Resources and research guidance in environmental studies, sustainability, and related fields.
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014
Environmental and sustainability studies are considered interdisciplinary because there are a number of aspects of these fields:
- Humanities: religious and philosophical discussions of the environment, environmental ethics
- Social Sciences: sociological aspects of human-environment interaction, corporate and political sustainability initiatives, environmental history
- Sciences: biological and chemical aspects of environment, sustainability and medicine
What does that mean when I'm researching?
- You'll need to consult a wide variety of resources.
- You'll probably need to start your research from one of the disciplines above, and find environmental/sustainability concerns within the resources on that subject.
- You may end up doing research in more than one discipline.
Use these resources to get topic ideas, find quick data, or learn the basics about a subject. To use them from off-campus, click the link, and then enter your Rosemont email and password when prompted.
- Credo Reference
Enter a term in Credo's main search box to search across a variety of scholarly reference titles at once. You can also browse through reference books by clicking Find A Book in the purple bar at the top of the page and then selecting from the left-hand list of subjects.
Citation information is provided for most articles found in Credo Reference, at the bottom of the page.
Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Includes sections on Earth Science, Environmental Science, Engineering & Materials, and Agriculture, Forestry & Soils.
- The Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online version of The Encyclopedia Britannica.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics on U.S. demographics from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and other government organizations. Very useful for raw data on sustainability efforts and environmental impact.
Use these resources to get topic ideas, find quick data, or learn the basics about a subject. They can be found in the Information Commons, the first room you enter in the Library.
Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human society
Call Number: GE149 .E47 2002 V.1-2
Publication Date: 2002
The environment dictionary
Call Number: GE10 .K45 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Call Number: GE10 .D37 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Dictionary of environment and development
Call Number: GE10 .C78 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Atlas of United States Environmental Issues
Call Number: G1201 .G3 M3 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Use these resources to learn about how to do better research.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega
Indexes and provides selective abstracts and full text of popular and scholarly periodicals in business, education, science, humanities, social sciences, and general periodical literature. Coverage from 1982 to the present.
Rosemont College Library has back indexes in print of:
Nineteenth Century Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899: with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature v.1 (1900/1904)-v.56 (1996)
Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement v. 1 (1907/15)–v.2 (1916/1919)
International Index to Periodical Literature v.3 (1920/1923)–v.18 (Apr 1964/Mar 1965)
Social Science and Humanities Index v.19 (Apr 1965/Mar 1966)–v.27 (Apr 1973/Mar 1974)
Social Science Index v.1 (1974)–v.22 (1996)
Humanities Index v.1 (Apr 1974/Mar 1975)–v.22 (Apr 1995/Mar 1996)
Business Periodicals Index v.1 (Jan 1958/June 1959) – v.39, no.7 (March 1997)
Primarily used for newspaper articles and legal research, but also has some full-text academic journal coverage. Click the Subject Areas tab in the left-hand sidebar, and then click the link marked Environmental Studies to search all related resources.
Another database covering multiple subjects, with full text for many articles available through JSTOR. Includes some titles in environmental studies.
- Annual Reviews
Indexes critical reviews of current research in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Full text available if the library subscribes to the title. Among other titles, Kistler Library subscribes to the Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics; of Environment and Resources; and of Resource Economics.
- (EBSCO) Art Full Text
Indexes journals in the arts, including many titles concerning sustainable design and architecture. Some full text is available.
- Cambridge Histories Online
The Cambridge Histories are over 260 volumes on American and British history, literary studies, philosophy, religious studies, and more. Titles in the history of science, philosophy, and religion may contain information on environmental issues.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A full text database in international affairs, which can be useful for looking at global initiatives and regulations regarding environmental issues.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Abstracts of articles in education, including environmental and sustainability education. While in most cases full text is not directly available, you can check for the name of the journal in which an article was published in our Electronic Journal Locator
, or order the article through Interlibrary Loan
if we have no full text available.
At the FirstSearch screen, use “Jump to Advanced Search” and select “ERIC.”
