Resources and strategies for doing research in the sciences.
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014
Pure or Applied Science?
The first step is determining where on this scale your assignment falls.
- Practical applications of theory
- Moves FAST
- Examples: technology, medicine, engineering
- Theoretical principles and ideas
- Moves slower
- Examples: mathematics, theory of biology/chemistry/physics
For research more in APPLIED science...
- Primarily articles
- Very recent (last 5 years)
- Studies/experiments, examples, real-world data
For research more in FUNDAMENTAL science...
- Books and articles
- Fairly recent (last 15-20 years)
- Concepts, knowledge, theories, ideas
Use these resources to get topic ideas, find quick data, or learn the basics about a subject. To use them from off-campus, click the link, and then enter your Rosemont email and password when prompted.
Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, covering all disciplines in science and engineering.
- Credo Reference
Enter a term in Credo's main search box to search across a variety of scholarly reference titles at once. You can also browse through reference books by clicking Find A Book in the purple bar at the top of the page and then selecting from the left-hand list of subjects.
Citation information is provided for most articles found in Credo Reference, at the bottom of the page.
Use these resources to get topic ideas, find quick data, or learn the basics about a subject. They can be found in the Information Commons, the first room you enter in the Library.
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics: a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data
Call Number: REFERENCE QD 65 .C72 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of bioethics
Call Number: REFERENCE QH332 .E52 2004 V.1-5
Publication Date: 2004
Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry
Call Number: REFERENCE QD4 .M33 1997 V.1-4
Publication Date: 1997
Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers
Call Number: REFERENCE T11 .S386 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Chambers dictionary of science and technology
Call Number: REFERENCE Q123 .C42 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Use these resources to learn about how to do better research.
These resources should be your main sources of articles. They contain premium content only available via Rosemont's paid subscription.
- Annual Reviews
Indexes critical reviews of current research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Full text available if the library subscribes to the title. Search for "annual review" in our Electronic Journal Locator
to determine for which reviews full text is available.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (formerly WilsonWeb)
Full-text database that covers many different subjects, including a number of titles in biology and chemistry. NOTE: While this is a "full-text" database, we do NOT have full-text access to EVERYTHING in it. Some articles may be inaccessible, but you can order them through Interlibrary Loan.
- Project Muse
Another database covering multiple subjects, with full text for many articles available through JSTOR. Includes a number of titles in mathematics, and a few titles in biology and chemistry.
Primarily used for newspaper articles and legal research, but also has some full-text academic journal coverage. Click the Subject Areas tab in the left-hand sidebar to search publications in environmental studies and medicine.
Provides abstracts and some full text in medicine, which includes topics relating to biology, chemistry, and environmental science..
At the FirstSearch screen, use “Jump to Advanced Search” and select “MEDLINE.”
These resources can be used to supplement the articles you've found using the resources above.
- PubMed Central
Freely available database of biomedical and life sciences journals, with free full text available in some cases.
- Public Library of Science
Gateway to open access journals in the fields of medicine, biology and genetics.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Searchable collection of 3500 scholarly and scientific open access journals, maintained by Lund University Libraries. NOTE: Many titles in this collection are not in English. (What is Open Access?
Use these resources to find and gain access to resources that Kistler Library doesn't have, but other libraries do.
WorldCat is a "world catalog" of books and other materials available in libraries worldwide. If Rosemont doesn't have an item, you can use WorldCat to find other libraries where it may be available.
At the FirstSearch screen, use "Jump to Advanced Search" and select "WorldCat." After performing your search, you can click the "Libraries Worldwide" link below the item you want to see a list of nearby libraries where it's available.
- Area Libraries
This page on Kistler Library's website lists nearby libraries, with many of which we have reciprocal lending agreements.
The libraries listed under "SEPCHE Libraries Southeastern Pennsylvania Consortium of Higher Education" will lend materials freely to anyone with a Rosemont library card, and so will Villanova.
The libraries listed at the link marked "TCLC - Tri-State College Library Cooperative" will lend to Rosemont students with a letter of introduction, which can be obtained from the Information Desk at Kistler Library.
- Interlibrary Loan Forms
These forms can be used to request that books and journal articles held at other libraries be sent to Kistler Library. Books are temporarily loaned, while articles are generally copied and given to the requester to keep.
Fill the form out as completely as possible when requesting items. You must have a Library barcode on the back of your Rosemont ID to order ILL materials.
We're here to help! We're always happy to answer any questions you may have about the library or your research. Come see us at the Information Desk, or contact us in any of the following ways:
Regular Library Hours:
||8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
||1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
||1:00 PM - 10:00 PM
For hours during breaks and finals, see the Library Hours page.
Library hours are also always available on a taped message at x2957, and posted on the Library door.