This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://researchGuides.rosemont.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Databases

  • Credo Reference
    Search over 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines, including such psychology titles as Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories, the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, and more.
  • Annual Reviews
    Critical reviews of current research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences, including Psychology and Clinical Psychology.
 

What About Wikipedia?

  • Wikipedia itself should never be used as a source in an assignment.
  • ...BUT in most Wikipedia articles, you can find lists of Sources and External Links which may contain resources you can use.
  • Of course, traditional encyclopedias have bibliographies too - and you know you can trust their information! Why not try searching Credo Reference for your topic instead?
 

Reference Books in Kistler Library

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference books can be a great place to start your research. They will

  • Give you the background information you need to start researching unfamiliar concepts
  • Help you to narrow your topic down to a manageable research question
  • Provide fast, reliable sources for definitions, facts, and statistics.

The following books and more can be found in the Library's Reference Collection.

Cover Art
APA Dictionary of Psychology - Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF31 .A65 2007
ISBN: 1591473802
Publication Date: 2007


Cover Art
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set - W. Edward Craighead (Editor); Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2001
ISBN: 0471239496
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Handbook of Counseling Psychology - Steven D. Brown (Editor); Robert W. Lent (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF637 .C6 H315 2000
ISBN: 0471254584
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
Handbook of Child Psychology - William Damon; Richard M. Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF721 .H242 2006
ISBN: 0471272914
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence - Gerald R. Adams; Michael D. Berzonsky (Editor); Bruce Bayley (Contribution by); David Bard (Contribution by); Laurie Biebelhausen (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF BF724 .B487 2003
ISBN: 0631219196
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Personality and Psychopathology - Michel Hersen (Editor-In-Chief); Jay C. Thomas (Editor)
Call Number: REF RC456 .C66 2006
ISBN: 0471479454
Publication Date: 2006


Cover Art
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) - American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: REF RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Eighteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook - Robert A. Spies (Editor); Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor)
Call Number: LB3051 .M46 18TH
ISBN: 0910674612
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: ON RESERVE
ISBN: 1433805618
Publication Date: 2009

 

Contact Us

We're here to help! We're always happy to answer any questions you may have about the library or your research. Come see us at the Information Desk, or contact us in any of the following ways:

Telephone: 610-527-0200 x2273
Email: reference@rosemont.edu
Ask A Librarian form: Click here to go to the form
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip