burned: A Memoir was an Oprah Great Read and won the 2011 Wisconsin Library Association Award. She lives in San Francisco, California.
Call Number: HQ1063.2.U6 N39 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Iras, 401(k)S & Other Retirement Plans: Strategies for Taking Your Money Out by Twila Slesnick; John C. SuttleSave your nest egg from the IRS About to retire? Over 70 and facing mandatory withdrawal rules? Just inherited money from a retirement plan? Whether you have an IRA, Roth IRA, 401(k), Keogh or other retirement plan, this book will help you make sense of the rules for taking your money out. Even more important, it will show you how to avoid the stiff taxes and penalties that lurk in the fine print. It covers: tax strategies before and after retirement required distributions and how much you need to take penalties for taking money out early and how to avoid them how to divide a plan at divorce what happens to your retirement plan after your death, and different rules for taking money out of an inherited plan The 14th edition is completely updated with the latest tables and methods for calculating required minimum distributions. It also covers the special tax benefits for conversions to Roth IRAs and explains how to recharacterize IRA or Roth contributions.
OmniFile contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database, with the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For most publications, full text coverage is provided from the first issue to within two to five years of the current date.
"The Balance makes personal finance easy to understand. It is home to experts who provide clear, practical advice on managing your money. Whether you’re looking to invest, buy a home, save for retirement, or achieve another financial goal, The Balance’s 20-year-strong library of more than 9,000 pieces of content will answer your questions with straightforward personal financial advice." (from website)
"With more than 60 insurance company members — including regional, super-regional, national and global carriers — we are #1 online source for insurance information. Our website, blog and social media channels offer a wealth of data-driven research studies, white papers, videos, articles, infographics and other resources solely dedicated to explaining insurance and enhancing knowledge.
Unlike other sources, our sole focus is creating and disseminating information to empower consumers. We neither lobby nor sell insurance. We provide objective, fact-based information about insurance – information that is rooted in economic and actuarial soundness." (from website)
"This website is a product of the Congressionally chartered Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission, which is made up of more than 20 Federal entities that are coordinating and collaborating to strengthen financial capability and increase access to financial services for all Americans." (from website)