- GPO Monthly Catalog (Government Printing Office)
Indexes documents from all branches of the U.S. government. Useful for looking up documents and statements of policy on the environment from the U.S. government.
At the FirstSearch screen, use “Jump to Advanced Search” and select “GPO.”
Provides abstracts and some full text in medicine, which includes topics relating to environmental science.
At the FirstSearch screen, use “Jump to Advanced Search” and select “MEDLINE.”
- Philosopher's Index
Major citation index in philosophy, and a good potential source for articles on environmental ethics.
These resources can be used to supplement the articles you've found using the resources above.
- AgEcon Search
Scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics including sub-disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. Some full text available.
- Congressional Research Service Reports
The National Council for Science & the Environment (NCSE) provides access to those CRS reports that are related to the environment. CRS is a non-partisan research service for Congress. Additional CRS reports can be found on OpenCRS
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Searchable collection of 3500 scholarly and scientific open access journals, maintained by Lund University Libraries. NOTE: Many titles in this collection are not in English. (What is Open Access?
- EarthTrends: Environmental Information
A comprehensive database focusing on environmental, social, and economic trends. Maintained by the World Resources Institute.
- The EcoGateway
Guide to online resources in sustainability.
- Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Subjects include chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. Coverage: 1948 - current.
- EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Provides access to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) publications.
- Global Environment Outlook
Published by the UN Environment Programme. "GEO is both a process and a series of reports, analyzing environmental change, causes, impacts, and policy responses."
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Maintained by EBSCOhost. Full text is not available, but journal titles can be checked against our Electronic Journal Locator
, or articles can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan
- Public Library of Science
Gateway to open access journals in the fields of medicine, biology and genetics.
- PubMed Central
Freely available database of biomedical and life sciences journals, with free full text available in some cases.
Gateway to scientific web sites as well as a search engine for government science information and research results. Maintained by a consortium of U.S. federal agencies.
- TRID: Transportation Research Integrated Database
Provides access to records of published transportation research through a searchable database. An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
- USGS: Energy Resources Program
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Energy Resources Program (ERP) provides information from impartial, comprehensive research investigations of geologic energy resources, including: petroleum (oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids), coal, gas hydrates, geothermal resources, oil shale, oil sands, uranium, and heavy oil and natural bitumen. Includes viability assessments for different energy sources worldwide.
Use these resources to find and gain access to resources that Kistler Library doesn't have, but other libraries do.
WorldCat is a "world catalog" of books and other materials available in libraries worldwide. If Rosemont doesn't have an item, you can use WorldCat to find other libraries where it may be available.
At the FirstSearch screen, use "Jump to Advanced Search" and select "WorldCat." After performing your search, you can click the "Libraries Worldwide" link below the item you want to see a list of nearby libraries where it's available.
- Area Libraries
This page on Kistler Library's website lists nearby libraries, with many of which we have reciprocal lending agreements.
The libraries listed under "SEPCHE Libraries Southeastern Pennsylvania Consortium of Higher Education" will lend materials freely to anyone with a Rosemont library card, and so will Villanova.
The libraries listed at the link marked "TCLC - Tri-State College Library Cooperative" will lend to Rosemont students with a letter of introduction, which can be obtained from the Information Desk at Kistler Library.
- Interlibrary Loan Forms
These forms can be used to request that books and journal articles held at other libraries be sent to Kistler Library. Books are temporarily loaned, while articles are generally copied and given to the requester to keep.
Fill the form out as completely as possible when requesting items. You must have a Library barcode on the back of your Rosemont ID to order ILL materials.
We're here to help! We're always happy to answer any questions you may have about the library or your research. Come see us at the Information Desk, or contact us in any of the following ways:
Regular Library Hours:
||8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 2:00 AM
||8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
||1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
||1:00 PM - 10:00 PM
For hours during breaks and finals, see the Library Hours page.
Library hours are also always available on a taped message at x2957, and posted on the Library door.