Resources and strategies for researching assignments in women's studies/gender studies.
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014
Gender studies are considered interdisciplinary because gender can be studied through a number of lenses:
- Humanities: gender in literature and art, gender in religion, philosophy of gender
- Social Sciences: psychological and sociological aspects of gender, gender in business and politics, gender in history
- Sciences: gender issues in the sciences, gender in medicine, overlap between bioethics and gender
What does that mean when I'm researching?
- You'll need to consult a wide variety of resources.
- You'll probably need to start your research from one of the disciplines above, and find gender concerns within the resources on that subject.
- You may end up doing research in more than one discipline.
Use these resources to get topic ideas, find quick data, or learn the basics about a subject. To use them from off-campus, click the link, and then enter your Rosemont email and password when prompted.
- Credo Reference
Enter a term in Credo's main search box to search across a variety of scholarly reference titles at once. You can also browse through reference books by clicking Find A Book in the purple bar at the top of the page and then selecting from the left-hand list of subjects.
Citation information is provided for most articles found in Credo Reference, at the bottom of the page.
- The Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online version of The Encyclopedia Britannica.
- Handbook fo Social Psychology
Searchable online version of the 5th edition of this reference work. Topics covered include methodology and experimentation, gender, health, perception, identity, neuroscience, group relations, morality, social justice and more.
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world and including almost 300 entries, the Guidepresents a comprehensive historical survey of the literary theory's most important figures, schools, and movements. Browse by topic, name, or alphabetically by entry. Updated annually.
- Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles
Provides entries on over 1,000 author's lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links and bibliographies. Coverage is from the earliest times to the present.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Online version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States. Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States from 1878 to the present. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Provides full-text access to more than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to women and social movements. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, reviews, and teaching tools.
Use these resources to get topic ideas, find quick data, or learn the basics about a subject. They can be found in the Information Commons, the first room you enter in the Library.
Encyclopedia of women and world religions
Call Number: REFERENCE BL458 .E53 1999 V.1-2
Publication Date: 1999
Black women in America
Call Number: REFERENCE E185.86 .B542 2005 V.1-3
Publication Date: 2005
Routledge international encyclopedia of women
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1115 .R69 2000 V.1-4
Publication Date: 2000
Women in World History
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ1115 .W6 1999 V.1-17
Publication Date: 1999
Political and historical encyclopedia of women
Call Number: REFERENCE HQ 1236.5 .E85 E52 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Historical dictionary of women's education in the United States
Call Number: REFERENCE LC1752 .H57 1998
Publication Date: 1998
North American women artists of the twentieth century: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: REFERENCE N6503 .N67 1995
Publication Date: 1995
The Oxford companion to women's writing in the United States
Call Number: REFERENCE PS147 .O94 1995
Publication Date: 1995-01-05
Notable women scientists
Call Number: REFERENCE Q141 .N736 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Use these resources to learn about how to do better research.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega
Full-text database that covers many subjects, and contains a number of titles in women's and gender studies. NOTE: While this is a "full-text" database, we do NOT have full-text access to EVERYTHING in it. Some articles may be inaccessible, but you can order them through Interlibrary Loan.
Another database covering multiple subjects, with full text for many articles available through JSTOR. Includes a number of titles in women's and gender studies.
Primarily used for newspaper articles and legal research, but also has some full-text academic journal coverage. Click the Subject Areas tab in the left-hand sidebar to search publications in various subjects, or click the Legal tabs to search legal publications; both have coverage of gender-related issues.
- (EBSCO) Art Full Text
Indexes journals in the arts, including many titles concerning women and gender studies. Some full text is available.
- Cambridge Histories Online
The Cambridge Histories are over 260 volumes on American and British history, literary studies, philosophy, religious studies, and more. Some of the titles specifically concern women and gender issues, while others contain chapters on these subjects.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A full text database in international affairs, which can be useful for looking at gender issues in a worldwide political context.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Abstracts of articles in education. While in most cases full text is not directly available, you can check for the name of the journal in which an article was published in our Electronic Journal Locator
, or order the article through Interlibrary Loan
if we have no full text available.
At the FirstSearch screen, use “Jump to Advanced Search” and select “ERIC.”
- MLA International Biography
A major citation database in language and literature, with some full text and coverage in gender issues.
- Philosopher's Index
Major citation index in philosophy, with some full text and coverage in gender issues.
Citation database of articles in psychology, including coverage of gender issues and psychology of gender.
At the Ovid news page, click the "Continue" button. Then choose "PsycINFO" from the database list. Rosemont College Library has PsycINFO in print from v. 1, 1927 to v. 87, 2000.
Use these resources to find and gain access to resources that Kistler Library doesn't have, but other libraries do.
WorldCat is a "world catalog" of books and other materials available in libraries worldwide. If Rosemont doesn't have an item, you can use WorldCat to find other libraries where it may be available.
At the FirstSearch screen, use "Jump to Advanced Search" and select "WorldCat." After performing your search, you can click the "Libraries Worldwide" link below the item you want to see a list of nearby libraries where it's available.
- Area Libraries
This page on Kistler Library's website lists nearby libraries, with many of which we have reciprocal lending agreements.
The libraries listed under "SEPCHE Libraries Southeastern Pennsylvania Consortium of Higher Education" will lend materials freely to anyone with a Rosemont library card, and so will Villanova.
The libraries listed at the link marked "TCLC - Tri-State College Library Cooperative" will lend to Rosemont students with a letter of introduction, which can be obtained from the Information Desk at Kistler Library.
- Interlibrary Loan Forms
These forms can be used to request that books and journal articles held at other libraries be sent to Kistler Library. Books are temporarily loaned, while articles are generally copied and given to the requester to keep.
Fill the form out as completely as possible when requesting items. You must have a Library barcode on the back of your Rosemont ID to order ILL materials.
We're here to help! We're always happy to answer any questions you may have about the library or your research. Come see us at the Information Desk, or contact us in any of the following ways:
Regular Library Hours:
||8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
||1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
||1:00 PM - 10:00 PM
For hours during breaks and finals, see the Library Hours page.
Library hours are also always available on a taped message at x2957, and posted on the Library door.